We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Excellent Location”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value and Excellent Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. Luckily, the group of teenagers that had been staying at the hotel left just as we were checking in (with one small elevator in the whole hotel, it can be a challenge for groups to check out). We let out a sigh of relief and had a nice, quiet stay for at least the first 4 nights, until another group arrived. Fortunately, apart from some door banging, this group seemed to behave (probably because they were tired). Plus, we had a room at the end of the hallway, so it was quieter. All in all, a very good stay. Rooms were clean (although they could do with wiping the faucets) and well-equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was superb. Couldn't have asked for better. Not sure what all the complaints were about regarding the breakfasts. They were perfectly OK. We stayed at the Renaissance in Tel Aviv and yes, the breakfasts there were phenomenal, however, the breakfasts at the Montefiori had a decent variety of fruit, pastries, bread, cheeses, salads, yoghurt and hot items. We found nothing to complain about. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AmandaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    194
    69
    18
    6
See reviews for
97
168
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. Middlerange. Good price and great location. Took 20 min to walk to Jaffa Gate. Near Jaffa street and the Mall. Nice staff. Breakfast having all the essiantials. Kosher. Quiet in the evenings. Airconditioned and TV on the room. I would stay here again if I return to Jerusalem. I stayed at the hotel August 10-12th 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IreneKa189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of June 28-July 1, 2012. There were security issues at the hotel, with some guests at the front desk complaining on Friday morning about property being stolen from their room. Further, I was awaken at midnight Friday by the hotel manager and a police detective looking for someone. In addition, I was looking for a kosher meal on Friday night. The hotel recommended and made reservations at the Lev Yerushalayim hotel. The food was terrible and the dining room at the Lev Yerushalayim was a mess, the tables from earlier diners were not cleaned and they ran out of some of the entrees.

Room Tip: Recommend that the hotel replace it's key lock & chain with up to date electronic door locks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Let me start by saying that we're sorry you had a problem during your stay.
We remember that specific weekend clearly. How can we forget,when the local police enters the hotel and demands to search all the rooms looking for a fugitive that has nothing to do with us?
There was nothing we could do a bout it,they would not take no for an answer,although we tried. Thankfully,this is a very isolated incident,and we belive it could happen in any hotel.
As for the "theft",indeed there was a couple who complained about a missing item on that morning,but they called us a short time after going back to their room and apologized,as the item was found within their belongings.
Bottom line,there isn't and never has been a "security issue" at the Montefiore Hotel.
We are sorry for your discomfort,and hope to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a nice basic hotel in an amazing location. Blocks from Ben Yehuda street. We felt like we were in the middle of everything. Rooms are small, but clean and serviceable. Front desk staff is helpful. I would stay here again.Breakfast is adequate but not the typical Israeli breakfasts you hear so much about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirraFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I spent 6 nights at the hotel this July while in Jerusalem for a seminar. The hotel was chosen by the seminar sponsor. The best thing about the hotel is its central location, a very easy walk to sights, restaurants, synagogues and shopping. I shared the room with a colleague - two single beds - and it was tight, especially if you are used to American hotel rooms. Decor is old and on the surface it's clean, but the bathtub and shower could use some major re-grouting. The breakfast is OK.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank michzuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We were happy to read that you had a good stay with us.
The size of the rooms at Montefiore hotel is standard size to Israel.
I agree that in America the rooms are bigger,but so is the country....:) As for the decor- a full refurbishment is planned for next year.
We hope that you will enjoy it on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July 2012. The staff was very accomodating and friendly, including helping with driving directions to another hotel on the opposite side of town to pick up friends. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The AC was great, but we also had the choice, and used, the "openable" window, which was great - overlooked a back parking lot, but the breeze and sounds of cats and birds was very pleasant. Room size was fine, as was the typical bathroom. Two twin beds were put together for a king-size, but that's also common. It's centrally located, both to shopping along Jaffa Street, and access to the tram. We walked several times to the Old City -- about 30 minutes. Parking was avaiable on a side street at parking meters, or there's a parking area about 4 blocks away. Great little coffee shop across from the hotel on the pedestrian area. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kd-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Muchas Gracias!
It was a pleasure to have you among our guests.we hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent one night with my husband last week and it was too much.
The hotel is really old and not well maintained, the room was tiny with a view on the garbage cans. It was a 2 twin beds room although in my reservation we mentionned we wanted (and paid for) a double bed. Bathroom was also very small and rusty.
The worse was the beakfast that is served in the next door barbecue restaurant. Having the smell of the barbecue for breakfast is not the best I would like in the morning...Bad coffee, plastic cutlery and glasses, old 'fresh' vegetables in aluminum cart (like in the army?), conserved fruits like in the 70's and packed cakes from the grocery next door. A pity! Especially in Israel where breakfast is typically rich and fresh.
The receptionist was just polite but not more. The breakfast staff from the old city probably was more disturbing than helping.
The location is very good, but still, comparing with other hotels for same price, the Monfefiore is really not fair and under all expectations.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Madam,
The rooms at the Montefiore are regular sized. Comparing to other hotels in the center of town the price and size are considered fair. However, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and ask you to be in touch with us for further information.
Sincerely,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
524 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Hillel 11
#40 of 99 in Jerusalem
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
462 reviews
Shamai Suites
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
316 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Property: Montefiore Hotel
Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing