We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very charming”
Review of Austrian Hospice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austrian Hospice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Austrian Hospice is perfectly located in the heart of the old city and directly off the Via Dolorosa. The room is very sparten but it is clean and has great high ceilings. Showers are tiny but again, very clean. I should mention that there are a ton of steps to go up to get inside the building so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with walking issues although most of the Old City is like that anyway. Breakfast was good and there were lots of options and very European with meats and cheeses.

They have an amazing view from the roof of the hospice and a lovely courtyard. Unfortunately it was freezing when we were there so we coulnd't take full advantage of it. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Austrian Hospice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 312 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Recently we stayed in the Hospice, and while the accommodations are spartan, this place is amazingly beautiful and Authentic.
Comfortable beds, large and very clean rooms, with great feather blankets.
Very Affordable and in the middle of the old city. Looking down at the street we saw a mix of Arab Souk sellers, Ultra Religious Jews, Israeli Soldiers, and tourists from all over the world,
Don't forget to have Austrian apple strudel with hot chocolate at the cafe' on premises!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My second experience at the Austrian Hospice, but this time I stayed over. I find it basic, clean, no frills or fuss. A nice thing is the free wi-fi, helpful reception staff and manager, Raefa.
Some of the volunteers at the breakfast room came across as being unfriendly, but it can be that it is a language barrier, rather than unfriendliness. I do find them less accommadating to the guests' needs as what I experienced at the Ecce Homo Convent. That being said, I stayed in the female dorm and found the only window high up in the wall is not adequate for fresh air if there are 7 women in a room! The showers and toilets are clean.

With the minaret directly opposite the hospice, the morning prayers are extremely loud and if you are not aware of this, can be a shocking way to wake in the early morning hours. But you get used to it soon enough and it is heard throughout the old city anyway.

Breakfast, once again, as most of the places in the old city, is basic, but slightly more choices than at the Ecce Homo. What bothered me is that you cannot choose your own seat at breakfast. You are accompanied to the assigned table, which varies every morning and thus being forced to sit with strangers. That might not be to everybody's
A plus is the outside area with some green foilage around. Very peaceful, if not to busy.

Very close to the Damacus Gate. A irriation for me was the people that seems to be always sitting on the steps of the entrance (in the street) and "forces" you to move around them to enter the doors.

The rooftop "terrace" is a bit of a dissapointment. There is only a certain allocated area to sit and only two wooden benches. It has not an inviting feeling to spend some time there.
A nice place, but there are certainly "friendlier" places in the old city to stay. It is clean, safe and a unique experience. I would consider this place again, only as my second/third choice. For no other reason as that I experienced a more accommodating and friendlier atmosphere elsewhere in the old city, a stone throw away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Opening the heavy door from the noisy, bustling street you are immediately in a different world as you climb the stone staircase into this delightful place Located on the Via Dolorosa just 5 minutes from the Damascus Gate this haven of Austrian hospitality stands above street level surrounded by lush gardens. Rooms are simple but comfortable with balconies affording a spectacular panorama. Breakfast is distinctly Austrian. Snacks and light meals (and Austrian cakes) also available. Staff very helpful and kind. If you want to find calm and comfort in the heart of old Jerusalem this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnniSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Austrian Hospice is an architectural delight and has a great location in the Old City and has an accessible roof from which to get a wonderful view. The staff are very helpful (especially when my phone wouldn't work and they kindly allowed me use theirs a few times). For the price (22 Euro), with good breakfast, it was one of the best bargains I've come across travelling!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is well situated within the Old City but the service level I just experience was horrific. The guy who welcomed me in the morning and explained that I can only move in and 2, told me that the hotel provided and had no maps of the old city. I had to walk for half an hour to get a map from an information center for a euro. When I returned and actually checked in with my family I was given 3 maps by another guy as a part of a "welcoming package". Essentially the first guy had lied to me in the face and made me walk in vain. Cafeteria staff were rude as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkumchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Fantastic location, service could not be faulted. Breakfast was only ok but overall great. Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irelandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,042 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame Guest House
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
498 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
674 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#55 of 101 in Jerusalem
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Hospice

Address: 37 Via Dolorosa | P.O. Box 19600, Jerusalem 9762637, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Austrian Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing