We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good or Bad”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Well i certainly cant call this place a dump. Ok its not a 5 star hotel but it certainly it isnt bad at all. We stayed at the Gloria for 4 nights in July and we really enjoyed our experience, we were there for a radio mission and the hotel was in great access to all of our work places. The rooms are comfortable and clean, they really would do with some re modeling and re styling as they looked so 70's but the imprortant thing is that they were clean, bathrooms were spacious and hot water most of the time. Late at nights we had to ask for the hot water, but thats ok. Food was very ok, I have been reading many people saying breakfast is cheap or bad, hey people come on, breakfast was very fine, several cheeses, bread, fruits, jam butter, 2 or 3 egg types, sussages/ french toast/ vegetables/ cereal and lots of fresh fruits, plus tea coffee and juice. I really dont know what else can anyone wish for breakfast! On our last night we had dinner , which we really found EXCELLENT, The Chef is a half greek half local, not only his dishes tasted great, but he was such a gentleman and greeted us with a huge smile.
The girls at the reception were of great Help. Anna Maria is a sweet lady with blond hair and smiley eye who did evenings, and the other lady ELLEN was of great help. she is very pretty and 100% proffesional. Staff made our stay there as comfortable as possible. I really would reccomend the Gloria Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank radiopeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2008

Basic but clean rooms in a very convenient location near jaffa gate and all of the old city's major attractions. There is also a womderful mall just outside the gate with some really nice (and reasonable) cafes and restaurants. Couldn't ask for more really, at around 120 dollars a night.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank bootty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

As with all old city hotels (if you can call this a hotel) IT WAS small ,dirty ,dark, noisey & dank. The breakfast was pathetic & of couse seved in a dirty environnment . I checked out after 2 nights & went elsewhere. Be very careful when picking a hotel in Jerusalem if you care about cleanliness. Stay out of old city. If you are on a budget just stay home. How this place can rank in the top 3 hotels I will never know.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MojoRising56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We desperately needed accommodation at the last minute, having decided to return to Jerusalem for our last three nights. The Gloria Hotel managed to squeeze us in. Our room was quite small, with twin beds, desk, and one chair, but was more than adequate considering we spent all our time out of the hotel. The bathroom was huge, with a large cupboard and shower in the bath. All the furniture looked new.

The staff were exceptionally helpful, especially Samir, and they allowed us to check out very late (7 pm) on our last night. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there on our next trip.

The only negative factor was the dining room. The tables weren't cleared and reset after use. On almost every occasion, we had to sit at a table that still had crumbs on it and no cutlery. The breakfast was fine, and we didn't eat dinner there so we can't comment.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I stayed one night at the Gloria Hotel, after experiencing the awful New Imperial Hotel. The Gloria is definitely the best quality/price ratio of any hotel I have visited. Truly, you can easily find better, more luxurious, but for 120$ a two-bed room, including breakfast, this hotel has it all: clean, friendly personnel, good breakfast, tastefully decorated, air-conditioned room, real bath with a decent water flow (not the trickle I experienced elsewhere). When many hostels in Jerusalem ask for up to 80$ a night, this hotel was really a bargain. And it is within the walls the Old City, what more can one ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at the Gloria for 16 nights while in Jerusalem. It was great to be staying in the Old City, very convenient location. The hotel staff was gracious, eager to help, and very accomodating of our needs. The food was excellent - particularly the dinners, a great spread of delicious choices. Rooms were more modern than I'd expected while the lobby and lounges still afforded the Old City ambience.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank plopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Everyone at the Gloria is helpful and courteous. They do their best to accommodate the needs and desires of their customers.

I led a group of 14 that stayed at the Gloria for three weeks. Everyone agreed the hospitality shown was excellent, the food was excellent (the price includes breakfast and dinner each day!), the accommodations were fun (the Gloria's location within Jerusalem's Old City walls was an extra treat!), and the people treated us like family.

I'm happy to recommend the Gloria to those who desire nice accommodations, friendly and helpful staff, great food, and the special ambience only Jerusalem's Old City can offer.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbeyerinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 102 in Jerusalem
304 reviews
The Sephardic House
#53 of 102 in Jerusalem
145 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 102 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 102 in Jerusalem
754 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#47 of 102 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing