We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very moving experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center

Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.00*
and up
Audio Guide Tour of the Holocaust History Museum
Ranked #2 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world’s leading national Holocaust memorial and museum is a 45-acre campus comprising indoor museums, outdoor monuments, memorials, gardens, sculptures and world-class research and educational centres.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Give yourself lots of time to go through this incredible tour through what is a very moving experience. We were there for about 4 hours and it was not enough. I will be going back again

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Desgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,066
    622
    116
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully Done”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The memorial is truly beautiful. The Children's Memorial affected me the most - I don't know how to describe it except that it moved me to tears. The gardens outside give thanks to all of those individuals and families that helped save the Jews during the Holocaust.

The inside of the main museum is incredibly well done. There is so much to see. We only had an hour, so there wasn't time to really spend enough time in any given area. You could spend 10 hours there listening to the information on the headsets or reading the information yourself.

The day we were there, there were many teenager groups. Unfortunately it was crowded and while walking around witnessing the photos, videos, and remnants there was much laughter which felt ill placed.

However, the museum and memorial itself is very well done.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute must for anyone who is human and civilised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a powerful, harrowing and highly informative experience. It is hard to understand Israel of today without this intimate experience of state-dictated and very systematic destruction of communities, cultures and six million individual stories, plus thousands of others who were put into the cauldron of the "non-humans" such as Roma people, gay people, Slavs and those who fought back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I went there with a friend on the free day of our tour. As we went in there was the opportunity to hire headphones to give a commentary in a choice of languages but everything was so well laid out and explained that there was no need for these. Entrance was free so that was a real bonus. There was a huge amount of information about the rise of Nazism until the end of the 2nd World War and beyond. If you're going independently you'll need to go by taxi and arrange for the taxi to pick you up again. Allow at least 3 hours for your visit. We only allowed 2 hours and had to rush the last part and missed the outside part altogether. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a wonderful memorial to the Jews who lost their lives during the Holocaust. The Children's Memorial was very emotional--3 candles 1.5 million children--hearing their names read...innocent lives.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jjajja87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing