We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, awesome service”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, awesome service”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I decided to stay at the Montefiore Hotel after it was suggested by the manager of the Jerusalem Inn Hotel, where I had stayed on my previous trip to Israel. He manages both places, and he thought that I might like to try something different.

The Montefiore is somewhat upscale and is much like the hotels that a westerner would expect. It is located in a reasonably modern building on Schatz St., which is very close to Ben-Yehuda. This is good because it's close enough that you can be on the pedestrian mall in a minute or two, without having all of the noise associated with closer places.

In terms of amenities, they have their own restaurant (which was pretty expensive). Breakfast was included with our room, and it was very tasty. They also have a nice lobby where you can sit and relax after a long day of walking the streets of Jerusalem. I think they had Wi-Fi, too, but I don't remember since I didn't have my laptop.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Mine had a television, telephone, and teapot, which was really all I needed. The beds were in good shape.

I think the thing that really makes the Montefiore stand out is the staff. Everyone I spoke with was exceptionally friendly and happy to answer my many questions. They have been trained very well.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vthokiehi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    196
    71
    19
    6
See reviews for
99
169
68
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The rooms are nice enough, and it is in a very excellent location, 2 blocks from Ben Yehuda St. Perhaps I was just there on the wrong days. The wifi was out, and 2nights of Shabbat elevator, which stops on every floor on the way UP!, and there is only one elevator. If you are there on Friday nights ask for a low floor. I undertstand it was recently remodeled and they gave a good price compared to others in the area. I think I just was there on a bad week.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem or
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Helpful staff, excellent location, good breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed here two nights. We found it adequate, at a decent rate during the holiday season ($173). The breakfast selections were good. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Other reviewers noted the walk from the parking spot to the hotel entrance, requiring a bit of effort with luggage. (The hotel is on a quiet traffic-free block.)The distance is about 85 feet. You may need to ask the taxi driver to go to the entrance to get a cart, or go yourself and get a bellboy to bring the cart. We found this no problem. The only issue was that the driver of the shuttle we took told us it would be 50 shekels to help with the luggage and 100 shekels for the transportation for both of us. The 50 shekels was too much for the few minutes it took him, since the bellboy came half way to meet us anyhow.

If you can accept a 2 1/2 to 3 star hotel, this is a good bet. If you can afford more swank, go elsewhere.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthJerseyEatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The location is near perfect - 1 block from Ben Yehuda, and walking distance of many major attractions/neighborhoods. Walking, the kotel is about 25 minutes away, Mea Shearim about 10-15 minutes, and several synagogues just 2-3 blocks away.

The hotel itself is nice, although not luxiriant. The breakfast is good, and everything in the hotel is fully kosher. They have a Shabbos elevator. The rooms are medium sized, although the beds aren't the most comfy. The AC works great and the place is clean.

Hotel staff in general were helpful. The biggest negative was other guests who made noise during the night.

All things considered, this was a very nice hotel right near the old city and was perfect for us.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, great location
  • Disliked — Noise from guests
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late June. The location was great, on a nice pedestrian street about 3 minutes from Ben Yehuda mall and about 20 minutes walk from the Machane Yehuda market and the Old City. The rooms and the bathrooms were sparse and dated but clean. The breakfast buffet is quite good, and you can fill up until dinner if you want to. For the price, I would definitely stay there again. Simple and basic, but good.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank CANIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews, but I was very pleased with this hotel. If you are on a budget and want a place that is basic, clean and in a GREAT location, this is your hotel.
The hotel room is not luxurious but does the job. TV has about 40 cable channels in every language imaginable. Bathroom was clean and adequate. A/C worked great which is important in Jerusalem in the summertime.
Staff was responsive and courteous. My TV remote did not work and they took care of it immediately. They were helpful with directions and other travel questions as well.
Breakfast was not as lavish as one is used to at Israeli hotels, but it was adequate to start the day off.
Drawbacks: no alarm clocks in the room, walls are a little thin, sheets were a little small for the bed and tended to come off the mattress.
Pluses: location, staff, PRICE.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Walls are a little thin, so noise from other rooms and hallways carries
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
547 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
595 reviews
Shamai Suites
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
366 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
471 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Property: Montefiore Hotel
Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing