We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing history and Amazing Views”

Tower of David Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$375.00*
and up
Private Tour : Tower of David and Jerusalem Old City Quarters
Ranked #14 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the restored ancient Citadel, this museum traces the long and turbulent history of Jerusalem using audiovisual presentations, models, maps, holograms and videos.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing history and Amazing Views”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I loved exploring the Tower of David at the Jaffa Gate entrance to the Old City. You can see the changes in the architecture that corresponds to the control of Jerusalem in different time periods. The museum describes the history of Jerusalem and the site offers some steep climbing to great views.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shortjewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    373
    111
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Visit Twice - Day and Night”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Byzantine conquerers thought this fortress built by Herod was King David's citadel. By day the top of the tower is the best panoramic view of the Old City. Return at night to see the amazing light show. Forget the laser light shows you have seen elsewhere, this is a high tech cinema and sound production projected on the stone walls of the city. Old coins appear in 3D on the walls, the Roman legions march through the city, and Jerusalem is destroyed in flames. You won't believe that this is the same place you visited earlier in the day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Night show”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you are here, you HAVE to attend the light and sound show. It is a religious experience no matter if you are Christian, Jew or Muslim. I highly recommend ...get here early to sit and get a good view of the location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Start Here!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my first stop at the Old City, and it really gave me and my traveling companions the lay of the land. I could see where things were, and especially in relation to one another. The spectacular views are also a plus!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oraz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I visit here whenever I am in the City”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This fortress was used by all civilizations from the time of the Jewish kingdom to the moslems. I like to start my visit in the Old City here and go to the highest point for an oversight of the Old City. It is a great place to begin your visit right at the Jaffa Gate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pilot7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower of David Museum also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Tower of David Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing