We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shining star in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Dente

Al Dente
Ranked #132 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shining star in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I'd consider myself a pretty tough critic when it comes to food and I will be returning to Al Dente. The service, atmosphere and food were all delightful. We had the spinach salad with pear, walnuts and parmesan, sweet potato ravioli with roasted veggies and the "orange" soup of the day. The hand made pottery vases and mugs are beautiful touches as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice local Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food here is very fresh and tasty.I have eaten here many times times and have never been disappointed. It may not be amazing but it is reliable and yummy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tuktuk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
372 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not your average Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Al Dente is a very small restaurant outside the center in the trendy Bezalel University area, with easy parking across the street. It´s kosher and therefore serves no meat, but plenty of cheese. We tried it and it turned out to be unconventional, especially the pasta dishes are out of the ordinary with new, nice flavour combinations. The pasta is home made. We were less enthousiastic about the pizza which was plain. Prices are a bit steep for dishes without any meat. The biggest downside was the price of wine which is much too high for some very ordinary wines. Service was friendly and fast despite the place being quite full. Worth a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HansCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small, Quaint, Charming.....what a pity”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were here twice--practically the only diners to be seen. Waiters/waitresses stood around talking among themselves-- didn't even look at us , much less offer menus.

We were here twice-- and left ignored, still hungry. Never again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dochifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
1 review
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love to visit Al Dente with tourist visiting Jerusalem. It is a small slice of Italy...small and initmate restaurant, perfectly appointed and delicious and very simple cuisine. Stop by for a reasonable, fresh and tasty meal. Lunch specials are very inexpensive and delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dente also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Al Dente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing