We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compelling”

Via Dolorosa (Way of the Cross)
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Jerusalem Daily Half Day Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #20 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Starting at St. Stephen's (Lions') Gate in the Muslim Quarter of the Old City to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, this is the route Jesus is said to have followed as he carried the Cross to his crucifixion.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Compelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I loved this part of the Old City, which is so eclectic, that it became compelling for me. Where else do you see together, Arab traders, sublime churches, pilgrims from countries you have never heard of, an Austrian Hospice & a convent guesthouse frequented by many Australians. I cried when I finally had to leave.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    260
    106
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Lonely planet or other describes route and points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The route would be difficult to follow without some kind if map. Generally most travel books on Jerusalem cover this route.
Much is now dominated by shops.
This route is not pedestrianised, so between the tour groups and the cars trying to squeeze through it is not perhaps as atmospheric as you would like.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf shores
Level Contributor
254 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“This journey gives each one of us a home either good or bad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I visited Jerusalem in May 2014. Via Dolorosa (way of sorrows) is in the Christian quarter in the Old City of Jerusalem. It starts at Pontius Pilates Praetorium where Jesus was condemed to death and given the cross beam to be carried through the streets. It is interesting to note that Pilate under pressure from the Jews chose to crucify Christ in his mind sealing his fate. Little did he know that at the same time he sealed his own fate also. The route ends at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre where Jesus was crucified, buried, and raised from the dead.There are 14 stations along the route. They are:
Station #1 Jesus is condemed to death.
Station #2 Jesus carries His cross.
Station #3 Jesus falls for the first time.
Station #4 Jesus meets His mother.
Station #5 Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus carry His cross.
Station #6 Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
Station #7 Jesus falls the second time.
Station #8 Jesus consoles the women of Jerusalem.
Station #9 Jesus falls for the third time.
Station #10 Jesus is stripped of His garments.
Station #11 Jesus is nailed to the cross.
Station #12 Jesus dies on the cross.
Station #13 Jesus is taken down from the cross.
Station #14 Jesus is laid in the tomb.
There is a stone monument that encloses the tomb (sepulchre) where it is believed Jesus lay buried for three days - and where He rose from the dead on Easter Sunday morning. My wife and I went on our own without a tour group.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“A Guide is a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

In our opinion a guide is a must for this walk or you will miss the various stations of the cross as we mentioned it in our review of the Christian Quarter. We can not imagine coming to this area and not walking along this path.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Really. Enjoyed walking the via delarosa,so much history,hard going at times we were on a tour so pretty rushed,please wear shoes or sandals with a good grip,you will need them its all cobbles and can be hard on your feet,but was worth every step.I will never forget it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Dolorosa (Way of the Cross) also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Via Dolorosa (Way of the Cross)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing