We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels I've ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jerusalem Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
beersheba
1 review
“One of the worst hotels I've ever been to”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed there on July 2012 for one night. Our expectations were very high because the webpage of the hotel shows in pictures amazing and spacious rooms, and a promise that the location is the best in town. Well, we found a tiny room, with very basic facilities. It was difficult to take a shower because the bathroom is very small. On the corridor near the room construction took place. An electric cable was on the floor of the room – it doesn't look very safe...
The hotel is located above a noisy bar, which was opened till late at night.
The breakfast on Saturday was served in the hotel. They made the best to save money, and provided very basic food.
The city of Jerusalem has many other alternatives for accommodation. My recommendation is to avoid the Jerusalem Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erez t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Jerusalem Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read you were not happy.
The size of the rooms at The Jerusalem Inn Hotel varies from single, small rooms to spacious suites.
We try to present all types of rooms in our web site but it is impossible to put all of them.
We believe that you booked a "standard" room. Those are basic rooms, small sized, and they are the less expensive rooms available, thus- the most popular ones.
Regarding the Noise coming from the pub nearby, our instructions to the staff is to call the police after midnight, if it gets too loud, but the Police do not always respond. We did our best by recently replacing all the windows in the hotel to soundproof glazed windows, and this should block most of the noise.
Again, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    123
    68
    28
    25
See reviews for
63
132
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel has been renovated since I last stayed & now has a 24 reception & the room was better furnished. I booked one night on the phone & when the confirmation arrived by email they had booked the wrong date, another phone call solved the problem. The hotel's location is excellent just off Jaffa St. 3 minutes walk to the pedestrian area & 10-15 minutes walk to the Old City.
I was given the room on the roof (3rd floor), no elevator. This room is equipped with a small kitchen & table for two which was nice. The safe was locked & the guy at reception could not get it open as the manager had left for the day. There was no place to hang anything in the closet & no coat hangers not that they would have helped, again my request for help was met with no response because of the hour. As the hotel is situated next to bars & resaurants it was quite noisy even on the roof till 02:00, I asked reception why don't they call the police as it's illegal to make noise after 24:00 & was told that they do it now & then apparently not on that night.
Breakfast was included in with the price & was provided by cafe Rachela in the next road, I must say it was not very appetizing, the cafe is small & a few plates on the tiny counter displayed the food, coffee & tea were laid out on a small table. Certainly we as guests deserve better.
All in all the hotel's location is great, it's clean & staff was as helpful as they could be, if you are looking to spend a few nights in Jerusalem without overspending it's a good option.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - ask if there is such a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money. However there were a few things that could be changed which would enhance the experience. One simple thing would be to change the shower head. It was almost impossible to use. It was a challenge first thing in the morning. It was totally uncontrollable. The facility that was provided for your hanging clothes was totally inadequate. The reason being that the rail did not even allow you to hang a short jacket properly (nice to look at) but not functional! We had a room that had been renovated and the room was generally extremely nice, much exceeding our expectation. Large balcony was nice but was not looked after or cleaned properly. Location was perfect. The hotel included breakfast in with the price. The breakfast was supposed to be provided by a cafe just down the road. It was shambolic. The food was not good and the service was rude and unhelpful, There were a number of people who were not happy with this aspect. The cafe was called Rachela. The first morning we strolled round and my husband positioned himself at an outside table in the sun and I went in search of breakfast. When I suggested to the lady that the eggs were a little bit dried out in the pan (politely) and would it be possible to have a plain omelette I was told that firstly it would be easier for her if I took a table out the back and secondly there was no possibility of an omelette! When requesting a breakfast box for the early start for Nazareth one morning I was issued with a tin foil container with three compartments which was totally inadequate. The second time we didnt bother. In my view the back area was to say the least scruffy. I could go on!! Suffice it to say it let a nice hotel down badly. They are in the process of having their own breakfast room on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room eg 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfluffball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

hotel
First off although this place is in a great position just off Jaffa Street and not far from the Old City it has a big problem with noise at night. It is surrounded by pubs, clubs and bars and some of them begin playing LOUD (so loud you might not believe it's possible for people to put up with it in the club!) music at just the time you might want to nod off after a long day in the Old City. Sometimes the noise can go on until three or four in the morning! On my last night the music was so loud it wasn't worth even trying to sleep as I was leaving at 2am anyway. I'd have done better leaving a day earlier and sleeping on the floor in the airport! When I complained I was told to turn up my tv to drown the noise! They do try to get the noise controlled but on my last night even with the police parked outside the noise still went on until after 1am.

The room - I stayed in bigger rooms in Japan. There was nowhere to hang clothes, no towel rail, no safety rail in the bathroom, the soap in the shower ran out and it took two days to refill the dispenser. The only chair was old and badly scratched, the fridge was stuck under the washbasin so it was impossible to get close to the basin. The carpet dirty and stained. In order to plug in a charger for a phone or computer it was necessary to unplug the bedside light or the fridge. The handle on the door was broken and difficult to open maybe I shouldn't complain so much?

Breakfast was hopeless. Often things just ran out and were not replenished, coffee was instant, orange juice watered down(assuming it was real). The worst thing was the breakfast wasn't even in the hotel but out of the hotel round the corner down the street in a café that has seen better days. They do have a breakfast room next door but only use it on the shabbat/sabbath. There is no lounge. No lift. So unless you can get a really good deal, don't bother.

On a final positive note. All the staff tried to be helpful despite the obvious shortcomings of this place.. There is obviously work going on here to improve the place which means that often the place is full of dust but they have a long way to go to knock this place into shape even ignoring the noise problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abriwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Jerusalem Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
We are deeply sorry to read your review of our hotel.
The noise coming from the pub nearby is not in our hands, although as you mentioned, when it gets noisy we call the police to interfere. Unfortunately, this does not always help.
We did start a discussion with the mayor’s office on this matter, we’ll see how it will go in a short time.
As for the rest, we thank you for the review, we promise to learn it carefully and to fix everything for our future guests.

Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton FL
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is a really good deal for the money. We had a renovated room which was good . They need to put in a full length closet. I do not know how the unrenovated rooms are. Ours was more than adequate. In this are of Jerusalem it is a real deal. The stff were friendly, well trained and caring.
It is about 2 blocks off the main drag, but easily accessible by walking to most everything. For a room in Jerusalem this is a deal but do not expect a luxury experience. On the other hand, there were coffee makers :-) in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejmmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice B&B. Excellent location, helpful staff. No free parking. Nearest parking place cost USD 20 per day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Jerusalem Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
Indeed the hotel( due to its location in a small alley,right in the center of town) does not have it's own parking lot.However,our guests can park at the"radio" parking lot on Heleny the queen street.
The cost is 60 nis- about 16$.
Best regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice place, big room, friendly staff. The building is under refurbishment, so there's noise and dust. There isn't an elevator.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArturBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Jerusalem Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank You for your review and recommendation. The Jerusalem Inn hotel was the first hotel built out of the ramparts of the old city of Jerusalem, back in 1948, thus, we have no elevator; but as you know, there are only two floors and help is available when requested.
Best regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
547 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Inn Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Inn Hotel
Address: 7 Yokhanan Horkanos, Jerusalem 9423507, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jerusalem Inn Hotel is perfectly located in the center of Jerusalem, at 7 minutes walk from the Jaffa Gate and the historic Old City, a few steps away from Zion Square and the lively Jaffa and Ben Yehuda promenades and shopping streets. A station of the new light rail service is nearby.This hotel offers boutique-style, elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi and laptops for free guest use.The rooms at The Jerusalem inn Hotel have a flat-screen TV, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. A friendly Reception staff will accommodate you and help you plan your visit in Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Jerusalem Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing