We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel &services”
Review of Olive Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olive Tree Hotel
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel &services”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I traveleled there a few years ago, in april 2007 and remained with a great impression, even through the years. Big and clean rooms, good amenities, helpful staff, breakfast was more than anyone could request, i would recommend it at any time. The location is great, u'r close to anything in Jerusalem. A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    281
    105
    33
    13
See reviews for
88
133
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. The rooms were small, which I didn't mind but the beds were unusually narrow and short. If you don't spend too much time sleeping you will be fine. The hotel is not too far from old Jerusalem, the temple mount and some of the other tourist sights. Customer service was good and all questions were met with a smile and patient reply. I would stay here again and would recommend it also

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was recently part of a tour group and stayed for four days at the Olive Tree. They must give tour groups a good deal because there were many, many, tours groups while we were there.

The location is great, walking distance from the light rail system. The room that we were in was small by US standards but that is to be expected in a city like Jerusalem. The staff was courteous for the most part. The food was good and there was a variety to choose from. Coffee and tea was only available at breakfast.

Housekeeping could have been better. They were good about making the beds and providing clean towels. However, we had no shower soap (came in a dispenser) at all one day. There was no electrical outlet in the bathroom.

My biggest complaint was the lack of a free zone for internet access. Internet access had to be purchased at steep prices. One hour = USD 9, Three hours = USD 12, 24 hrs - USD 15, and an option for 4 days - about USD 45 - I can't remember the exact rate. I am guessing they don't want to provide a free zone because they don't want the lobby areas to be congested with people trying to access Wifi. Many people in our tour group thought that the internet charges were very unreasonable. I needed to have access for my job and the lack of internet access at a reasonable price was a hardship for me.

Because of the internet problems, if I had a choice, I would not choose Olive Tree in the future. However, if I were part of a tour group and the tour was using this hotel, I would not be too disappointed because there are some good points about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here while on an Educational Opportunities tour of the Holy Lands. I ended up with a great room, complete with balcony (though it was too cool to use it at the time). The hotel was modern and pretty nice. My room was clean and comfortable. Though I was tired enough each night that I could have slept anywhere, the bed was comfortable as well. I had a corner room, which not only had the balcony, but it was quiet too.

Our group ate at a buffet morning and night, which was very good overall. There were a lot of tour groups staying there, so expect LOTS of buses in the morning! While the hotel common areas and elevators were frequently busy with tour groups coming and going, I didn't find them to be too overcrowded. (It's hardly a bother at all if you like getting a little exercise with stairs!) I could see how the large tour groups might occasionally be a bit of an inconvenience for those who are not part of a group, so be aware of that.

Not having wifi access in our rooms was a pain. However, a few from our group remedied this by visiting the lounge at the hotel next door (Grand Court), which had free wifi in their common areas. We relaxed with a beverage, chit chatted and checked email, etc... it was not at all crowded, though the clientele there is a little different from the Olive Tree, and we got a few strange looks. They also have a payphone in the lobby there if you want to use a phonecard without paying the Olive Tree's in-room phone charge.

The location is very good. Though we didn't walk to the Old City, it was not so far that it would be difficult to do so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunburnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with church group. It's a very good 4 star by international standard. Rooms were of adequate size, clean, quiet and well decorated. Recpetion and catering staffs were all very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast and dinner were excellent, plentiful, and choices changed everyday. The only minor issue I could pick is that there were many western tour groups staying there so the reception and buffet could be crowed at times but saying that I would be very happy to stay there again as a single traveller or as a group.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

With the exception of one rude front desk clerk, our stay at the Olive Tree was wonderful. The room was a good size. Beds could have been a little more comfortable, but were pretty typical. Bathroom had good water pressure and a decent size. The food was superb, and the wait staff in the dining room outstanding. Since I was with a tour group, I never walked to the old city, so I can't comment on location. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZetaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Have just left our home away from home. Everything was perfect from location to food to room. It was a pleasant surprise to arrive back to our room everyday except one and find everything remade and restocked a special thank you to our maid. But on Thursday things were different I knew there had been someone different as the room was not done CBS a couple of people in our group had money stolen. But despite that I was happy with our stay thank you olive tree

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForbesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Court Hotel
#36 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hotel

Property: Olive Tree Hotel
Address: 23 Saint George, Jerusalem 9720928, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free International calls to over 50 countries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Olive Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Jerusalem
Hotel Olive Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing