We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Convenience”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable Convenience”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Love this little gem of a hotel right inside the Joffa City Gate. It is clean, AC is great, friendly staff and food is adequate. I am visiting the city with several friends and you can't beat the charm and old world character. I will be back and hopefully soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    155
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of the old city, Gloria Hotel is absolutely an amazing hotel. The holy sepulchre is 10 mins away by foot; there is also a nice outdoor shopping centre 3 mins away from the hotel.
The room was big and clean; staff were very helpful and friendly; the hotel also offers free Wi-Fi.
I found the prices relatively lower than the other hotels in Jerusalem.
I will definitely stay at the Gloria hotel on my next trip to Jerusalem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was there as with a travel group. Stayed for 3 nights. Its a hotel that mostly caters to group tours. The food is not very good. Neither the breakfast nor the evening buffet. The staff is somewhat unfriendly. Fortunately I didnt have to contact them much. The hotel is somewhat worn down and numerous places there were pipes sticking out of the wall and broken glass in the windows. They got a rooftop terrace with the most amazing view. Sadly they havent done anything to the rooftop so there was just a staple of white plactic chair and litter everywhere. The room was very cold and we had to turn the heat on. But alteast we had heating some of our fellow travelers had problems with the heat. The cleaning of the room was ok. I didnt notice anything to mention about the cleaning.

I have no idea if its cheap to stay there as the hotel was a part of the package deal for the tour The location is great though right inside the old city very close to the Jaffa gate and within walking distance to everywhere. Dont use the exchange currency booths which are in the hotel area. They give you the worst exchange rate ever. I wouldnt stay there again if I came back to Jerusalem. By the way Jerusalem was great !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Tx
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Staying in this hotel helps get you in the mood for the old city. It has all the modern amenities and is very nice, but located in the Old City near the Jaffa Gate. Pictures don't do it justice, it is beautiful. Very easy to get to when you get off a bus and easy to get back to when walking around the Old City. We loved it!!! It also has 2 great restaurants just across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Noce little hotel in the old City near the Jaffe gate. One of the least expensive hoitels I found and it was very nice. The staff are very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Room was comforatable. it was a bit small but for me it was ok. This is in a good locatation near the Christian Quarter and Armenean quater. I had a great time when I was here.

Room Tip: The room was very warm (30 degrees C). I opened the window and it cooled down quickly. AC seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

For Pilgrims, this hotel and the Knights Palace which is around the corner cannot be beaten. They are located right in a key part of the city with easy access to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, shopping, etc.

The staff is great, friendly, and will look out for you when they can-giving you tips etc. to save money and time. The food you should get WITH the room as you can really save this way if on a budget. You will be FILLED as the chef puts out quite a spread. The food is Mediterranean/local and very good, nourishing etc. which is what your poor legs and worn out body will likely need!

For cash machines, DO NOT use the one out towards the main street on the corner or any other ones in the area-walk out the Jaffa Gate and down the hill to the upscale shopping street-about halfway down on the left is a REAL ATM with minimal fees, awesome exchange rates etc. Its on the front of a bank.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anton_new_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have spent 5 nights at the Gloria Hotel with my family ( march 2014 ) wonderful location near the Jaffa Gate in the old Jerusalem . the room was spacious , clean and quiet , everybody was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
The Sephardic House
#47 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing