We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and well placed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely and well placed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here because our original booking was cancelled at the last minute by a hotel in Tel Aviv! It was a public holiday and to be honest it was the first place we walked into with availability. I thought that it was going to be too pricey considering its excellent location and really unique stone lobby but we were pleased that it was reasonable. The location really is special and whilst we were accommodated in an annexe to the hotel it was still a lovely spot. It is a little dated and the rooftop needs work as does the breakfast room but the staff were really friendly, room was clean and service was great.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you are put in the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosyspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    150
    41
    7
    10
See reviews for
52
72
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my second stay at the Gloria Hotel. My first stay was about 2 years before this. Overall a solid hotel. The location is absolutely unbeatable--right within the walls of the Old City by Jaffa Gate. The hotel has made a few improvements since the last time I was there--most notably, they now have a keyless entry system as opposed to the big keys they use to give guests. Rooms are large and decently kept. Hotel is very nice on the inside and in general fairly clean. Some of the rooms could really use a new coat of paint though. A fairly good value for the location and type of hotel. I would recommend to budget travelers and solo travelers.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't find much to complain about. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, right at the entrance to Jaffa Gate and is very close to some good restaurants (about 3 within 30 seconds walking distance). My room was simple but functional, a TV, heater/aircon and a good bathroom. Breakfast was pretty average, but at the same time tasty (random option of yoghurt with olives mixed in it!).
The only downside was the young lady who checked me out was a bit dim and did'nt really want to go out of her way to help (i needed USD change) and she also didn't know who I should pay for my tour. I would definitely stay at this place again though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaAngel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I recently stopped in the Gloria Hotel (17th December - 19th; 20th - 23rd December) for five nights in total. The tour company Tangey Tours initially recommended the Knights Palace Hotel in Jerusalem. After contacting the Knights Palace they promptly informed us that whilst the hotel was full for our dates, they were pleased to recommend the Gloria Hotel.

Prior to arriving I sent countless emails to the Gloria Hotel. They responded in a quick, efficient yet friendly manner (even allaying fears in terms of safety concerns with travelling to Israel). Shortly before my trip, my partner and I decided to go to Masada for a day. I contacted the hotel and there was no problem in cancelling one of the nights.

The hotel was incredibly easy to get to - literally a 60 second walk from Jaffa Gate (where the bus dropped us off - next to King David's Tower). The main selling point about this hotel is the location. Literally a 5 minute walk away from the Holy Sepulcure and obviously in turn not far from the other main sites in the Old City. There's also plenty of good restaurants nearby.

The welcome we received was encouraging, particularly from the manager. The hotel were pleased to store our bags for the day that we went to Masada, and were pleased to provide support with any questions. A female receptionist was slightly curt, but this is something that we experienced throughout Jerusalem.

Rooms were modern, clean, and air conditioned. Not top of the range but certainly value for money for the price that we paid. The breakfast was by no means amazing by American standards but was good for the region... No complaints there at all. If you stop at this hotel make sure you head up to the top of the hotel to see some good views of the city when relaxing at night.

All in all a great trip - many thanks to the Gloria Hotel for helping to give us a trip of a life time. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandEmmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just spent five nights at the Gloria, in late December, 2012. The staff was great, the breakfast fine, and the location extraordinary. I got room 301 for the great views, although it's not as modern as the remodeled rooms on floor 1. I do not think there is a nicer hotel within the Old City, which is one of the world's great places for safely exploring on foot. I also took advantage of the free parking lot next to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyhoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The gloria hotel should be kept a secret because its location, deep within the metre thick walls of the holy city, give is a movie set feel. With developments around the City's Jaffa Gate the hotel is even more accessible and there are so many things to see within walking distance it's hard to know where to start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robmarshall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights on our trip to the Holy Land. Great location in the Christian Quarter just inside the Jaffa Gate. Restaurant handy for breakfast, food is typical middle eastern cuisine. Room was clean as was bathroom. Lovely views from the rooftop terrace. Walking distance to all the Old City sights. Jacob's Pizza is three doors away and was a welcome change from falafel and shwarma. Beautiful courtyard is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine or beer. There is a nearby upscale shopping area outside the city walls. Two ATMs are located within a block as is a Tourist Information office. Bus stop also nearby if you want to catch a tour or travel into the new city. A small van or car can access the hotel but not a tour bus.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jk5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
The Sephardic House
#52 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#28 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#23 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#50 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing