We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skeptic Felt Jesus”

Church of the Holy Sepulchre
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.00*
and up
Jerusalem and Bethlehem Tour from Jerusalem
Ranked #9 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in the fourth century over the site of a Roman Pagan temple, this is considered one of the world’s holiest shrines to Christians, preserving the most important moments of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Skeptic Felt Jesus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I never knew things such as the tomb, a piece of the cross, and the slab Jesus was prepared on was still around, but thankfully they are. The church is nicely built and has many Christian treasures. Everyone is allowed to touch the slab in which his body was prepared, and I wasn't expecting to feel what I did. Warmth and light filled me and everything went fuzzy in a good way. I instantly felt someone was around and my heart lightened and the feeling hasn't gone away. There were a lot of people in the church, but no one was rude. There's a lot of see, and remember to bring in your comfy shoes. I had a organ replaced, my pain went away for a day which really humbled me after I touched it. I was able to bless a few objects on the stone which I appreciate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,935
    839
    367
    114
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go early in the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want to see the Holy Sephulchre and avoid the crowds, go early in the morning. I was here for a 6.30am Mass and it was worth it. Don't miss the Jewish tombs which the church is built on top of, and the crosses etched into walls by pilgrims on the way down to St Helen's Chapel. The church is huge and complicated so a guidebook/guide is ideal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaddieReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not beautiful but holy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I felt the holy feeling not fanatism. History, religion and myth.
Someone lives this experience as holy one, someone just as
a turist attraction.
Silence inside. All the most sacred places of Christianity just in a little space. Very contrasting with the relevance they had been in our culture.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaV243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
351 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Very nice Church with Sad history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The crucifixion of Jesus is an event that occurred during the 1st century AD. Jesus, who Christians believe is the Son of God as well as the Messiah, was arrested, tried, and sentenced by Pontius Pilate to be scourged, and finally executed on a cross. Collectively referred to as the Passion, Jesus' redemptive suffering and death by crucifixion represent the central aspects of Christian theology, including the doctrines of salvation and atonement. When you enter the church you will see people kissing the place where he was crucified and there are long lines to go and touch and kiss the place he was buried. It is a must visit site for any religion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bustling yet moving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is most helpful to come to this site well informed and equipped for the best experience to know what to look for and what to expect. Despite the crowds, if a spiritually moving experience is what you have come for you can have it. Knowing the significance and the magnitude of what it represents, you can not help but be moved. Humanity in and of itself can take away from or lend itself to any experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of the Holy Sepulchre also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Church of the Holy Sepulchre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing