We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can have other choices”
Review of Kikar Zion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kikar Zion
Ranked #90 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can have other choices”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you can actually find other place to stay, please do.
Very old facility. Furnitures as well.
The radio attached with the bed's headboard made me reminisce the old times coz' those are the same thing my grandpa have from the days.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryanczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

You chooose this hotel for the fantastic location. Ten minutes from the old city. You walk in one direction and you see dancing religious me from the 19th century.. Another direction and it is the twenty first century with hiphop and loud music. The contradiction of Jerusalem.
A disgusring breakfast with rotten eggs and old bread. But if you ask the Arab waiters for fresh bread, you get fresh bread. You ask for fresh eggs, you get fresh eggs. So a hotel for the seasoned traveller who is perhaps somewhat asserrtive.
Big rooms and a reasonable bathroom. The bottom line: reasonable price and the place to stay for seasoned travellers.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Malatesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

i stayed in this hotel for 5 days and i was really upset on the first day , first, it smells like a chimney, 2nd, they said the airconditioning is for heating only it was quite hot if you're used to london weather , 3rd, the carpets no matter how you will clean it...it really needs to be replaced due to old cigarette burns..the pillow smells like an old cabinet.. i did comlaints and asked to be moved in another room and they said there's only one rrom available which is much horrible than the other one.

so, i said i want to cancel the rest of the days and was told to sort it out with the agency i booked it with...i dnt really know if this is just a coincidence since i just booked this 5 days before my holiday took place ..sadly i have to settle with this hotel due to exhausting day i had and the next day i am booked for another early tour to masada.

the next day was not too bad anymore since i noticed they let the cooling of the room worked!! (so there is one...) the smell of chimney faded a bit... ( or probably we got used to it already)..

it is next to jaffa road , and its a downtown hotel so you can hear a bit of noise from the outside..i had a really bad 1st night i wasnt able to sleep due to this. but for a positive point, youre near to every shop and bars in jerusalem if you want to stay here. jaffa gate going to the old city is about 10 to 15 min. walk.

breakfast is in buffet style and they dont run out of anything..kosher meal of course...but everything taste very good..
i was planning to post a photo but it the looks it doesnt really excite me so i didnt bother to get a photograph..
the staff are helpful and some really speaks good english.esp. the guy in the reception who really helped us call a cab in the last minute( the cab we originally booked didnt turned up).so thank you for that.

taxi drivers usually makes arrangement on how much youre going to pay and they always settle for 250 shekels from ben gurion airport to here and vise versa...the real price when meter is plugged down is about 218 to 220 shekels .( i travelled at the end week of october to 1st week of november 2008)

well, i hope this will help you..decide...
i

Helpful?
7 Thank oxmed29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2005

I am a journalist who stayed in this hotel while covering the Israeli Disengagement from Gaza. Though the hotel was starting to undergo renovations while I was there, nevertheless I found the staff courteous, helpful, the rooms clean and quiet and the price was very reasonable.

The location of the hotel, and it's towering height, made it perfect for my stay in Jerusalem. From my window on the 10th floor I had a commanding view of the downtown of the city, above the noise and fray of the street. Unfortunately, the spa was being renovated at the time, so it was closed, but it includes a sauna, swimming pool, gym and jaccuzi.

Phone service was not up to modern standard, but the apologetic desk clerk was very helpful and did whatever was required for my demands for data services, allowing me to use their office computers for internet access. I was assured that the hotel was being refitted with modern telecommunications, expected to be in place in early 2006.

Over all, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if one is on a budget or needs to be in the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2005

The hotel is modestly priced and in a great location. My only problem with the hotel is that our room had no window, it was in interior room that was attached to another room that had a window. It was sort of a two bedroom suite, sleeps four, two in each room. There was a group of four of us, so it is not as though none of us had a window, just two of us. I stayed there for two weeks while working on an archaeological project.

On the plus side, the entire hotel is super clean, but the decor is 1970s socialist. It very much reminds me of 1970s era hotels that you would find in Eastern Europe. The hotel lobby is on the 7th floor (If I remember), the first floor is a parking deck and the lower floors are offices or apartments...I don't remember exactly. The hotel is very security oriented, very safe. We had many meals in the hotel dining room. The dining service is also very socialist, no menu to choose from--you were served the dish of the day, you were given a set time for dinner and every seat in the restaurant was filled for that seating, so--service was efficent, but impersonal and if you miss your seating time, no dinner.

You could not ask for a better location, right on Ben Yehuda street--a main shopping/restaurant district. A short walk to Jaffa Gate (To visit the old city/Western Wall/Christian sights) and only a short walk to the Russian Compound, the city's nightclub and bar district.

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Westumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2005

This is a high tower in the middle of the downtown shopping/restaurant district. Compared to the smaller hotels and inns downtown, the huge advantage of this hotel is the building's height. There is an enormous amount of noise from the pedestrian area round the clock, and in the early morning there can be racket from cars and trucks as well. If you are high enough up in this place (be sure to ask) you will be immune to it. Relative to other modern hotels (Jerusalem Tower, Dan), this one was much cheaper -- about $60, including breakfast, when I stayed there. The difference in price does reflect the fact that this place is nothing fancy. Service at the front desk is very minimal, and a few people manning the reception could speak very little of anything but Hebrew. The rooms are clean and modern, but lots of the public areas are a bit shabby. The elevator has advertisements for a top-floor restaurant and fitness center that seemed to have been defunct for some time. When taking a cab or sherut here, be sure to distinguish this place from the nearby (far inferio) Zion Hotel and the not-so-nearby Mt. Zion Hotel.

Helpful?
18 Thank mondrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Shani Hotel
Shani Hotel
#65 of 99 in Jerusalem
189 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
#73 of 99 in Jerusalem
253 reviews
Shamai Suites
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zion Hotel
#75 of 99 in Jerusalem
143 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikar Zion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikar Zion

Property: Kikar Zion
Address: 25 Shamai, Jerusalem 9463127, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town West Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kikar Zion 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kikar Zion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikar Zion Hotel Jerusalem
Kikar Zion Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing