We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning architecture and deeply religious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dome of the Rock

Dome of the Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$275.00*
and up
Private Tour: Old City of Jerusalem Christianity Tour
Ranked #36 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Old City’s Muslim Quarter, this is the world’s third holiest shrine to Muslims (after the Kaaba in Mecca and the Tomb of the Propher in Medina), which signifies the spot where the Prophet Muhammad is believed to have ascended into Heaven.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture and deeply religious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very interesting place, access is via a wooden bridge at the Western Wall. Once through security and over the bridge you are greeted by people praying and talking etc. The Dome of the Rock is beautiful and well worth seeing. Although I couldn't go inside I respect the reasons why, I actually found it one of the nicer places to visit as there wasn't hundreds of tourists clammering to take photo's etc.

The opening hours are 7:30am to 11:00am and 13:30pm to 14:30pm at the moment I would also suggest going in the morning as it was very quiet when I went

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vedrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    86
    43
    18
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Dome of the Rock.. Overlooking the city of Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

As i entered Jerusalem i looked out for the dome of the rock.. as the driver came to one of the roads heading to my hotel i saw the dome of the rock on my left and my heart literally sank. Despite being jet-lagged and interrogation of hours at check point I found myself rushing to the Haram to pray in the mosque.. my sole purpose of my visit!

Most people mistake this as the mosque, which isnt the case. The masjid al-aqsa is actually opposite this. Allaah says in the Glorious Qur'an (interpretation of the meaning):

“Glorified (and Exalted) be He (Allaah) [above all that (evil) they associate with Him]. Who took His slave (Muhammad) for a journey by night from Al-Masjid Al-Haraam (at Makkah) to Al-Masjid Al-Aqsaa (in Jerusalem), the neighbourhood whereof We have blessed, in order that We might show him (Muhammad) of Our Ayaat (proofs, evidences, lessons, signs, etc.). Verily, He is the All-Hearer, the All-Seer” [Surah al-Isra’ 17:1]

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“outrageously intolerant for non muslims.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought that the Old town was a place where all religions were respected but no. If you are not muslim better not to go to Haram Al-Sharif. You have only limited hours to get into the complex and you will not be able to enter any of the important places there. I found my time wasted although it is a nice place to see the surroundings of the old city and the mount of olives etc. I find the attitude of local authorities of the place totally discriminatory and unfair since i was also in the Holy sepulchral and i saw Arabs inside which is not a problem for anybody. Therefore why from one side there are no barriers to observe so-called holly places and unesco world heritages and from the other side there is this total apartheid ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“A Contentious Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Background: This beautiful building complex was built in the 7th century as a rival to Mecca. It encloses the Foundation Stone, a rock wich according to Muslim tradition is the site that Muhammad made his ascent to heaven.

PROS: The site is a well-known landmark; it is easy to find. Entrance is free and made through the Wailing Wall Plaza.

CONS: There is a security check with x-ray amchines at the entrance. And non-Muslims are prohibited from enetring the mosque itself.

Verdict: Definitely worth a visit for its aesthetic and historical reasons, if nothing else. Grade A-minus.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Hi everyone
The tomb of the rock is one of the most beautiful mosques. Situated in the large area that it is accessible to non muslims from only one entrance next to the western wall. The timings are also extremely tight as it opens from 0730 in the morning to 1130 and one hour in thr afternoon. The mosque is not open to non muslims however u can roam around the compound and absorb all the sights for good. Please go fully covered from ur head to ur toes else u may be barred.You may exit from the other open gates and merge into the market.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank amitwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dome of the Rock also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Dome of the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing