We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of peace”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Spent four nights in bustling Jerusalem and found this hotel to be a real gem offering a relaxed calm oasis in the old city. 1 minute from the Jaffa Gate this hotel is convenient for almost anywhere in old Jerusalem. Our family of four where part of a 15 person group and we were all roomed on the first floor. Some rooms were a little noisy if they were overlooking a street but our room overlooked a courtyard garden and other than the call to prayer and church bells chiming we were not disturbed.
The rooms were character full as are the public spaces. We particularly enjoyed the stone vaulted bar and lounge areas were we met each night to chat about our day. The dinning room is currently undergoing improvements and is probably not the Gloria' s best feature at present but the view is magnificent. The food is standard buffet style with plenty of choice. A good hotel for groups and those on a budget wanting a character full hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

For a smallish but incredibly atmospheric hotel the Gloria is hard to beat. It lacks the "chic" of many of the bigger hotels, but for value, location and general "feel" this is a gem. The cuisine is basic but adequate and the staff try hard to take care of things. The location inside the Jaffa Gate make it ideal for touring the old city and very convenient for forays into west Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Higher up with a room facing the wall and wider Jerusalem beyond gives a wonderful view in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After staying at the Gloria, I would hate to stay again outside the Old City. The location just inside the Jaffa Gate is amazing. It is an easy walk to anything in the Old City--whether shopping or a visit the western wall. We started three of our tour days by walking to sites in the Old City. It is easily accessible from outside through the Jaffa Gate. The rooms were not exceptional, but they were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was fine. The buffet was smaller than some hotels, but it was tasty and had enough variety for most everyone in our group. I would gladly stay at the Gloria again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drguitardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Gloria Hotel is IT in the Christian Quarter if you are looking for: 1) Safe and convenient setting - right inside the Jaffa Gate 2) Friendly staff 3) Clean and well appointed rooms! A good and varied breakfast too.

Room Tip: We were in Room 174 which came with its own balcony/terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great place, especially if you like a bathtub! Requested a room with a balcony. It opens on a terrace. Newly redone, cozy but quite nice. Very convenient to Jaffa gate . Great breakfast. No complaints.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1989Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel is perfectly positioned to see Jerusalem on foot.
Friendly, helpful staff make you feel welcome.
The hotel building itself is full of character, and not a standard clinical hotel like all the others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingRacketlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love this place! Lots of rooms. Great for groups.
I stayed at the Gloria with my group of 14 college students and they loved this place.

Beds are nothing fancy, but a great shower and bathroom. Hotel is comfy.

But you stay here for the convenient location. It's just inside of the Jaffa Gate, right across from Jacob's Pizza and Nafoura. Park or drop off at Mamilla Mall just outside the Jaffa Gate and at once you are sleeping INSIDE the Old City right next to the main Christian Quarter David Street bazaar.

AWESOME, kind, friendly staff at the reception. Very cool bar and sitting area. Plus, there is a great outside patio where you can sit, have a drink, and meet up with friends.

And you cannot beat the price at the Gloria. It is truly the best bang for your buck and the ultimate convenient location.

Room Tip: Just inside the Jaffa Gate on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
311 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
532 reviews
The Sephardic House
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
236 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#63 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing