We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Ranked #100 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This complex of archaeological excavations features the administrative complex erected on the Ophel Hill in the First Temple period, structures dating back to the days of King Solomon, Jewish ritual baths and sections of “Robinson’s Arch” from the Second Temple period.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nice area, we did not spend much time here as was at the end of our tour day, wish we could have explored more as appears there is lot to see and experience. We did take several pictures then continued on our way,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,678 reviews
2,259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,053 helpful votes
“Beautiful and filled with history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

this beautiful area, just north of the Western Wall, includes several compounds, that date back some 5000 years.
Archeological digs that were conducted here throughout the years, discovered an abundance of ancient relics, dating back to Biblical times (and even before), through Herod's time and later - the Muslim occupation.
Several relics (especially the huge boulders from the wall under what once was Robinson's Arch) are within reach, and you can actually touch them and feel their history flow through you.
There's also a nice indoor museum that shows how the archeological digs were conducted and several smaller relics are also displayed there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,816 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
“Don't miss this fascinating garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great introductory film on Herod's masterpiece of building and what the Second Temple was and how it was used. See the artifacts. Go outside and walk around the garden and see the massive stones, the remains of the impressive Robinson's Arch, and imagine yourself living 2000 years ago.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Seriously under-rated site - go visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Given that this site abuts the Temple Mount, and contains Herodian street paving that Christ might actually have walked on, and is relatively untouristed meaning you can wander about the multi-period ruins in comparative peace and solitude right in the middle of Jerusalem, I am astonished that this site is not more popular than it is.

The little museum is also worthwhile for its excellent numismatic display on Judaean coins, and (my personal highlight), the oldest inscribed document so far excavated in Jerusalem: a fragment of a Late Bronze age cuneiform tablet containing a letter in Akkadian.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've been here several times, and each time there is more to see, as more has been excavated. If you are interested in history and archaelogy, you will love this. It is between the Western Wall and Dung Gate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RivaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophel Archaeological Garden (Yitzhak Ben Youssef Levy Garden) also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ophel Archaeological Garden (Yitzhak Ben Youssef Levy Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing