We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice room with a charming view on a small Jerusalem street. Situated in a center of the city, close to the Old Jerusalem. You can even walk or take a tram - just two stops - to get to the heart of old historic district and in the same tame you're not in the middle of the crowd of tourists but in a normal city, where pleople live, go shopping, walk their dogs and have breafasts in small cafes.

Room Tip: with a street view and rather higher than on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grazyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon among our returning guests.
Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 477 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location was good....within walking distance to many shops and cafes.The rooms were clean and breakfast was fine. The hotel looked nice on the outside.

There were so many things that were disappointing.....The staff was not overly friendly and were sparse. The rooms seemed to not have been updated in a long time and were very cramped. The room doors were not exactly high security with only a lock on the door knob and a flimsy chain. While we were there at the end of June 2012, the police were searching for someone and went throughout the hotel knocking on doors. We called the hotel staff after our door had been knocked on and after the police had attempted to open it through the flimsy lock, and they wouldn't give out any information.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, it gives the hotel the opportunity to learn and improve itself .However, I wish that it was posted back in June, when it was relevant.

At the incident with the police that you mentioned, they came to the hotel looking for a person and knocked on doors. It had nothing to do with the hotel, they did not take no for an answer, and there was nothing we could do about it. We are sorry that you were there and for the inconvenience.

As for the rooms- The Montefiore hotel is a 3 star hotel, the room size is big by Israeli standards, and is going through constant renovations and room improvements.

Sincerely,
Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our room here was relatively clean in comparison to other places we stayed in Israel. However, we did pay 116 euros per night for a double room with breakfast. There were a few strangely dirty areas - such as the fabric lamp shades in the room, and the back of the bathroom door. The ceiling in the bath/shower area was very low - at 190cm tall (6' 4'') I had to crouch slightly to take a shower.
Reception staff were helpful, but seemed rather clueless. Wireless internet was down for four of the five days that we stayed, and they seemed to have no idea what to do about it.
The breakfast was somewhat meagre, with dreadful coffee. On Shabbat (Saturday) morning it was much more extensive, but on the other four days, limited.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TevredenLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, the feedback we receive from our guests enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to avoid similar situations in the future.
The internet WIFI has been down for a few days due to a local problem from our internet provider , there was little we could do, however now it is working again as usual, free of charge for our hotel guests.

We apologize for your inconveniance and my best regards,

Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall, everything about this hotel that one expects in this price range were right on target. Room cleanliness: excellent. Electronics, fixtures, locks: all in working order. Staff: friendly and accommodating. Room size: larger than expected. Bathroom: clean, with a hot and plentiful shower. Those over 6' tall may be have to do some strategic maneuvering in the shower. This hotel omits the traditional toiletries in small bottles in favor of a shower gel. If you stay at another hotel enroute to this one, grab an extra mini bottle of shampoo and bring it along.

This hotel has some great standout points:
Elevator: Some reviewers have pointed out the erratic elevator service on the weekend. This is to honor Jewish tradition, and there is a placard on the elevator explaining this. I have included a photo. Apparently, a number of Israeli hotels do this. You can bypass this by using the stairwell nearby. The hotel is not too tall, so this is not unmanageable.

Transit and location: Just a few blocks away from the Jerusalem Light Rail which is absolutely indispensable. If you're coming from the Malha Mall train station, your best bet is to get a taxi. I echo other reviewers who remind you to ask the cab driver to use the meter. The hotel is on Schatz Street which is a pedestrians only street. This means you will likely have to walk at least 1/2 a block with luggage. The lack of traffic directly in front of the building is nice.

Breakfast: Excellent. The ripe red tomatoes alone deserve an honorable mention. Conspicuously gone are the greasy breakfast meats that Americans have become used to. It took me about 5 seconds to figure out why a Mediterranean menu leads to less heart disease and why Americans (like myself) tend to be...er, heavier.

The Room Key: Old school metal key on a large numbered key ring. Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 285Hryvnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in Oct 2012 and was not very impressed. The hotel is in a nice location, on a pedestrian street, and near a number of shops. The room was clean & comfortable and the staff was very friendly & helpful. The breakfast buffet was good but rather limited and the only coffee available on Saturday was instant. The elevator was erratic - once stopping on the wrong floor and once refusing to stop on any floor - fortunately no one was on it at the time that it just kept going up and down without stopping. My biggest disappointment though was that the in-room wifi did not work during my entire stay. I asked about it every day and was told that someone would "look into it tomorrow" but they never did. It was obviously not a priority for them. When I checked out, I asked for a discount since the in-room wifi that they advertised did not work & was told that they could not discount the room since it was "complimentary" and after all, they did have working wifi in the lobby. I pointed out that their website and brochure promise wifi in the room and if they advertise it, then it should work, same as shower, tv, clean bed, etc. but they didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
We were sorry to read that you were not entirely happy with your stay at the Montefiore.
I would like to explain to you and to your review readers a few things :
The elevator is not “erratic”…as a tourist you may not know this but on Saturdays-“Shabbat” we must change the elevator system to fit to religious needs- (A religious person cannot order the elevator by pressing the button) The elevator stops automatically on every other floor going up, and goes down directly to the lobby. there is a sign stating it next to the elevator on every floor, you must have missed it. Same thing with the coffee- we are not allowed to turn on the coffee machine due to Shabbat restrictions. We are sorry about this, but it is not in our hands- this is Israel.
The only issue that is correct- is the Wi-Fi .We are encountering problems in one of the floors and technicians were not able to solve it yet. We do care- a lot, and it is our top priority to solve this problem.
Thankfully, the Wi-Fi in the lobby works fine, and those who can’t connect from their room connect from the lobby- free of charge, as promised.
All the best,
Naama Yemini
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. Luckily, the group of teenagers that had been staying at the hotel left just as we were checking in (with one small elevator in the whole hotel, it can be a challenge for groups to check out). We let out a sigh of relief and had a nice, quiet stay for at least the first 4 nights, until another group arrived. Fortunately, apart from some door banging, this group seemed to behave (probably because they were tired). Plus, we had a room at the end of the hallway, so it was quieter. All in all, a very good stay. Rooms were clean (although they could do with wiping the faucets) and well-equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was superb. Couldn't have asked for better. Not sure what all the complaints were about regarding the breakfasts. They were perfectly OK. We stayed at the Renaissance in Tel Aviv and yes, the breakfasts there were phenomenal, however, the breakfasts at the Montefiori had a decent variety of fruit, pastries, bread, cheeses, salads, yoghurt and hot items. We found nothing to complain about. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AmandaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. Middlerange. Good price and great location. Took 20 min to walk to Jaffa Gate. Near Jaffa street and the Mall. Nice staff. Breakfast having all the essiantials. Kosher. Quiet in the evenings. Airconditioned and TV on the room. I would stay here again if I return to Jerusalem. I stayed at the hotel August 10-12th 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IreneKa189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#34 of 101 in Jerusalem
335 reviews
Hillel 11
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $89 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing