We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Tree Excellence”
Review of Olive Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olive Tree Hotel
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Olive Tree Excellence”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice hotel - clean, friendly. Traveled with church group. Rooms comfortable - bed was good. Showers clean. Had a problem with the air conditioner one day - but it was very hot outside. The restaurant buffet is very good - large selection of different types of food - vegetarian and regular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zakosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    287
    111
    34
    14
See reviews for
89
136
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a very enjoyable hotel. We were traveling with E.O. travel. A superb organization to travel the Holy Land. Buffets at hotel were superb, gift shop large and reasonably priced, within walking distance to Old City. Seemed very safe, did have to pay for wireless, which at times did not seem to give correct amount of time paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammyoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent hotel, food was great and the location was within walking distance to Old City. The staff were extremely friendly and attention to detail was outstanding with staff remembering our names after only one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice enough. We had an upgraded room so I can't rate the normal rooms. The buffet was plentiful but the quality of the food was mediocre. And the tables are tight together to accomodate all the tour groups. The hotel lobby is stunning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank captmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff here were helpful and pleasant. And Jerusalem and all it's people were lovely, welcoming and a bit special.
But despite all this I would not recommend this hotel.
Although the beds and bedrooms were pretty clean, the halls and common parts looked grubby and dirty.
It looked as if staff had not been given enough time to hoover (that means vacuum clean for non Brits)!.
One staircase was littered with food wrappings and rubbish for days.
The bathroom in one of our two rooms was well stocked with soap etc. But for some reason the other had no soap. Luckily I found a bar of soap in my case!
Oddly, neither room had any of the usual hotel information leaflets or stuff - we just had to guess if we wanted to dial reception etc.
We stayed for four nights between Christmas and New Year. The position - in East Jerusalem - was pretty good. Just a walk or tram ride from the centre - where hotels cost a lot more.
Breakfasts were big - and the staff were lovely. But frankly, some of the breakfast buffet tasted a tiny bit stale - especially on the Jewish sabbath.
This is not a glamorous hotel if you want a romantic break. But it was very popular with US College of School Student groups and Isaeali local government works on courses.
Annoyingly, The Olive Tree charged EXTRA for internet or wi fi access - a rather mean touch and not a great way to treat guests. Surely it would be easier just to add a few extra pounds, euros or dollars on the rooms per night and say wi fi was "free". No-one would notice and it would make the hotel look better!
Checking out made me a little cross. I was told because I had a European credit card they'd have to charge me in US dollars rather than Israeli shekels.
I was a bit skeptical about this. We're always being told always being told it is in a vendor's interest to convert a currency on a credit card payment and to insist on paying in the local currency. But I had no choice and paid - as the receptionist insisted the Olive Tree, did " not accept payment in shekels on a foreign card."
Ten minutes later we paid for three coffees just a few yards away in the Olive Tree. Guess What?
My credit card was charged in Israeli shekels! I didn't bother to mention it. What was the point?
But it was this sort of silly ,petty thing that would stop me recommending this hotel.
Frankly, it could do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CousinHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just completed our first tour with Educational Opportunities of Lakeland, Florida. We were very disappointed in the accommodations on the trip. When we arrived at the hotel, it was bitterly cold inside. It took one full day for the hotel to get the heat up to normal in the rooms. The common areas were cold during our entire stay.

The lobby looked very nice. However, when we got off the elevator to go to our rooms, we were stunned. It appeared that the carpeting was 15 years old and absolutely filthy. It didn't appear that the walls had been painted for years. The room was just as bad. In most hotels, we don't worry about walking around our room in bare feet. Here, we kept on slippers or socks. The bathroom was disgusting. The bedding was dirty and never changed during our four day stay.

We had been advised that this was a "first class" hotel, whatever that means. If this is "first class," we would hate to experience an "economy" hotel. We travel extensively, and this hotel rates near the bottom of our list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crlmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in Jerusalem last September on a sightseeeing tour and stopped at the Olive Tree for our lunch. The dining room is light, spacious and clean.
The buffet is good and nicely presented. Food is good quality and fresh, although the choice in the main courses looked a bit limited.
Disappointing facilities for small kids.Overall a good experience, although the place lacks a bit of character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,071 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Court Hotel
#37 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,108 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hotel

Property: Olive Tree Hotel
Address: 23 Saint George, Jerusalem 9720928, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free International calls to over 50 countries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olive Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Jerusalem
Hotel Olive Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing