We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Groups”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for Groups”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here with a group from Texas, and we were thoroughly impressed. Good rooms, great staff. The lobby us beautiful. It's just inside the Old City near Jaffa Gate, so walking around is no problem. The breakfast and dinner is just what was needed to prepare or recover from a day of tourism.

We stayed in the Annex across the street. The room was nice, two twin beds. Decent bathroom, lots of storage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    156
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

It was not the cheapest, but hotels in the old city are expensive. I saw several nearby that were cheaper, but they were in pretty sad shape. Not much less money for 1 star backpacker type hostels.

Gloria Hotel's lobby is fantastic. The rooms are OK. A bit dated, but OK. The location is fantastic. Staff was great. Breakfast was very good. Overall, great value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is so easy to get to from the Jaffa Gate - look to your 11.00 and you will see the road sign 'Latin Patriarchate Street' from the Gate itself. The hotel is very atmospheric, with long stone corridors, arches and wall hangings.

The service is genuinely friendly and genuinely caring. I was a lone woman visitor here, and the staff were immensely helpful to me. There were big groups from the U.S.A. and from Greece staying at the same time, and it was abundantly clear that the hotel staff really went out of their way to make them welcome. There is a lovely conference room on the ground floor for pilgrims.

The room I had was large, plainly but adequately furnished, with a super-kingsized bed - and <three> pillows in a line! The shower worked fine, and there was plenty of hot water. A good supply of toiletries was provided.

The restaurant on the 2nd floor gives onto what must be one of the finest views of Jerusalem. The breakfast is self-service, and you can help yourself endlessly (if you wish) to sausage, egg and mushrooms, a cold collation of meats and cheeses, a variety of breads, plus juices and tea & coffee.

I was seriously impressed by this hotel because I felt safe, and because I knew for certain that I wasn't being ripped-off. It's not a five-star hotel, nor does it pretend to be, but it's clean, comfortable and safe. So, if you want to stay in the Old City, this hotel comes to you with the highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Location is great, just inside the Jaffa Gate but away from the hustle and bustle.

The hotel is interesting in that the ground floor looks like it was an old cavern or cellar, gave it a good atmosphere. Rooms were clean and functional.

There was also a hotel car park. Note that there is very limited space so you need to get in early (or be lucky) and be good at parking in tight spots. I'd stay here again.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I returned to this hotel with a group touring Israel because of a previous good experience. Our stay was even better than the first time. The rooms are probably the best one can find in the Old city, and rival many of the hotels in the newer city. They have been fairly recently remodeled? They provide a buffet breakfast and dinner like many of the other tourist hotels, though not quite as elaborate, yet it was perfectly fine for my group, and so convenient.
The hotel is in a perfect location to experience the Old City right outside your door, or you can step outside the Jaffa gate nearby and be in the new Mamilla Mall.
The entire staff are friendly and helpful and want to make your experience in Jerusalem the best. The kitchen staff even baked a special birthday cake for one of our travelers on her birthday. This is primarily a family run hotel at its best.

Room Tip: The hotel has two buildings, the main one and an annex. The main one has a little fancier rooms, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent. Just inside the walls of old Jerusalem at the Jaffa Gate. The service was very good and there is wifi at no extra charge. Rooms are cosy but very comfortable. Some toiletries in the washroom and breakfast is also included. The hotel lobby is beautiful and reflects the style of the area. Was the perfect choice to stay at to tour old and new Jerusalem. Walked to both the new and old city and it was easy to find your way back to Jaffa Gate which helped if you got turned around in the market.

Room Tip: We had a view of new jerusalem and the wall of the old city including Ramparts Walk. Think room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Good location for the old city but hey sometimes its nice to be away from it all.
My bed was ridiculously comfortable and I had a great view (corner room, ist floor)
Good satellite tv channels, arabic stations showing american tv.
However, my bath tub was not cleaned and even when i asked for cleaner to clean it myself, the cleaner than removed it and again did not clean the tub. Her supervisor must have had a word and she gave it a super clean once. My bed was not made properly. I'm not a princess but i dont want to open up my covers ans find crumpled sheets. I asked for clean sheets and made my own bed. The receptionist insisted that someone had cleaned the tub so i took her to see. She looked at it and said that maybe that is the way the bath looks. I cleaned it in front of her. The manager said sorry and that he would send me up a bottle of wine. I said I did not drink.
Breakfast is horrible. Believe the bad reviews on this one. I was not expecting much but seriously....
Some staff are very helpful (male receptionist and another man who works there)
Would i re book? NO!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susana205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
278 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
676 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing