We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice for Jerusalem”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

If your budget doesn't allow for the ambiance of the King David or American Colony (both are worth the splurges), then this is a terrific choice. Plenty of free parking, a fantastic view of the Old City, and one of the best breakfasts we've had in Israel. Fresh orange juice and plenty of hot and cold selections. I guess they must get lots of non guests trying to catch the view from the roof or getting free coffee/tea. On our second day, the desk clerk asked me 3 times if I were a guest - now I know what they mean by middle aged women becoming invisible - no one remembers you. That did become annoying after the second time.

Be sure to visit the Sunbula store onsite for beautiful embroidery done by Palestinian women. Prices are very reasonable for scarves, shaws, pillow cases, tablecloths and napkins.

Room Tip: Book early, especially for holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
53
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This guesthouse is in a wonderful location, situated a top a hill overlooking the Old City. Our room was quite large with a balcony just perfect for photo opportunities. Everything was quite clean, but plain. Fair internet connections and no tv. Staff was very helpful. Just a 10 minute walk to the Old City, close to the good restaurants in the German Colony and lots of outdoor space for viewing the sights.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mize, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our family, in addition to several friends, has just returned from our Jerusalem trip. We had a delightful stay at St. Andrews Guest House. This was our second trip to Jerusalem and before...we were further out from the old city. It was necessary to get a taxi to go just about anywhere. This time, however, we were within walking distance of everything...beautiful parks, the old city (we could see the Jaffa Gate from St. Andrews, walking distance of the lovely German Colony where many quaint eating places exist...along with beautiful architecture. Our stay was lovely. St. Andrews has a beauty all its own. You feel a part of the city of Jerusalem yet you are enclosed in a beautiful tranquil setting...flowers and gardens and terraces.

The breakfast fare was amazing. Our guide told us it truly outdoes even the 5 star hotels. The staff was wonderful...meeting all of our needs in such a polite, friendly fashion. We definitely recommend St. Andrews to all who seek to experience a true "part of the city" feeling! :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDL1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Travelled as a group of 5 females who came to Jerusalem to meet up with friends and attend various prayer houses.
We stayed in the apartment which was located on the top floor and was clean and spacious and overlooked the Old City with the most fantastic views.Waking up each morning to amazing sunny weather.
Breakfast was more than adequate where the dining room staff met our every request.
The reception staff were excellent and very polite.We telephoned one night to see if a dvd player was available and was told there was one in the library but within 10 mins someone brought up the player and connected it to the TV in our room although we never asked for this.We all thought this was very kind and considerate.
Although the guesthouse is not in the Old city and around a 10-15min walk we prefered this location as it was quieter.
We would definately return here again when we visit Jerusalem.One warning if needing a taxi use the company recommended by the guesthouse as two of the ladies in our group had a bad experience with the driver making out he didn't know the way back hence an expensive taxi fare and a frightening experience for them.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed my stay. Its is a quiet and nice guesthouse. My room (room 4) didnt have a view of the Old City but there was a balcony near the room which had a great view of the Old City. The room was basic but spacious and clean.

The guesthouse is a lovely stone building, which is attached to the Church of Scotland building.

Breakfast was lovely, plenty to chose from, I loved the pastries. The staff were helpful and polite.

The Old City isnt far from this guesthouse and its a nice walk to it. There's a bus stop near the guesthouse where you can get a bus to the Old City, bus number 38 but please check with guesthouse staff for times etc. A tip about the buses, you can get a multi-ticket, a 10 journey ticket from the bus driver. Also you get transfers within 1hr 20mins, just ask the driver for a ticket when they punch your multi-journey card and use that single ticket to transfer onto another bus within the time stated on the ticket.

The German Colony is very close to the guesthouse, lots of restaurants there. Ask the reception staff at the guesthouse to show you the book of restaurant recommendations, its usually on the reception counter. The petrol/gas station beside the guesthouse sells sandwiches and snack food.

Opposite the guesthouse past Bloomfield Park there is an old residential area called Yemin Moshe, this is a must see place, very beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xcuse_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This place is very special and I refer to the building and the views of the old city. I booked after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. The guesthouse is not as near the old city as the website says but near enought (a stiff 15 minute walk). The building is very iconic and is located in nice grounds. It was built in 1930 to commemorate the Scots who died liberating the land from Turkish rule. Thus it has a wonderful air of bygone times. Some of the communal areas are very nice with 1930s type furniture but the rooms are rather dismal in that they are shabby and scruffy and the grime is in clear evidence everywhere. The furniture is like something from Univeristy Halls in the UK in the 70's. Our room had a balcony with amazing views of the city. The problem was that the balcony was shared by 4 rooms which was a bit embarrassing. The balcony could have been wonderful but had obviously not been cleaned since 1930!! The staff were courteous and attentive. There is a garden outside which is terribly dusty and I only saw kitchen staff sitting there. Guests usually used the area by the church in front of the guest house which is a great place for sitting and contemplating the walls of Jerusalem. Breafkast was also promising with lots of produce on display but everything was a bit tired looking with limp lettuce and hard fruit and very bad quality jam. The price is 150 usd a night which I think is far too much for what I would really consider budget accommodation. However the guesthouse has its plusses I have already mentioned: the location, some of the communal spaces and the views. Also Internet is free and the speed is acceptable. There are tea and coffee facliities in the rooms, the water pressure is excellent. There is a shop selling arts and crafts but it never seemed to be open. I went to the church service on the Sunday which was rather dismal as there was hardly anyone there and people were singing out of tune a hymn noone knew. In sum the St Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse is a lovely place but in dire need of complete renovation. It if was renovated with style it could be one of the most desired small hotels in Jerusalem..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MashaLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The location of the accommodation is just perfect for walking to the Old City and the views from our 2 bed apartment were incredible. Breakfast was included and the service was excellent. Kitchen in the apartment was not particularly well equipped but we managed. Peaceful yet suurounded by the bustle of Israeli life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavallins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount Zion Hotel
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,088 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel

Property: St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel
Address: Rehov David Remez 1 | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 9354101, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrew`s Scottish Guesthouse Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing