We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lovers of small hotels with atmosphere”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #46 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for lovers of small hotels with atmosphere”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very convinient location - just few minutes to Damascus gate and old town. Located in old stone house and wondefully decorated with authentic furniture and things. All rooms are different - ours was very spacey, with nice balcony and wonderfull embroided bedcovers. Extremely helpful night receptionist - if you need to book something, you better ask in the evening, daytime receptionists are not very helpfull. Breakfast was the best we exprienced during our travel to Israel, and same goes for the restaurant - nice and tasty. Try Meza plate - it is lot of things and they all are delicious.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brungilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    99
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
63
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel has got a soul! It's beautifully decorated old house with stone walls, the rooms are high and the atmosphere is great. If you want your hotel to be spotlessly clean with everything up to date, this hotel might not be for you, but still I think it is quite clean, and the few dead flies you might find on the restaurant window panes are counterbalanced by the huge amount of charm this hotel has. Most guests are probably mesmerized by the house and the rooms!

The location is very close to the old city, and also a tram stop is very close so it's easy to take a tram to the modern city center. The neighborhood around the hotel is maybe a bit rough, I have to say that after dark I felt a bit uncomfortable walking around there, although I don't know factually if it's unsafe or not.

The restaurant at the hotel is nice. Don't expect fine dining here, but good traditional food and good atmosphere with local people hanging around. After a day of walking around Jerusalem it was great to have dinner at the hotel restaurant or enjoy some pints of Taybeh (palestinian beer). The breakfast was ok, but nothing very special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olazabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Jerusalem Hotel is a step back into time but with the modern conveniences of WiFi and a complimentary breakfast that today's visitors appreciate. The rooms vary in size, the architecture is ancient, but there's a comfort and coziness in the structure and antiqued ambience that makes the Jerusalem Hotel a lovely place to stay. Small rooms open onto community rooms where guests can sit and relax and/or engage in conversation. The open-air restaurant near the front door is a good place to kick back and enjoy a meal or just coffee. The staff is friendly and, we found, very accommodating. When our transportation didn't arrive as expected, the front desk patiently worked with us to negotiate phone calls to solve the problem. The hotel is just a few blocks from Old City Jerusalem, the modern mall, and shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The second floor has balconies, which are very nice to have. If you have difficulty climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a small converted Arab house. It is filled with both antiques and reproductions and really gives you the atmosphere of the pre-modern Middle East. In spite of this the rooms have wifi and and updated tva.

It is clean. Service is helpful if not always reliable. Location is very good to visit the old city. It is about a mile walk to the most distant gate. The viciniy is rather dirty and there is a bus depot across the street which brings some early morning noise.

Breakfast buffet is simple and adequate but not very extensive nor of the highest quality. We did not eat dinner here but the food looked very good.

This was a perfectly fine stay but I suspect there are better places at the same or lesser prices. Draperies, awnings, some furnishings and bathroom fixtures are past their useful life. Room lighting is dim. Some of the plumbing and lighting looks like it was installed by a bad "do it yourselfer " if you have never stayed in a histoorical place like this, it is like a time capsule and you might like it for that reason alone. For me, I think the whole place needs a professional over -haul.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I loved the decoration of the old building, with old furniture everywhere. The atmosphere here is really lovely.
I stayed here with a friend and we had a small room with two separate beds. The room was well decorated as well, but the shower was old. We stayed here for two nights, and the first morning, we didn't even have hot water, and had to shower under a tiny stream of cold water.
Location is good, close to Damascus gate, which will take you right into the old city.
The garden restaurant was good, but nothing really special (I have eaten much better while in Israel). Breakfast buffet was also ok, nothing special.
Staff at the reception was nice and friendly.
Car park around the corner, free for guests of the hotel. A special kudoz to the guy minding this car park (even though he is not working for the hotel). He is the greatest, he helped us out when the battery of our car went dead.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdieBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Though not cheap at £110 per night, the standard of this hotel is very high. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms are large with double beds and the standard of furnishings and the fantastic Arabian style of the hotel is superb. The breakfast and restaurant are highly reviewed and some of the best that I have had which were included and the location is very close to all of the sights whilst not being in the old city. Access from the motorway is straightforward with secure parking for free - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivermankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's a small hotel in East Jerusalem, in a traditional well-kept building, a nice garden restaurant and delicately old-fashioned rooms. The rooms vary in size, and the bathrooms may vary in standards, but you feel very much at home. The halls are furnished with Palestinian artifacts and furniture, beautifully ornamented and decorated.
The outdoor restaurant serves a traditional and well tasting Palestinian breakfast. It is not a luxury hotel, but strongly recommended for its original and friendly atmosphere. You will remember your stay there with good feelings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
228 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
285 reviews
The Sephardic House
#52 of 99 in Jerusalem
132 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#50 of 99 in Jerusalem
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing