We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the can - a 3 star hotel in a great location”
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Nice hotel in a great location walking distance from the Old City's Jaffa Gate and the entertainment /restaurant district near Ben Yehuda Street. Hotel is no frills, but rooms were clean, bathroom was clean if a little old, but the breakfast buffet was very good. Staff were friendly and efficient, though the lack of free wifi is a minus. If you're in Jerusalem for touring and visiting, this hotel, while no oasis of luxury, is a great place to be based from. If touring from Jerusalem, there are numerous car rental agencies within yards of the hotel, as well as the hotel's own rental service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 802 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

After a disastrous stay at hotel in East Jerusalem my wife and I were very relieved to be staying at the Eldan. However, we found all hotels in Israel kind of suck, and the Eldan, although listed in Frommer's as high-end, is two-stars short of a Holiday Inn express.

The room was big and mostly well kept, with slightly worn fixtures, and the carpets could have used a cleaning. Wifi is not free, which is kind of embarrassing.

Breakfast was not bad, but not that good either.

Location was probably the biggest perk, close to old and new city attractions

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampleminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The location is the sole charm to this hotel. The rooms were tiny and the breakfast was adequate had we been staying at a kibbutz and not an urban hotel. It suited our needs (3 small kids in an enjoining room), but not a place where you want to hang out in the room after a day of touring. There are probably a dozen parking lots in the basement and they are available on a first come basis. We got one, but it is a tough place to get in and out of. There is parking two blocks away at the new mall if you cannot get a space.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oskiwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while exploring jerusalem. I enjoyed it a lot. Rooms small but had absolutely everything I needed and very comfortable with TV, fridge etc. Bathroom absolutely perfect. Breakfast just lovely in the breakfast room with the sun streaming in in the morning, a very nice experience. Staff were OK, they seem understaffed and overworked, not a problem really though. Actually they arranged a sherut (service taxi) to take me to the airport. I'd definately stay here again. I fell in love with Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Eldan is nothing special, but it's a good value hotel very near the Old City. Rooms are nice and clean, and breakfast is very good.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank tordenmalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

My husband and I volunteered on an army base in Beersheva and spent one lovely weekend in Jerusalem at the Eldan Hotel. We had stayed at the King David (just across the street) in the past, and the Eldan is quite nice at a much more affordable price. Our room was very nice, the beds quite comfortable, the bathroom small but adequate. There was a nice lobby with coffee and tea available most of the time, and the breakfast was quite filling. Eggs, cheeses, fresh breads, salads, fish, potatoes, yogurt, fruits, coffee/tea, sweet bread - all very nice. The only thing that "irked" me about this hotel is they charge you for internet service, even in the lobby. We have stayed at hotels at almost half the price of the Eldan, and internet WIFI was no extra charge. Why must they charge for this? It is about $10 for 24 hours, but why charge at all? Also, we stayed at the Eldan over Christmas and had to pay a holiday rate - we are Jewish and just happened to be off the army base that weekend - just seemed a bit weird. We love Jerusalem!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, I certainly wasn't expecting the Ritz... but considering I ended up paying $240 a night at this place (WARNING: If you need a cot in your room, the price goes up a whopping $40 US), I was overwhelmingly disappointed by the rude staff and the drab room. Yes, the location is great, but there has to be a better option...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spr248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,386 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#39 of 101 in Jerusalem
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $130 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing