We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$650
$617
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
$275
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
$590
$549
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$195
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Ba Moshava(Jerusalem)
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dan Jerusalem Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$414
$390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
National Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$427
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
99
57
12
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
57
12
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscottish guesthousegerman colonyjaffa gateold cityunique accommodationgreat locationshared balconyno elevatorstation areatrain stationwalking distancemt ziona wonderful place to staystayed here for nightsemek refaimisrael museumrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 178 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We Stayed in a room wih a view overlooking the old city walls. Basic but very comfortable and cosy.
We loved the complementary tea and coffee served in the lounge,with a wide library, and the laptop availabla for the use of the guests (very convenient for light travelers).
In addition to the mentioned above, staff were very helpful and friendly.
We recommend the guest house and we'll try to visit it again in the future.
We note that the gardens can be slightly improved with keeping in mind the dry climate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We visited St. Andrew's guest house for a few days and were very satisfied.
The location is very central and the view especially in the evening and at night is excellent.
The service and the food was outstanding. All the staff of guest house was always ready to help at any time of the day as well at odd hours.
We will defintely return and highly recommend to any one visiting Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We selected St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse based on the number of positive reviews but we had a horrible experience. We checked in on September 6th for three nights and were assigned room 218 which is on the ground floor directly behind the reception office. The bedroom had NO windows at all and the bathroom had a window that we kept closed so that we didn't expose ourselves to anyone that might walk by while we were showering or using the toilet. The shower in this room is actually a recessed area (not a bathtub or shower enclosure) without curtains which made for a wet bathroom after showering.

We had arrived from an overnight flight from Newark and were extremely tired and although we were not very happy with the room, we resigned ourselves to it and we went to bed at a decent hour. We were awoken no less than four times by an extremely loud buzzer and had difficulty getting back to sleep each time. Apparently the front door to the guesthouse is locked at night and guests that want to get into the hotel must ring the door buzzer. The major problem is that the buzzer is located on the wall of the reception office that is shared with room 218. It is located just on the other side of the wall from the bed's headboard.

The next morning we asked to have a room change and we were accommodated with a room change to room 205 on an upper floor. We slept soundly that evening and got up early to explore the city before breakfast. When we returned from our walk, we were headed to the breakfast room where we were met by Ramzi who told us that we needed to change rooms once again. I advised Ramzi that as long as it was ANY room but room 218 that it would be fine. He advised us that he intended to move us to room 218 and I advised him that that was unacceptable but that we were going to have breakfast and then discuss this situation further afterwards.

When we went to the reception desk after breakfast, he continued to insist that we needed to move to room 218 and that he "had informed us of the type of room" we confirmed. We had our email confirmation from Ramzi and it stated "please note that the room for the first three night will be on the ground floor without any view." I guess I assumed that without any view still meant that there would be windows. Silly me. We were not happy that room 218 didn't have any windows in the bedroom, but the bigger issue was the buzzer that would wake us during the night.

We asked to speak with the manager and he offered us a discount and admitted that room 218 was not up to the standards of the other rooms but we would have to move to room 218 if we wanted to continue to stay at the guesthouse. I went to the front door and rang the buzzer to demonstrate the awful noise that enters room 218 and advised him that that room was unacceptable since we would not be able to sleep continuously and soundly through the night.

We were forced to check out of the hotel a day early and were quite disappointed with the hotel and its reception staff.

On another note, we found that the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank misterfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our family of five (two parents and 3 teenaged boys) all greatly enjoyed our stay. We reserved the apartment which had two bedrooms, two large couchs and a fabulous terrace that overlooked the Old City. Breakfast was well done, and the hotel is an easy walk to wonderful restaurants and the Jaffa Gate. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

With all the experiences we had in Jerusalem, The Scottish House is at the top. Ramzi, Ibrahim, David and everyone there will help make your stay and daily activities an effortless joy. Leave your window open and the birds will wake you in time to watch the sun rise and easily make it to breakfast. This is an event you want to savor and it will help carry you all over Jerusalem or on other trips booked right at the desk. The ambience is quiet, the building is beuatiful inside and out and the location is extraordinary with the German Colony and Old City within easy walking distance. There is a burial tomb from the 1st Temple era right on the grounds...don't miss it! You, your soul and your wallet will be glad you stayed here. The rooms are good sized, very clean and we had a view that was priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErnestStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews