We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and ideal place to stay for Pilgrimage to the Holy Land”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Hanceville, Alabama
1 review
“Perfect and ideal place to stay for Pilgrimage to the Holy Land”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently stayed at Notre Dame Guest House in Jerusalem. It was my first time staying there. It's a very good place to stay and a perfect and ideal place to stay for pilgrimage to the Holy Land. The access to the chapel was very convenient to have my pilgrim group to be able to have private Holy Hour as part of our pilgrimage horarium. The bed is very comfortable. Free access to safe deposit box. The only thing I am not marking "excellent" is because you have to pay for the internet service. This should be made available for free like any other guest houses (at least at particular areas like the lobby); otherwise, it would be excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Father Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    130
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
85
90
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
232 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can not say anything about the hotel but rooftop restaurant has amazing view and good cuisine, too!
Good meat dishes and huge variety of cheeses from all over the world. Also good selection of local israelean wines!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife lost her wallet in the parking area. It was found by the staff and returned immediately.
Excellent location, helpful and polite staff, room clean, comfortable and very clean recently refurbished, excellent breakfast, magnificent view even from our 1st floor room window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank NIKOLAOS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NotreDameCenter, Public Relations Manager at Notre Dame Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Mr.Nicolaos
I am so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our property and the unfortunate story with a wallet had a happy end. As much as we were lucky to find the wallet, I cannot even imagine that someone from the staff behaves other way than returning it.
Thank you for your nice words and hope to have you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at Notred Dame for 2 nights in Oct 2012.
Very nice venue, castle-like building (although only ~100yrs old) overlooking old town.
Rooms are average at best. No TVs. Guests are typically religious nut-jobs (which can be entertaining but also annoying).
Breakfast very mediocre (more like a 2* hotel).
Very nice bar on top floor with excellent view, however very earthly prices (~15EUR for a GT).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NotreDameCenter, Public Relations Manager at Notre Dame Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time writing some comments after staying at our property. I just would like to drive your attention to the idea of creating Notre Dame Center. From its very beginning, almost 130 years ago, it has been at the service to the Christian pilgrims in the Holy City. Since 1981 Notre Dame Center has a status of The Pontifical Institute. Although our door is opened for the guests from whole over the world and every religion, the fact that the most numerous are Christian pilgrims and clergy, it should not be a surprise. By recent renovation of the public areas as well as rooms we wanted to higher the standard of the Guest Hose, but still to keep the character of a pilgrim center – comfortable, but simple rooms with no TV. If you are interested to know more about the history of Notre Dame, please visit our website: www.notredamecenter.org/About Us/ A historical outline of Notre Dame of Jerusalem Center.
I am very astonished of your remarks regarding our breakfast. Usually we get positive opinions about our open buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner serving variety of local and International cuisine meals- cold and hot appetizers, salads and main courses – meat, poultry and fish as well as great range of sweets. However, we are sorry we did not fulfill your expectations. Hopefully you could find something satisfying you in one of our other three restaurants.
With compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Notre Dame Center hotel was wonderful. The hotel, I was told, has been refurbished, and between the fantastic 4th floor restaurant with an amazing view of the city and its location right at the New Gate across the street, leading right into the old Jerusalem, it is hard to ask for more . At night, this is a special place to enjoy wine or a meal. The meals, especially breakfast, were complete and filling with an excellent omelet station. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable and the service was helpful and friendly. Of great interest is the special museum at the hotel featuring the Shroud of Turin....this was a compelling and very moving..worth an hour to really absorb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jronnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NotreDameCenter, Manager at Notre Dame Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay with us and for the time you spent for writing the review. We are always glad when we meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I decided to stay here for 2 nights having been to the amazing restaurant on the top floor which has a cheese and wine bar theme and wonderful ambiance.

If you need WiFi, you have to buy a card based on the time you use and the signal in my room was non-existant. I spent my mornings and my evenings in the lobby so I could do my work, get email, and stay in touch.

The hotel is mostly for people on pilgram tours and in its own right, the people watching made the stay worth it. However, being that being connected as a priority to me, I don't think I will return.

The staff was nice, the rooms are simple and clean. The restaurant on the top floor is nothing short of amazing. Come here to have an evening dining experience like none other.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important to you, this is not the best place to stay. The restaurant is amazing and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Property: Notre Dame Guest House
Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notre Dame Center - Guest House is centrally located, opposite the New Gate of the Old City walls and The Municipality from the other side; within walking distance to the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulchre, Wailling Wall and The Dome of the Rock), as well as to the new city with its shopping center and restaurants. Notre Dame itself apart the Main Dining Room offers other three restaurants and free parking for the guests.Business corner and Wi-Fi connection is availabe for a charge, as well as a professional conference facilities and an Auditorium for a big events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing