We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located great value hotel”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at montefiore for three nights and really enjoyed it! Rooms are clean and spacious! Location is essential and central to all major tourist attractions! Guest service was great! They made sure i had an enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikolinaCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Question is whether that is good or bad for a tourist. If you do the trip to Jerusalem for spiritual reasons (and Judaism is your treat) then this could be a real good choice. If not, it's only average. It could be a good idea to stay out of the hotel in that case during the Sabbath.
Elsewise, good location, staff that do the necessary (but not more), walking distance to the Old City, not to pricy (considering that Jerusalem in itself is pricy).
Well, talking about delivering, the wifi works for like thirty seconds and then goes down. I believe you can fix that.

Room Tip: First or sexond floor during the Sabbah. The elevators are set to "Kosher mood"..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudeattheDudeRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for your review.
The Kosher certificate is a "must" in Israel, and especially in Jerusalem.
The hotel industry is depended on the Israeli tourist, as well as foreign tourism, and the "Kashrut"
is absolutely necessary for the Israeli tourist.
Our breakfast is not affected by this except on Saturdays, when you can not get coffee from the machine nor warm dishes at breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

First time at this hotel and I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm in Jerusalem. The room was great with a decent sized bathroom, including a huge walk-in shower. Free wifi also available.

We were on the very top floor (the lift stops at the floor below) and had access to a large roof top space with very confortable seating, etc. Nobody else seemed to know it was there - which was great! Lovely rooftop view of the city. Breakfast was modest compared to larger hotels but absolutely fine. It's got a perfect location - 10 mins walk from either the Machaneh Yahuda area in one direction and Jaffa Road in the other, and only 20 mins from the Old City.

It would be very difficult to find a better place to stay for the cost.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, don't take the very top floor as the lift stops a floor below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mjs_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Three times at this hotel, and thrice happy.

I recently stayed at the Hotel Montefiore, and I had a great time. Given the circumstances in Israel, the management gave me clear safety instructions upon arrival. I was greeting by a friendly woman (Shany), and welcomed like an old friend.

1) Rooms are clean, well-stocked, and comfortable.
2) Beds are comfortable and the linens are soft
3) Everything in my room was in working order
4) The breakfasts have improved greatly. The new chef knows what she's doing.
5) The location is perfect.
6) The cleaning crew was also friendly, welcoming, and efficient. Don't forget to tip them!
7) Lastly, the best part of my stay here was Shany S., the front desk professional. She was the highlight of my stay at the Montefiore, totally upbeat and friendly and personable. When you check in, ask for Shany...start your stay with a friendly Israeli welcome!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with a street-side view, toward Shatz Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This modest hotel provides all of the basic necessities (room, breakfast, helpful staff), at a modest price, and in an ideal location -- center of the city, but still on a quiet street, and in walking distance of any place we wanted to go.
The accommodations are not fancy, but they provide what any traveler really needs.
We've stayed there twice, and I'd do so again in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Super location: close to a lot of sights but in a quiet area. Clean. The staff were very friendly and very customer-oriented. The wireless was not working while I was there but they apologized, these things happen overall, a terrific value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

For the economy minded who wants location, friendly service, clean rooms, a wonderful Israeli breakfast all at a reasonable rate. If you're busy in Jerusalem and need a place to sleep well, the Montifiore is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#17 of 102 in Jerusalem
584 reviews
Shamai Suites
#38 of 102 in Jerusalem
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#45 of 102 in Jerusalem
491 reviews
Hillel 11
#52 of 102 in Jerusalem
379 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 102 in Jerusalem
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $93 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing