We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for Location”
Review of Austrian Hospice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austrian Hospice
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap for Location”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hostel is very close to the Western Wall and many religious sites. Bunk bed accomodation in dorms but rooms are secure. A nice garden with bar facities and also a view of Jerusalem from rooftop!! overall facilites very good for price, and the budget traveller would do well to find better in jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    105
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
34
104
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hospice is excellently located, and the architecture beautiful. We did not mind the spartan rooms; there was something modest and refreshing in the bare high white ceilings. The hotel is not as clean as it should be, you cannot take out a glass of water to the garden and patio tables unless you order coffee, you must pay hotel bills in cash and you cannot have breakfast in the beautiful garden. Breakfast is served on the bottom floor, not air-conditioned and stuffy.It must have once served as a cellar of sorts. Here, too, don't make the mistake of breaking rules; unfortunately we sat at a table not assigned to us and I got a good reprimanding by the lady who was put in charge of the seating arrangements,in front of the other guests. Quite embarrassing, really. Good spot for enjoying a quite sanctuary, and a cup of good coffee and Apfelstrudel. The human touch is not their forte though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beaudoin_dnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I foolishly showed up in Jerusalem at Christmas time with no lodging reserved. Everyplace was mostly booked, so I wound up having to switch among FIVE different places over the course of 10 days. That gave me the chance to see most of the hostels in the city, and the Austrian Hospice was by far the best. Most of the others were dirty and overcrowded, while the Austrian dorm rooms were spotless, well-maintained, and came with an enormous breakfast spread for the same price. Also its location near the Damascus Gate is unbeatable and the building itself is basically a tourist sight in its own right. The only downside is that the staff is not very friendly, but maybe that's just the price you pay for the Germanic efficiency. I liked the Austrian Hospice enough that I've always stayed here on subsequent visits, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drobnost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The place itself is beautiful. The location is awesome. The views on top are wonderful!
If I were to do it again, I would sleep elsewhere and just visit this place.
The staff is rude. There was major machinery and construction going on right outside our window. We ended checking out a couple days early.
Again, place is really nice. Love all the areas you could chill at. As far as accommodations, it's nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElliotWhitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I loved staying at the Austrian Hospice. Right in the middle of the Muslim Quarter in the Old City, it has great views of the Dome of the Rock and Jerusalem. The roof, the gardens, the rooms I was in were all fabulous (I stayed in two separate rooms at the beginning and towards the end of my visit to Israel/Palestine). The lack of AC didn't bother me as the I found the evenings much cooler and pleasant in Jerusalem, but having a fan in the room would've been nice. And yes, the front desk staff could be friendlier, but I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

really nice here near the Damascus Gate, if you want to experience life inside the walls, I reccimmendthat you stay here. Had GR8 room m8s, enjoyed breakast every morning served by the nuns. Lovely little church inside, nice coffee shop and roof gardens. Central to all the attractions and would def stay here again. Local markets and shops just below the building and def the best apple strudle ever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I am writing this review from a room that has no A/C or fan and the city has undergone a heat wave. Accordingly, the flies and ants are relatively a minor problem as are the filthy towels. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Don't consider the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yoni61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mount Zion Hotel
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,088 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Hospice

Property: Austrian Hospice
Address: 37 Via Dolorosa | P.O. Box 19600, Jerusalem 9762637, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Austrian Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing