We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our family of five (two parents and 3 teenaged boys) all greatly enjoyed our stay. We reserved the apartment which had two bedrooms, two large couchs and a fabulous terrace that overlooked the Old City. Breakfast was well done, and the hotel is an easy walk to wonderful restaurants and the Jaffa Gate. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2009

With all the experiences we had in Jerusalem, The Scottish House is at the top. Ramzi, Ibrahim, David and everyone there will help make your stay and daily activities an effortless joy. Leave your window open and the birds will wake you in time to watch the sun rise and easily make it to breakfast. This is an event you want to savor and it will help carry you all over Jerusalem or on other trips booked right at the desk. The ambience is quiet, the building is beuatiful inside and out and the location is extraordinary with the German Colony and Old City within easy walking distance. There is a burial tomb from the 1st Temple era right on the grounds...don't miss it! You, your soul and your wallet will be glad you stayed here. The rooms are good sized, very clean and we had a view that was priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErnestStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stay at the Scottish guesthouse every time I come to Jerusalem (been there more than 10 times) and it has always been great. The rooms are simple- it's a guesthouse- but most are spacious and some are really lovely. Breakfast has great choice of food. Public areas old fashioned with unique atmosphere. The rooms with the view looks toward the walls of the Old City and the Dormition church which is beautiful.
Staff pleasant and helpful. It's not luxurious- (and only a fool would expect that for that price) but it's a very special, atmospehric place with good service and central location.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Quite different from the typical hotel, in that it is an old building directly attached to a "Scottish" church. The staff seem to be Christian Palestinians.
Rooms are spacious enough, have aircon and have a private bathroom. There is good storage space and coffee + tea making facilities. Hot water, for showers, does take a while to arrive, but it is good when it does.
Rooms do not have a 'fridge nor a T.V. The former would have been been nice to have, but "free" chilled water always available in the reception area. Public areas are good and in keeping with the old building.
Breakfast was average, but quite adequate with a wide choice of items from which to choose including " squeeze your own" fruit juices.
Guests seem to include older people and those with definite religious connections, but there was no overt reference to these.
One of the best aspects was the hotels close proximity to the old city just a 15 min walk away, can be done on a traffic free route, by asking at reception.
I was disappointed with the standard of food offered in the nearby German Colony. I was led to expect something special from this group of eating venues, and whilst it seems on par with many other Israeli restaurants, my thought was that Berkhamsted high street restaurants would "knock them into a cocked hat". ( sorry if you have never been there...but you can imagine what I mean...nothing to write home about!) My experience of evening meals in Israel was a definite disappointment in that I was expecting great food but rarely found it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

St Andrew's Scottish Guest house is a clean, simple guest house in a central location in Jerusalem. It is within around 5 mins walk of the King David hotel, and 10-15 mins walk from Jaffa gate. It has wonderful views of the Old City and Mount Zion across the valley. The rooms are basic but comfortable, they all have ensuite bathrooms, and the rates are reasonable for such a good location. The breakfast (included in the rates) is tasty and there is a good variety of food for different appetites. There are some nice public areas - a library and a sun room - with free wireless internet access, so there is space to hang out if you don't want to sit in your room. The guest house is attached to a small Church of Scotland church which has services on Sunday but is accessible from the guest house at other times, it is quite a nice spot to sit and contemplate! The staff are very friendly and helpful (e.g., will book sheruts or taxis for you) and there is car parking space on the property if you have a rental car. Overall this is a very good value place to base yourself for exploring Jerusalem!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights just after Christmas/prior to New Years. Great value for price; building interesting; rooms perfectly adequate (twin room, good light/casement windows; shower in bathroom); fine buffet breakfast. Room heating was fine! Towels could have been a bit fluffier but I was thrilled by the price!

Location is phenomenal just a short stroll (5-10 minutes) to the old city.

Comfortable lounge. Bit of interesting UK history to the building to explore. Staff were WONDERFUL at the desk for answering questions, arranging travel (e.g., up to Nazareth by car), recommendations for dinner - even after we'd left! (via email).

Would definitely use this as a base in the future. Felt very comfortable here.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

When you book for three nights at a hotel or hostel, yet only stay for one night, you know that there is something a little wrong.

Arriving in Israel during the Bush visit and a spell of particularly cold weather, I expected to be warmth by traditional Scottish hospitality. Instead, I received a frosty welcome and freezing room/cell and a cup of tepid tea.

Without any exaggeration, my room at 'The Scottie' had the dimensions, atmosphere, decor, window size and comforts of a prison cell.

When I took my cousin to see my room, I was accused of sneaking a female into my room!

I was forced to pay for two nights that I had booked, but did not wish to use.

A thoroughly unpleasant experience.

I am sorry that there is very little I can say that is positive about this room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GrahamLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,386 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,155 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel

Address: Rehov David Remez 1 | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 9354101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $167 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrew`s Scottish Guesthouse Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing