We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really worth seeing”
Review of Garden Tomb

Garden Tomb
Ranked #10 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located north of the Old City’s Damascus Gate, this holy site for Christians is a popular place for prayer and meditation.
papillion
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“really worth seeing”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Christian or not, the history here is remarkable. Guided by resident trained guides, all volunteers and very knowledgeable. Much more history than just the tomb

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    273
    89
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highlight of a lifetime, it all adds up”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The pieces all add up. This must be the place where Jesus was laid to rest.. Very spiritual time.. Had quiet communion here and a time to reflect on our own lives, past, present and future. Got to come back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thomas62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We all loved the new perspective of the Garden Tomb”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had not heard of the Garden Tomb before coming on this trip; however, all the signs point to the fact that this may very feel be where Jesus was buried. The hill of the skull is incredible to see. The tour guides that come to live and volunteer at the tomb do a beautiful job of making it all come together and alive. We experienced a communion service at the tomb to end our trip to this magical land. It couldn't have been any more perfect. God is Good!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jericho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Md.
Level Contributor
547 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Most sacred place on earth.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

To be able to go inside the garden tomb was a great highlight of our trip to Israel. There was a great deal of reverence and respect here. This was indeed a very sacred place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

From the garden tomb you can see the mountain with the skull in the mountain! Such important things in the Christian religion right there in front of you. It was nice to hear why they think this is the area that Jesus went. Its a beautiful place with trees and flowers galore. Very tranquil. This was the last thing we did before we left Israel and i couldn't think of a better way to end our trip!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank coleecole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Tomb also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Garden Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing