We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable, with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jerusalem Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here (after hearing about it on a coupon website). Overall we were pleased. The rooms were not big (and apparently we were upgraded to one of the biggest rooms), but it had almost everything needed--including a mini-fridge. It could have been nice to have a full-size mirror though. You can tell that it was recently refurbished with a stylish minimalist decor. The bathroom was tiny, but it made up for it in style and a lovely rain shower head. Also there is no elevator.

The location is also really great, as Jaffo Street and the light rail are just around the corner.

Breakfast was ok for Israeli standards.

I would definitely recommend this place if you don't mind something simple but elegant.

Room Tip: Room 223 is considered one of the biggest, try and get that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Jerusalem Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and kind words,they are greatly appreciated.
We are looking forward to see you again among our guests!
Best Regards,
Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

we (2 single women) have just returned from 2 nights at the Jerusalem Inn. The hotel is clearly undergoing refurbishment as there is evidence of it everywhere
Plus points
Ideally situated the hotel is a 2 minute walk onto Jaffa and close enough to walk to the Old City, Rechov Ben Yahuda and also close to the light rail (tram) stop which takes you to the Central bus station within 10 minutes
There is a water cooler in the hotel lobby, a small point but invaluable to us as we filled water bottles each day
There is free wifi, invaluable for staying in touch with family back home
The room we had was small but more than adequate, likewise breakfast served in a nearby restaurant was fine too.
The staff are wonderful. A special shout out to Mohammed who helped us with our Hebrew and to Zvi? on the front desk for trying to sort out an evening' entertainment for us
negative points
We booked through booking.com and specifically requested single beds. However, on arrival we were given a double bed. The hotel was full and one of us had to sleep on a mattress on the floor. It was more than comfortable however
As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is very near a noisy bar. If you want an early night its probably not for you. We found that the music was over by 23.30 so it wasn't a problem for us
We had no hot water. We didnt mention it to the staff as the weather is so hot at the moment a cold shower was not an issue but in colder months it probably would be
Overall a very pleasant 2 days. If you're looking for a base to rest your head at night you cant go wrong

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T4nya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have been twice in Jerusalem, first in December 2008 and then in July 2012. Maybe because it was peak season and maybe due to inflation, I found hotel prices to be very high this time round. Being on a budget, and after many changes of reservation, I booked one night at the Jerusalem Inn. After reading mixed reviews, I was a bit scared of what we were going to find, and I was very pleasantly suprised.
The location is very good, about 10 minutes's walk from Jaffa Gate. There is a nearby tram stop in case you don't feel like walking.
The hotel has been recently renovated, with a very nice minimalistic style, and our room (101) was large, clean, with a large and comfortable bed, with big windows facing a quiet street, so even on a busy Shabbat night we sleept like babies.
There is free wifi and there is even a small laptop you can borrow in case you don't have yours.

What can be improved: there is no proper full-length wardrobe, the breakfast is at a nearby cafe (and nothing to write home about), the mini-fridge was quite noisy...

Finally, a big thank you to Zvi, the young man at the front desk who went out of his way to help us with a restaurant reservation, printing out boarding passes and booking a taxi to the airport.

All in all, very nice hotel at a very good price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rro2005MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Jerusalem Inn is situated off of the main street Rehov Jaffa on Horkanos Street and is within easy walking distance to the old city in one direction and the heart of Jerusalem in the other. Machene Yehuda also is an easy walk from the hotel. Moreover bus and train transport is easy to access. The rooms are simple but very accommodating. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. Their breakfast accommodations were around the corner at a restaurant where you handed in a voucher. That too was lovely. Restaurants and bars abound in the area off of Rehov Jaffa. If there is one criticism it is that the bar just below the hotel would rock away late into the night. But we frankly found that part of the lovely ambience.....

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room not overlooking Horkanos Street................. But the breeze in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed there on July 2012 for one night. Our expectations were very high because the webpage of the hotel shows in pictures amazing and spacious rooms, and a promise that the location is the best in town. Well, we found a tiny room, with very basic facilities. It was difficult to take a shower because the bathroom is very small. On the corridor near the room construction took place. An electric cable was on the floor of the room – it doesn't look very safe...
The hotel is located above a noisy bar, which was opened till late at night.
The breakfast on Saturday was served in the hotel. They made the best to save money, and provided very basic food.
The city of Jerusalem has many other alternatives for accommodation. My recommendation is to avoid the Jerusalem Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erez t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read you were not happy.
The size of the rooms at The Jerusalem Inn Hotel varies from single, small rooms to spacious suites.
We try to present all types of rooms in our web site but it is impossible to put all of them.
We believe that you booked a "standard" room. Those are basic rooms, small sized, and they are the less expensive rooms available, thus- the most popular ones.
Regarding the Noise coming from the pub nearby, our instructions to the staff is to call the police after midnight, if it gets too loud, but the Police do not always respond. We did our best by recently replacing all the windows in the hotel to soundproof glazed windows, and this should block most of the noise.
Again, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel has been renovated since I last stayed & now has a 24 reception & the room was better furnished. I booked one night on the phone & when the confirmation arrived by email they had booked the wrong date, another phone call solved the problem. The hotel's location is excellent just off Jaffa St. 3 minutes walk to the pedestrian area & 10-15 minutes walk to the Old City.
I was given the room on the roof (3rd floor), no elevator. This room is equipped with a small kitchen & table for two which was nice. The safe was locked & the guy at reception could not get it open as the manager had left for the day. There was no place to hang anything in the closet & no coat hangers not that they would have helped, again my request for help was met with no response because of the hour. As the hotel is situated next to bars & resaurants it was quite noisy even on the roof till 02:00, I asked reception why don't they call the police as it's illegal to make noise after 24:00 & was told that they do it now & then apparently not on that night.
Breakfast was included in with the price & was provided by cafe Rachela in the next road, I must say it was not very appetizing, the cafe is small & a few plates on the tiny counter displayed the food, coffee & tea were laid out on a small table. Certainly we as guests deserve better.
All in all the hotel's location is great, it's clean & staff was as helpful as they could be, if you are looking to spend a few nights in Jerusalem without overspending it's a good option.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - ask if there is such a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money. However there were a few things that could be changed which would enhance the experience. One simple thing would be to change the shower head. It was almost impossible to use. It was a challenge first thing in the morning. It was totally uncontrollable. The facility that was provided for your hanging clothes was totally inadequate. The reason being that the rail did not even allow you to hang a short jacket properly (nice to look at) but not functional! We had a room that had been renovated and the room was generally extremely nice, much exceeding our expectation. Large balcony was nice but was not looked after or cleaned properly. Location was perfect. The hotel included breakfast in with the price. The breakfast was supposed to be provided by a cafe just down the road. It was shambolic. The food was not good and the service was rude and unhelpful, There were a number of people who were not happy with this aspect. The cafe was called Rachela. The first morning we strolled round and my husband positioned himself at an outside table in the sun and I went in search of breakfast. When I suggested to the lady that the eggs were a little bit dried out in the pan (politely) and would it be possible to have a plain omelette I was told that firstly it would be easier for her if I took a table out the back and secondly there was no possibility of an omelette! When requesting a breakfast box for the early start for Nazareth one morning I was issued with a tin foil container with three compartments which was totally inadequate. The second time we didnt bother. In my view the back area was to say the least scruffy. I could go on!! Suffice it to say it let a nice hotel down badly. They are in the process of having their own breakfast room on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room eg 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfluffball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#39 of 101 in Jerusalem
477 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
Beit Ben Yehuda
#8 of 60 in Jerusalem
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Inn Hotel

Address: 7 Yokhanan Horkanos, Jerusalem 9423507, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: $82 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Inn Hotel is perfectly located in the center of Jerusalem, at 7 minutes walk from the Jaffa Gate and the historic Old City, a few steps away from Zion Square and the lively Jaffa and Ben Yehuda promenades and shopping streets. A station of the new light rail service is nearby.This hotel offers boutique-style, elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi and laptops for free guest use.The rooms at The Jerusalem inn Hotel have a flat-screen TV, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. A friendly Reception staff will accommodate you and help you plan your visit in Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jerusalem Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing