We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see destination”

Old City of Jerusalem
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Jerusalem Full Day Tour from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Characterized by narrow, winding streets and alleyways, this ancient part of the city is filled with shrines and attractions holy to Jews, Christians and Muslims including the Western Wall, Temple Mount and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must-see destination”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

From the holy Temple Mount to the Western Wall to the many, many churches and ancient sites, Jerusalem's Old City bursts with meaning and history. You'll need at least two days to enjoy the Old City in its fullest sense. My favorite moment was arriving at the Temple Mount early one morning and enjoying the views of the city and Mount of Olives with almost no one around me. It's a thrilling place that is unlike any other on earth. thing special about the Old City.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,967
    1,160
    186
    32
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Historic Old City”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Old city of Jerusalem is such a historic place to visit. We stayed within the old city walls and just walking through the cobbled lanes transported us thousands of years back. Each and every corner has some significance attached to it and we loved walking the whole day exploring every nook and cranny - Dome of the Rock, The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulchre, Via Dolorosa, Mt of Olives, Cardo and so much more. The bustling market place and suqs were fun (dont forget to bargain) although they tend to close by 8 pm but you can always go to Mamilla just outside Jaffa Gate or some of the street side eating joints outside Damascus Gate. There are a lot of hostels inside and some just outside Damascus Gate and Jaffa Gate. We spent 4 days exploring including an extra day for Bethelehem and the Museums in New Jerusalem. Do not miss out on the David Museum which composes of a nice tour and is a definite must to understand the complete history. Other museums include the worthwhile Bible Lands Museum ( if you are into archaelogy and history) and the Israeli Museum opposite it ( if you are interested in the Dead Sea Scrolls and the second temple period model of Jerusalem and Art). Please definitely take a Guide or at least a Guide book to read and appreciate the places better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nirbhay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
245 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Taking Me Back in Time”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Like a time warp, it is most historical. It is where all 3 major religions exist with one another. From history, shops, food and important religious artifacts and eventful site; one must see to believe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Home of faith, and unique atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

On visiting Jerusalem it is easy to notice the modern shops and boulevards associated with most middle eastern major cities. THEN you enter the old city and it really is like wandering the same environment millions have wandered before. I orientated myself via Jaffa gate and stayed in a hostel. I'm not a religious person but the old city inspires, and beguiles.

Helpful?
Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old City Visit”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We loved walking around the museum, taking in the history, as well as visiting the sacred sites and the inner shopping areas. It was a walk back into history, making new memories as we were able to appreciate the art of the buildings, the spiritual connections with sites we'd only read about, and the adventure of exploring areas that had such deep ties to the past. One caution about shopping: Things may cost more than you expect.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank edtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City of Jerusalem also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Old City of Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing