We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start early and allow plenty of time!”

Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.00*
and up
Audio Guide Tour of the Holocaust History Museum
Ranked #2 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center is a 45-acre campus comprised of indoor museums, outdoor monuments, gardens and sculptures. Entrance to Yad Vashem is free. Entrance to the Holocaust History Museum is for ages 10 and up.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Start early and allow plenty of time!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent museum with a large amount to see. We allowed only 4 hours and needed much more. Leave yourself plenty of time!
Also, arrive early. We visited between 1 and 5 pm in winter and there were many, many large tour groups in the venue, each stopping to listen to their own guides. This made it difficult to move around. An early start would be better I think.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wil78au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,341
    654
    124
    25
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Changed my life.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I don't know how to describe this place, it manage to stir every emotion in my body. I didn't plan on coming here, but I'm glad I did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iMurff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to tell a sad history”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although everyone know the story, the Yad Vashem museum tells it in a fascinating and touching way. I was not expecting to see such a beautiful ando modern museum. In my opinion, the highlight is the hall of names. Set aside at least 2 hours to enjoy your visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaioTurbiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is one of those things that you cannot miss in Jerusalem. It is the best Holocaust museum in the world and one where there is still research going on to help families find each other and to do as much possible to learn about those who were killed. This will be an emotional experience for everyone so bring a tissue.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank melsmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very affecting”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What's there to say? A fascinating, dignified mix of a multimedia history lesson and a memorial to those lost. Very moving. Only down side--the taxi drivers harassing people for rides just outside. No respect at all. (It's a 10 minute walk from the Mt Herzl stop on the Jerusalem light rail.)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jslaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing