We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sound of worship.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Wall

Western Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Jerusalem Daily Half Day Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #3 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The remains of the Second Temple of Jerusalem and a place of prayer sacred to the Jewish people.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The sound of worship.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopping by this holy site, brings you to an understanding of the sacred nature of this city...all faiths mingle here, with pilgrims going up the ramp to the dome, pilgrims standing in awe at the site of the western wall, and the sounds of prayers rising from the mouths of peoples of different races, different languages joining together. Be respectful of those worshipping at the wall, no photographs! Be quiet, respect what is unfolding before you. Women need to be dress so as not to show bare shoulders or too much skin.

Calm yourself, and listen, let your eyes see what is occurring around you, and let the site and what it represents flow over you. Have been here many times, and each time is as emotional and fulfilling as the last. You need to visit this place...walking through the old city to get here is in an of itself a pilgrimage, it reminds you that all of us...are children of God.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,359
    1,138
    308
    44
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

An inspiration to us all, religions can mix and share, to see all religions represented and praying at the wall in peace was a miracle to behold, this is a holy site for Hebrews, Muslims and Christians,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Must see if in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

You have to check the Westren wall out. Very good experience. We walked from the far side of the old city and loved the walk through the markets and the sense of being in the center of the history of the bible. Lots of dancing, singing, and events by the Jewish people while we were there.

You should note that male and females have to stay apart. My 11 year old daughter was with my and my two teenage sons. A lady who acts as sort of a gate keeper told me she could not go to the wall with us but when she discovered I did not have an adult female to accompany my daughter I wall allowed to go the the wall with my daughter.

Also try to go in the prayer tunnel that is right at the wall. It is an experience! As a Christian it brings the bible to life. You should also know you have to go through security checkpoints and metal detectors. I think that is to be expected with the problems we have these days. There are lots of water faucets there and we drank out of them. It was very hot! We did not get sick and I saw lots of other people drinking out of them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

To stand at the foot of 2,000+ years of history is more than I could have possibly imagined. This is one of the great sites that everyone should try to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“No visit to Jerusalem (or Israel) is complete without coming here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Wall (Western Wall, but no longer Wailing) is a must-see for anyone, Jewish or not. Touching the millennia-old stones and feeling the history and presence of the place simply cannot be described - do it for yourself.

You'll need to cover your head (coverings provided, or any hat is fine). Modest dress is a good idea, but I've visited in cargo shorts and been fine.

It's tradition to leave a note to God in the cracks of the Wall, but don't do this on the Sabbath or most Jewish holidays.

This was one of the most spiritual places I've ever been. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank santacruzer_95060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Wall also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Western Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing