We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.00*
and up
Audio Guide Tour of the Holocaust History Museum
Ranked #2 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center is a 45-acre campus comprised of indoor museums, outdoor monuments, gardens and sculptures. Entrance to Yad Vashem is free. Entrance to the Holocaust History Museum is for ages 10 and up.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
melb, australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very busy”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was extremely busy, people were always pushing and walking in front of the displays we were trying to read.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sueaustralia_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,270
    645
    121
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mukdahan, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best place to learn about the holocaust”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went on a guided tour of the museum, but the guide was fast and the place very crowded, so I couldn't really hear much of what the guide was saying. Moreover, we didn't get much time to read all the information which was provided. Unfortunately no photography was allowed inside, so I was unable to capture the moments. If you are planning a trip there, set aside at least half a day for it so you can best enjoy the place.

The old black-and-white videos were particularly of interest, as they showed footage of the WWII times and the cruelty of the Nazis. I remember watching a video of a bulldozer shoving hundreds of naked bodies into mass graves. Scenes like this I will never forget. You will be educated after you step out of the doors of Yad Vashem, and you will never look and think about the holocaust in the same way again. There is no other better place to learn about the holocaust than in Israel, and in Yad Vashem.

As I was part of a student field trip, we had the honour of having special private lectures on the holocaust and the lives of the Jews in Europe around that time. Additionally, we got access to the computer lab where there were interesting "frequently asked questions" computer resources on the holocaust, complete with answers and video responses.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank time_5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone who wants to understand the Holocaust”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Gave us an in-depth historical understanding of antisemitism and the Holocaust. Very moving experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjga5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“VERY Emotional Place”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This museum strikes fear in the heart - what happened to the Jews could happen to anyone -- put the wrong people in power and no one is exempt from this kind of cruelty.

This museum brings out compassion in the heart of a caring person - what can I do to show compassion to those who have suffered so greatly? How can I keep it from happening again?

This museum reveals emotions we like to keep hidden - the deep sorrow that mankind could be so cruel and heartless to their fellow man!

This museum instills a spirit of prayer - Lord, forgive us for allowing such a thing to happen. Help us to love those we don't understand. Give us a caring heart toward our fellow man!

I will never forget what I saw and heard there. It is something every man woman and child should see! It will change the way we think about what "could" happen if we are not alert and careful about who we place in power over us.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travltnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An experience of a life time.....”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I took a guided tour of the Memorial last week.
Even though the Memorial was full of tourists and very crowded, the basic three hour tour was very informative indeed and left us with a dramatic, greatly enhanced understanding of the
Holocaust.
Recommended. Highly Recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing