We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in the heart of West Jerusalem”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good stay in the heart of West Jerusalem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

As our cruise had a two night stop in Ashdod, we decided to book into the Montefiore Hotel so that we could be based in Jerusalem and make the most of this amazing and historic city.

This hotel appealed as a good value hotel in a central location. Location wise the Montefiore is just at the top of the main Ben Yehuda Street and absolutely ideal for the main areas of West Jerusalem and within good walking distance of the Old City.

Upon arrival the staff were friendly and we found our room on the 2nd floor to be adequately appointed. Sadly the bathroom and shower were somewhat tired and in need of renovation. The beds were adequate, but not as good as the beds we left on the cruise liner!

We selected the Bed and Breakfast option, but be warned the Israeli breakfast - which includes salads is not for the weak hearted! Thankfully there is also cereal and toast available for us lesser mortals!

In summary, an average hotel stay, but in a very handy location for this most amazing city.

Net Promoter Question: Would I recommend this hotel to a family member or friend? Answer: Yes, quite likely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    190
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
94
161
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel is well situated for those who want to explore Jerusalem without hiring a car: easy walk to the Old City, right next to the Ben-Yehuda pedetrian mall, near the new tram, on a bunch of bus lines. Staff is quite pleasant, they even returned our lost ipod!! Breakfasts were decent and consisted of more than just pickled herring. Rooms are spacious.

Room Tip: Get the suites on top if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Jerusalem hotels are pretty expensive generally; and in my experience so far, you don't get a whole lot for your money. I stayed in the Montefiore for a business trip and found the hotel to be pretty standard for a 3-star. My room was pretty small, but it had a mini fridge, a TV with a good selection of channels, free wifi and a pretty comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little on the basic side, with no mini toiletries (just soap dispensers) and quite low quality, thin towels.

Breakfast is pretty basic - a couple of salads and a couple of varieties of egg and some yoghurt.

For comparison, I stayed at the Leonardo Inn on my last trip to Jerusalem, and definitely prefer the Montefiore... but my search for a good yet affordable business hotel in Jerusalem continues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The room was equipped with tea and coffe supplies each day, rather than useless mini bar there was a small fridge, wi fi in the room, towels changed despite on ecological sign

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in the center. in a relatively short walking distance from Mamila center, the old city and Mahne Yehuda market.
The staff of the hotel was friendly and informative.
The room was clean and not that small, especially while taking into account the relatively low cost of the hotel.
The breakfast could be better (in comparison to other hotels in Israel) but maybe it was because we stayed their during Saturday. Moreover, they have only one elevator, and during Saturday it stops every floor (they have 6 floors), so it kind of annoying.
Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadavAmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I regularly stay at Montefiore hotel with my kids. Very nice hotel and friendly stuff. We all the time get very nice service and even when available i am getting the room earlier as my flight land early in the morning. The location is also great in the city center close to all attractions and shopping places. We also usually eat in the hotel restaruant and the food is also great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is run down, and the staff are not welcoming—ever. The staff on the front desk never looked up from their computer screen whenever I entered. My bathroom was very shabby, and shoddy—loose fittings, rough and dirty tile grouting, rough paint work. The elevator was also shabby with an obviously missing hand rail, as you could see how the dirty grey carpet on the walls was cut out around the missing hand rail. The entrance to the breakfast room from the elevator looked like a trade entrance. The breakfast was consistently terrible. I stayed 7 nights, the first 3 mornings I was never greeted, or even asked my room number, the staff on duty stayed behind their computers, one morning there was no coffee. The fruit juice tasted as though it was mixed from a packet, there was never any fresh fruit, only canned fruit. My room, at least was clean, bed was moderately comfortable, which is the only reason I didn't rate this hotel as "terrible". I can't believe the breakfast room doubles as one of Jerusalems' top restaurants. After my breakfast experiences I never even wanted to enter the restaurant.

Room Tip: I'm sure you could do much better in Jerusalem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Shamai Suites
#33 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#24 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Property: Montefiore Hotel
Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing