We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for families with children and teens”
Review of Lev Yerushalayim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lev Yerushalayim
Ranked #53 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Wisconsin USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good choice for families with children and teens”
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This hotel was recommended by Frommer and this site for families with kids. We agree. We had a "suite" that was actually a large two bedroom apartment with small kitchen. Location at the top of Ben Yehuda and a few blocks from the Shuk was very convenient for us. Staff was helpful, breakfast was not the best Israeli breakfast of our trip but was fine. Two computers are available in the lobby for 6 nis/ 1/2 hour. I did not see any review mention that this hotel is essentially a time share for Orthodox families who come in on weekends so they can attend services and pray at the Kotel. It is a fine place to stay if you plan on some hard-core exploring on foot and would like some room to spread out at night.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — no tourist amenities -- pool, lounge etc.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MelWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    35
    24
    21
See reviews for
103
38
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We just returned from a week at this hotel and was great. Right in the centre of downtown Jerusalem. We walked everywhere from the hotel. 20 minute slow walk to the Old City "Jaffa Gate" and about 25 minutes to Knesset. Israel Musuem and other attrations. The central market was 5 minute walk from the hotel and we were right across the street from Ben Yehuda Square . Lots of restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance
We had a 1 bedroom which was good because you could close the door and get more space than hotel room.
This apt "time share" hotel defintely could use some updating especially new mattresses. However, clean and breakfast was included. Breakfast was OK we had a good selection of cereal, salads and dairy.
Service was good but paying 30 NIS (about $10) was a bit much for 1 load of laundry and dryer (but convenient). There's a microwae. fridge and hot plate on the small kitchen counter but hotel wants $35 to use dishes. Since I was not doing any cooking I didn't get. Bring your own hair dryer - non in the bathroom.
I've stayed in the more deluxe hotels in Jerusalem but for the $$ and location this is good value

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I stayed at the Lev Yerushalayim for a week in November of 2007. For the price of $66 per night it was a bargain, considering the location has got to the best for Jerusalem. You could literally walk anywhere around town like Ben Yehuda St, Jaffa St, the shook, Mea Shearim and/or literally, a light 15 to 20 minute walk to the old city and the kotel.
I had a two room suite. The bed was ok, not great, but I had no problems with it. The bathroom was roomy enough. I had a dinette, a sink and a fridge in the living room area. The breakfast, which is included, was ample and better than most for quality and quantity.
The service was friendly, if limited. They did have problems finding my reservation and when I asked for a bar of soap I was told no, they don't supply bar soap. Other than that, I will stay here again, and I have no reservations about recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

My husband, dad and I all stayed at this hotel for a week. Let me start by saying that this hotel has the best location. Its name says it all "heart of Jerusalem". You are close to streets like Ben Yehuda, Jaffa and its so close to the old city you can walk (20min). The location is the only great thing I can say about the hotel. I felt as if the hotel justified all that it lacked because of its great location. The beds were terrible and if you have back problems stay some where else. They have their own definition of what 2 bedrooms are. A bedroom with a bed, an entrance hall with a pull out couch and a kitchen/living room with pullout couch classified to them as a 2 bedroom hotel. We were not the only people who experienced this.
The hotel is 30 years old and parts of it looked like it has not been renovated since.
If you think that you are spending $100 on a nice hotel you are wrong, you are spending $100 on location.
If you search online you can get cheaper prices.

  • Liked — Locatopm
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellaklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

troy mi
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

A very good value plus a great location. Walk downstairs and across the street for many restaurants and bakeries. Easily walkable to shopping and Old City.

Not very fashionable but clean and nice units. If you Google this hotel, it will bring up rental agents that sub-let owned units for quite a bit lower than the hotel directly. Beware the "penthouse" units are nothing more than multi-bedroom units without any balcony, etc.

The hotel is Kosher so the supplied silver and plates come in separate bags for dairy and meat. The separation must be maintained as well as what you put in the fridge. Baggage drop off on arrival is a bit of a pain (although good for security). Departure is easier since hotel will help. (The staff at the desk and housekeeping and maintenance was very helpful)

If driving, you need to arrive in the back and park on the street or an adjacent lot (not cheap) and get your luggage across the plaza (wheels very desirable)

We had a Eldan rental and dropped the luggage and then the car at the nearby lot. No need at all for a car in Jerusalem. Plenty of cabs always around (including very reasonable fixed rates to the airport or Tel Aviv)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spence3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

First the good: Great location for general, non-specific tourism, in the heart of the Ben Yehudah business district in the New City. However, its accessibility leaves alot to be desired (see more below). The rooms were spacious, I know of no other places in Jerusalem where it is possible to get suites that large for the price ($92.00 during peak Winter season). The staff was helpful and responsive.

But--the amenities were very poor, and the place was generally slightly run-down--no Kleenex, no hand-towels, the soap dispenser was literally glued on to the wall and kept falling off, no radio or clock, although the room had a decent kitchenette, the hotel charges 30 SH (about $7.00) to rent plates and silverware! The breakfast was very mediocre, the coffee machine was broken the entire time except one day. (There is, however, a wonderful bakery that serves breakfast just down the stairs)

If you have a car, there is no place to pull up or park nearby (We didn't have one). Just to get a cab, you have to hike with your luggage several hundred feet. And the hotel seems to be inaccessable to the handicapped.

Place has potential but needs some improvements. If you can afford it, stay elsewhere but if budget is a prime consideration and you don't mind hiking up flights of stairs constantly to get in and out, it's OK.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dfsSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Great for families with babies as there is a separate living room to be in whilst the baby is sleeping. However, the hotel is dirty. I would only stay again if it was cleaned up properly.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshine36London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
594 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
366 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
318 reviews
Hotel Prima Palace
#47 of 99 in Jerusalem
247 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lev Yerushalayim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lev Yerushalayim

Property: Lev Yerushalayim
Address: Rehov King George 18, Jerusalem 91079, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lev Yerushalayim 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the center of town. Within walking distance of shopping and business areas, historical sites and cultural centers of Jerusalem. All suites and penthouses have one or two bedrooms,a living room, kitchenette, dining area, air conditioning, cable TV, radio and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lev Yerushalayim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lev Yerushalayim Hotel Jerusalem
Lev Yerushalayim Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing