We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montefiore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$237
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$115
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eldan Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$266
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$412
$361
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$333
$320
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King David(Jerusalem)
$630
$598
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
$650
$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
185
227
79
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
227
79
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben yehudagreat locationquiet pedestrian streetold citywalking distanceking georgenice hotelminute walkreception managerstay there againcomfortable roomlight railexcellent breakfastisraeli breakfastisrael museumwi fithree nights
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 523 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Small & quite hotel, nice and big enogh equipped rooms, close to Ben-Yehuda "midrahov" [shops and cafes without cars]; also near to Jerusalem main sinegogue. Good service in dining room and an exellent shef.

Room Tip: don't take the rooms: 201 301 401 501 601 because the noise of the elevator
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Montefiore's location on a short pedestrian promenade and its relatively low cost are its strong points. Ben Yehuda is just five minutes away, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Old City and the Mahane Yehuda street market. The Israel Museum and Knesset are about 30 minutes by foot.

The hotel itself is very basic. Our room next to the elevator was quite small, with minimal space between the bed and the corner of the desk, which made it difficult to get to the bathroom at night. The bed was comfortable, but smaller than the ones we're accustomed to. On the plus side, the room was very quiet and included a safe. The free Wi-Fi signal was usually adequate, although I occasionally was unable to connect to Web sites on the first attempt.

The Montefiore's amenities are minimal. There is a restaurant, but it never seemed to be open. The breakfast is adequate and is served in a well-maintained dining room near the lobby. The staff were polite, though most didn't go out of their way to greet us. We were also given conflicting information when we inquired about a larger room. One front desk attendant insisted that all the rooms are identical (apart from the suite), but another said that the rooms near the elevator are slightly smaller than the others. (The room layout diagram in our closet confirmed the latter.)

Breakfast was less sumptuous than the ones we've had in other israeli hotels, but was certainly adequate. The dining area off the lobby was small, but clean and well-maintained.

The Montefiore is a good choice if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep while in Jerusalem, as long as you're expectations aren't too high.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rads53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this means a lot to us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and mentioned the things that you believed were good.
The restaurant is unfortunately not open at the moment and was not open during your stay too. It will be under refurbishment very soon.

We hope to see you again and this time when doing the reservation you might want to precise that you do not want a room right next to the lift.

Thank you again,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here with a group of international visitors to Israel. The staff were helpful, friendly and kind to our group who were all in Jerusalem for the first time. The only negative was our meeting at breakfast with a Taglit group who we were told would be at breakfast early but came exactly when we did. We realized that the hotel couldn't control this but with the small size of the dining room, it was very unpleasant to be pushed and jostled by 40 young not-very-polite Americans. However, the staff in the dining room worked like crazy to keep things going, cleaning tables, keeping the food replenished and so on.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aravasouth_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is not a luxurious hotel. It is comfortable but bare bones. The beds are comfy, there is a desk and a chair in the room and the bathroom is fine. The breakfast is typical Israeli. It can hold you for most of the day. It is plentiful but not the best we have had. The hotel is in a great location. Jerusalem is a walking city and you can get anywhere from here. It is very central. That being said, if we wanted to spend our children's inheritance we would be at the King David or the Waldorf!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location really attractive.
Hopefully we will see you again soon,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. If you are on a budget and want a place that is basic, clean and in a GREAT location, this is your hotel. The hotel room is not luxurious but does the job. We weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room anyway! The price was right and we loved the location. Maybe since we were there 6 nights, we were surprised one night with fruit, jam, and bottled water, and another night with a bottle of wine! The breakfast was typical Israeli style-very good and complete with Cappuccino machine! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews