We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed January 15, 2009

If you want the best location inside the city walls, look no further. If you want some of the creature comforts of home, look elsewhere.
The good news: The hotel is reasonably priced and well located. The staff is friendly and attentive. The lobby is comfortable and there is a good restaurant across the street.
The bad news: Minimal comforts such as no internet connectivity in the room or lobby; one plug in the bedroom and none in the bathroom; gnats in the room at night; minimal hot water some mornings; average breakfast buffet and DON'T BE LATE.
There are also a lot of religious tour groups that use this hotel and the lobby can be packed at times.
There is a lovely new hotel just outside the city gate called the David Citadel. This is where we will stay next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Amenities
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ramonjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    156
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

The service at this hotel can be labelled as below a hostel, at the very best. Staff absolutely do not care about guest needs. Period.
The Internet access at the hotel does not work. We have been at the hotel for one month, and there has not been one day that I did not have to leave the hotel and go to a cafe to get my Internet work done.
Rooms are old, tired, and smell. The entire first floor smells like a cigarette ash tray, whereas smoking is prevalent at all times.

Please contact us for more information, we have loads of experience now at this hotel, we can make more recommendations.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank sbsmithfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

We booked the Gloria Hotel after reading the favorable reviews on tripadvisor.com. The hotel experience is decidedly a mixed bag, as previous reviews indicate.

For most travelers to Jerusalem, the major sites are mainly within the Old City. (Excepting the Israel Museum...) The Gloria is in a great location in the Old City just within the Jaffa Gate. This made taking walking tours (we took two) very convenient, and it was delightful to be within a short walk of all the major historical sites, as well as the winding paths and streets of the Old City.

The hotel itself is definitely a 3 star tourist class hotel. If you expect more than this you will be disappointed. And the rooms are highly variable in quality. We rejected the first two rooms they offered us (first had twin beds, but was large and roomy, the second was tiny and claustrophobic with what passes for a double bed here: two twins pushed together). The third room, room 251, has two large windows overlooking the Old City and is compact and comfortable.

Service was pleasant; the front desk people were helpful. The breakfasts were decidedly mediocre. No fresh fruit some mornings, scrambled eggs inedible; okay bread and cheese and tomatoes.

Free wi-fi in the lobby and some rooms is a plus.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the new and upscale Mamilla Mall, which has good coffee shops and mall style shops (Rolex anyone?).

We had stayed the first night in Jerusalem in the Dan Panorama due to a change in plans. For $100 more per night it hardly seemed worth it except the breakfast was much better, location much worse.

So if this is your cup of tea, go for it. Otherwise consider somewhere else.

  • Liked — location, views from room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2008

We stayed at the Gloria in December 2008 and loved it.
The hotel is well run and provides personal attention and service that other hotels in Jerusalem desperately need.
The rooms are basic 3 star, clean, comfortable and unpretentious. Free Wi-FI in the lobby and a good breakfast included in the price makes it very good value for money.
The Gloria has a superior location inside the Old City (where evrything of major interest is) and is 3 minutes' walk from the new Mamilla Mall and the shops and restaurants of Ben Yehuda.

  • Liked — friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skippy11Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I stayed at the Gloria Hotel over easter, 2008. I was a single traveler and almost everyone else at this hotel seemed to be members of a tour group.

The rooms are very basic (especially for the price) but clean. Don't expect to be receiving little shampoo pouches, or a complimentary bottle of water, or to borrow a two point plug adaptor or a charger for your mobile phone, you will get NONE of these things, and in fact NOTHING more than a bed to sleep in and breakfast.

In this sense the hotel is definitely VERY overpriced. I can understand though that this is literally the only hotel in the Old City that can accommodate mid range tour groups, and they would be stupid if they didn't capitalize on that.

If you are a single, flexible traveller you should consider staying at the New Imperial Hotel, a few metres away, which I have also reviewed (I moved there after a couple of days as I couldn't justify to myself paying such a high premium for the Gloria Hotel, when the New Imperial boasts just as good a location).

The breakfast (which is included) is okay (standard for the region), other meals are overpriced (these, like the hotel in general, are mostly for middle aged tour groups paying all inclusive rates), but why eat there when there are such nice little restaurants and coffee shops just around the corner?

The location is fantastic though - I highly recommend that you stay within the walls of the Old City.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The fact that it is completely overpriced
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dizzygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

This was actually the second time I stayed here. The first time, I paid $120 for a triple during Thanksgiving week. I figured that was ok considering decent accomodation for 3 persons and the centrality of the hotel. Plus at the time the hotel was in the "early" stages of remodeling so it looked promising.

Exactly 2 years later, this time I paid $130 for a double! And the remodeling that I mentioned, it never went further than the ground floor lobby. Sure the lobby looks great. You feel like you've stepped into a castle with decorative stones casing the walls, floors, and ceilings; sconces and candles further enhancing the ambiance (see photos). But as soon as you step out of the elevator, it's like a completely different hotel! I couldn't help but notice a squishing sound as I walked through the hallway towards the room. Ah, wet carpet. Nice.

The room was basic. Disappointing for the money paid. You got your twin beds, tv, nightstand, table, desk, drawers, and closet. No fridge, stationary, or safe. There were at least 6 light fixures. But what good are they when they're all 25 watts?? The bathroom was prison white and it constantly reeked of roach spray. Coincidentally there were no roaches in the room. The bath water was never hot, only tepid at best. The heating system blew cold air. I called the front desk twice to complain, but they never did anything to fix it. When asked they refused to give a different room.

The hotel offers free breakfast buffet. It's the same menu each day; less than half of which was of any interest. One can only stomach so much Tang-like "citrus" juice, powdered eggs, and sliced franks as sausage. The dinner buffet was much more desirable. But at $15 per person, I didn't bother. The dinner should be included in the price of the room.

If it is your first time in Jerusalem, this is an ok place to stay. It's located right inside the Jaffa gate and within walking distance of the major sites in the old city, as well as Mt Zion and Mount of Olives. You are definitely paying for the location only.

Hotel Gloria is really a 2-star hotel masquerading as a 4-star. It's my fault though that I stayed here a second time because I really didn't have much time to search for other options. I went with what I already knew. Now I know better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced big time
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here with a tour group a couple of weeks ago. We then stayed an extra week and stayed at the Knights Palace for another 4 nights. Both hotels have an excellent setting in the old city, within walking distance to shops, churches and even the Western Wall. The hotel owners are friendly and accessible and willing to help with problems you may encounter. The Gloria has free wifi in the lobby.
Staying at the Gloria also gets rid of the need for a rental car since everything is withing walking distance. If you need transportation, there are taxis just down the street in front of Jaffa gate (make sure you know the price up front). There are also 2 nice restaurants across the street along the old city walls.

But - is this hotel for everyone? NO! If you want a modern 4 or 5 star experience in a sterile setting then this not the hotel for you. The beds and food are not American, but are adequate. You will need to do quite a bit of walking to get to places, for me this was fun and a part of the experience (others will find it tiresome).

If you want a great view of the old city while at the hotel, take the elevator to the 3rd floor. You can walk out on the roof and have a great view of Jerusalem!

  • Liked — Awesome location, friendly staff!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tlh908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
278 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
675 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing