We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standing on Holy Ground”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple Mount

Temple Mount
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.09*
and up
Jerusalem Three Religions Holy City Walking Tour
Ranked #26 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hill in the eastern part of Old Jerusalem is of special significance to the world's three major religions. It was reputedly the site of the first and second Jewish Temple, and since the 7th century has contained two Muslim shrines.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Standing on Holy Ground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Temple Mount is the most contested piece of real estate on the planet and yet you know it is sacred. I felt moved to be standing on the site of the Temple. The Dome of the Rock is a magnificent structure, but the guards were more than intimidating. Everyone should be allowed to visit and to pray. Maybe that will be some day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sue46sue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    202
    89
    29
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Temple Mount on Mount Moriah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

An absolute necessity for religous visitors.

I have visited this most Holy of Sites on two occasions. The first some six years ago when there was a simple, relaxed procedure at the top of the earthern ramp and most recently this past March when the newer more rigourous procedures were in place.

Be prepared for a lengthy, but I believe necessary security screening. In some ways this present day process only serves to enhance the spiritual high one feels when one is finally permitted onto the Temple Mount Plaza. On my first visit I shot my a roll of film in black and white as it was an overcast day and I thought the vivid but stark buildings and plaza landscape would look better in this format. This past March was gloriouly sunny and I was content to gaze at the many architectural objects and distant views over Jerusalem.

Overt religous activitiy is discouraged, but I quietly recited the Shema and a few other prayers I know in Hebrew as I touched the ground. I was left alone to freely wander around on my own. Leaving by the Cotton Merchant's gate one is immediately plunged into secular modernity, but left with the very real sense of having been on Holy ground.

It is interesting later to view the Mount from, say the roof of the Austrian Hospice, and realize that one has actually been at the distant spot one is gazing at.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonatan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are not Moslem (and dressed like one) you are not welcome here. Every other Religion in Israel welcomes people of all faiths or even no faith. The politicizing of this site Holy to all has turned it into a "Tourists not Welcome" mosque.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Forbidden!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I understand it is a religious place - that's the reason it is closed most of the day. However, during the few hours that it remains open to visitors, they could at least let you into the mosques. I was inside 25 years ago, but the policy changed a few years ago, and now only muslims are allowed into the mosques. Anyway, it's interesting to walk in the gardens and see the mosques from outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Hodoiporos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Whatever your religion - the building is gorgeous. The gold dome shines brightly even on a hazy day.

I do find it somewhat ironic that the wailing wall is essentially one of the foundational walls of the dome of the rock. As is probably evident from my posts, I am not a religious person, but I am fascinated by history and appreciate the beauty of the buildings and structures of the all religions.

The best view of the Dome of the Rock is from Mt Olive just above the cemetery. Everyone seems to know this as there were a ton of tour buses/cars there. There was even a camel there for photo ops!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Mount also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Temple Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing