We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good location in a nice neighbourhood quite close to the old city.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good location in a nice neighbourhood quite close to the old city.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

15 min. walking distance to the Jaffa Gate. The hotel offers a great location to visit the old city and is located in a very nice area of the city with many shops , restaurants and cafes
The rooms are fine, the bathrooms are a little old fashioned.
The breakfast is kosher, is more or less ok.
The restaurant serves excellent quality food, is expensive, but the people who work there are not friendly which is a real pity.
Anyway we would return to it, mostly because if the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    174
    61
    16
    6
See reviews for
83
142
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is one of Jerusalem's best kept secrets...shhhh, don't tell too many people.
My sister initially stayed here on the advice of her travel agent. Once I saw where she was staying and compared it to the large hotel where I was booked, I cancelled my hotel reservations and immediately booked at the Montefiore Hotel.

How do I love this hotel? Let me count the ways:
1) The price is right!
2) It's clean
3) The gentleman originally from Russia is by far the nicest employee in the hotel (the women are fairly cold and unpleasant) and he made me feel welcomed. He's pictured on their website; he's a wonderful first impression employee.
4) The cleaning crew is friendly and helpful
5) You can walk to most places; super convenient
6) The rooms are comfortable and cozy
7) Breakfast is respectable
8) The neighborhood is charming and safe
9) There are quaint restaurants and corner stores right there
10) You're in the heart of Jerusalem in a fine hotel in the middle of the city! Sweet life.
11) Locals stay there, lots of Israelis use this hotel, which is nice if you want to avoid the throngs of tour groups

After having stayed at this hotel on a prolonged vacation in Israel, I booked again, returned to Jerusalem, just so I could enjoy this prime location and property one more time.

In summary, avoid the huge chains and stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the apartment complexes in the back; ask for a room facing the pedestrian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windber, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just back from spending ten days in this hotel. The hotel has an excellent location: close to Ben Yehuda Street, in walking distance to Mamilla Mall, Mahane Yehuda Market and the new light rail system.
The hotel is on a pedestrian mall and is quiet for a good night's sleep.
Our room was a good size , clean, bright and cheerful. There was a lovely flower box outside our window. We had a view overlooking Shatz Street.
A coffee shop, quaint book store and two markets are right across the street. Getting a taxi is very easy in this area.
The breakfast was very good; consisting of salads, rolls, yogurts, cheeses, eggs and fruit.
Staff was very helpful in answering our questions and responding to any needs.
Bed was very comfortable. Air quality was good.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Shatz Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CackieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thsi hotel is only about location. There is no service at all the cleaning is beyond desirable, the breakfast is really really poor, the waiters at breakfast are always in a bad mood, reception is really nice. Wi-fi hardly works. But location is great. I thought it was very expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Montefiore the hote ls pleasant ,clean and got excellent location. the
breakfast was very simple. On Fridays there is a fair in front, also a lovely coffee shop across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were in Jerusalem last month to celebrate our son as he graduated from IDF Paratrooper basic training. We phoned the Montefiore direct a few months early and booked a couple of rooms a reasonable rate (for Jerusalem). Little did we know that at the last minute our Chayal son invited another lone soldier to spend the night with us. Even though the hotel was quite full and that it was late at night, the friendly night manager arranged to have someone find a cot and to bring it into the room with extra towels. We always have found the staff friendly and helpful and this stay was no exception.

We love this hotel. The decor is pleasant, the rooms are -- shall we say 'cozy'. But it's really quite comfortable. What we want when we travel is a clean, safe, reasonably priced place in a fantastic location -- on all these counts the Montefiore fits the bill. The no-traffic pedestrian street they are located on offers a quiet night's sleep. Their breakfast is not opulent but the food is fresh, hardy and plentiful.

A small annoyance (and this is really quite small) this stay was the fact that the WiFi never worked in our room (despite calling several times and the desk clerk saying that they would look into it). We had internet through our cell phones and WiFi the hotel lobby, so it was not that big a deal.

In all, it was a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms face either a back alley (not much to look at) or they face Shatz Street, which is a no-traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for your kind words.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Montefiore Hotel.
As for the WIFI, there is indeed an ongoing problem with the WIFI in the rooms, hopefully it will be resolved by the end of this week.
We will be delighted to host you again on your next visit to Jerusalem.

Best Regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Montefiore during the Jerusalem marathon. Room was clean and comfortable. Had flat screen tv & floor safe. Refrigerator and supplies for coffee/tea were a great plus. Best of all was the location. We were able to walk everywhere. Hotel had arrangement with nearby parking lot to leave our car for 55NIS per day. Breakfast included was very good.
I suggest asking for a room facing Schatz Street when making reservations. Online reservation offers a discount.
Wifi was free and very appreciated to stay in touch with family in the US.

Room Tip: request room facing the pedestrian street (Schatz)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollydog112000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Shamai Suites
#23 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Hillel 11
#38 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#19 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#36 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Property: Montefiore Hotel
Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing