We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Plus more”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Plus more”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have handicap mobility problems but there were no problems as the entrance to the hotel is at street level with no steps and the elevators took us to our room. The room has been updated and was very modern with everything we needed. The WiFi worked well in the room. The continental breakfast was well prepared and adequate. The staff was friendly and helped us find qualified taxi drivers to take us to the Jordan river and Bethlehem. The hotel is located in the old city just inside the Jaffa gate. Everything is located nearby within walking distance or a short taxi ride away using the taxis located at the Jaffa gate. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: e-mail the hotel with your needs and they will actually read the e-mail and try to find a room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    156
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean, although not a luxury hotel by any means. It is however, very adequate. The food in the restaurant is very good, and there are beautiful views of the city from the restaurant. It is with easy walking distance of most of the historical and religous sites of old Jerusalem. There is also a lot of shopping nearby. Make sure and check your bill for unwarranted charges.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David44207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intl
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice location. Rooms could be better but the lobby really has a lot of charm. Very nice view on city remparts.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Located just inside the old city walls, everything is accessible from this hotel. The tourist office; restaurants; mini-market; money changers; transport and tours; and the entrance to the rampart walk are just a two minute walk to the bottom of the street.
The lobby of this old Jerusalem stone building has a charming old fashioned check-in desk and is brimming with antiques, artefacts and rugs. It is atmospheric in the extreme and the architecture is beautiful.
We had two interconnecting rooms in the main building, one with two single beds and one with three single beds, both with large windows that opened overlooking Latin Patriarchate St, the route taken by the Franciscan Monks for their processional on Sundays. The sound of the bells was lovely.
The rooms were spacious; the beds were comfortable; there were plenty of extra pillows and towels; and the bathroom in one of the rooms had a large window that opened.
The breakfast buffet was included and had a reasonable range of choices, and there was free guest's parking at the rear of the hotel. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the lobby area.
We felt safe and comfortable at this hotel and despite the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms, I will definitely choose to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

One of the first things you notice at the Hotel Gloria is the feature rooms in the lobby, with stone walls in every direction - which adds to the charm and feel of the place. Its not a modern hotel, so expect facilities in accordance with the area.

Our room faced the City walls at Jaffa Gate, and David's Citidel. It was clean and comfortable and after 12 nights, it certainly was home. The staff were friendly and smiling and very helpful when we needed advice getting around.

The food was great. Typical middle eastern fair which was such a pleasure.

I'll definitely be staying here when i return to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chichi864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I recently spent 8 nights at the Gloria Hotel, just inside the old city walls by the Jaffa Gate. Gloria is certainly not a fancy hotel, but it's clean and safe and the staff are very very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner buffets offer a decent variety of foods - tho they all could use a bit more flavoring. But the reason this hotel is such a star, is its location. It's literally a 3-minute walk inside the Jaffa Gate, up a fairly quiet street by the Tourism office. The word is getting out about this place, so book ahead. Several of the nights that we were there, the place was fully booked and they were helping walk-ins find lodging elsewhere. If you want to be inside the city gates, near the Jewish and Armenien quarters, this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main hotel, rather than the annex (annex has no lift/elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I liked this hotel for several reasons - the main two being the location (just inside the wall of the Old City by the Jaffa Gate) and because we got four beds in a huge room for a good price, which was great for a family - and the room was very spacious.

A breakfast and an evening buffet was included in the price. Jerusalem can be an expensive place and the Gloria was a good deal that made our week stay more affordable.

Very safe location, and you are close to everything. Though certainly not a 5 star hotel it was clean and kept up very nice and I would definitely go there again. Good views of the city wall and the ramparts. We were there during Ramadan and could hear the cannons if we left the windows open - you feel a part of the Old City.

There are some great tours just outside the Jaffa Gate - about a two minute walk from the lobby. There is the Sandeman 3 hour walking tour of the Old City (excellent and free - they accept donations). There are also a couple of van tours: one to the Sea of Galilee / Jericho and one to Masada / Dead Sea.

Also walking distance to many tourist sights and hundreds of shops and restaurant.

This was a good choice for taking a family for an Old City experience at an affordable price.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family or a group then get a larger room with multiple beds to keep lodging costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RonBonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
278 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
676 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing