We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do for tourist”
Review of Ben Yehuda Street

Ben Yehuda Street
Ranked #25 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after Eliezer Ben Yehuda who revived Hebrew as a modern language, this busy street is filled with cafes, shops and street vendors. Visit ben-yehudah-streetDOTcom to see shops and businesses on Ben Yehuda Street
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must do for tourist”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we were looking for a special souvenir, hand made in Israel, and we found it here! we came back to this street three times within four days during our stay in Jerusalem, and we did not visit every shop here yet!
I did bargain for the purchase, it was fun!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    183
    54
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hustle and bustle”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you enjoy a plethora of different foods, clothing, Knicks knacks, anything you want and do not mind crowds the shuk on Ben yehuda is the place to go. Bring your camera too. So much happening, so many people. Parking is difficult but not impossible. Bring your appetite as well and sample the offerings. Eat in one of the small cafés or restaurants. Take your time and enjoy the sights, smells, and bumping aping with the crowd.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheer342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Modern Anchor in the Heart Of Jerusalem”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have visited Ben Yehuda street every day on each of my past nine trips to Jerusalem. Often more than once a day. Without any traffic, other than the occasional delivery van or Megan David Adom motorcycle, it is made for foot traffic.

Anchored at one end by Zion Square and the new light rail on Jaffa road while at the other end by King George Street.

It is an invigorating blend of eateries and shops. Some have changed over the years. Others are old friends. I have got to know some of the merchants and have wonderful 'finds' on my walls at home. Everyone likes to talk and is genuinely interested in where you are from and what your thoughts are.

I buy my postcards there and get my milk and tea bags at the convenience store near the King George end.

During the Festival of the Trees and also during Purim Ben Yehuda is alive with musicians, impromptu 'shows', educational displays and firefighter demonstrations. The police train their canine units here and the Megan David Adom usually has a blood donor van parked on Zion square.

Chabbad maintains a stand demonstrating laying Teffilin and shabbat candle lighting.

On cool evenings in the summer months it is a joy to sit on a bench for a couple of hours and chat with other visitors or locals. A few merchants and antique dealers who have become friends will come out and chat between customers.

In the afternoons it is sometimes full of exuberant birthright youth who are obviously happy to be in Israel. Beni Akiva kids frequently sell cookies or crafts and are thrilled when a foreigner willing supports them. The plant store's displays are a favourite of mine.

I go up and down it on my way to and from services at The Great Synagogue on Shabbat eves. Even deserted Ben Yehuda has a 'presence'. Make sure to glance up at the early Israeli architecture. Then look them up in your tour book. Some are famous.

Shammai street, running parallel to it, leads to other hidden gems and the two venues compliment each other nicely.

Make it a fixture of your trip and its impressions will linger with you forever.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great fun to mingle, shop and see the local”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Interesting mix of Jewish shops, restaurants and nik knacks. Certainly worth staying near as it all happens around here ( except for holidays and Shabbat when it becomes a ghost town

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A celebration: must visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recommend a visit to Ben Yehuda street on Saturday night after the end on the Sabbath rest. It is wild, full of life with plenty to do, great food and shopping. Better still - right next the train station

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lubabalo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Yehuda Street also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ben Yehuda Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing