We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice averege hotel”
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice averege hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Eldan during a week end. It's a nice hotel specially for observent Jews who don't want to spent a lot of money but still stay in proximity to holly places.
Room are just fine, however no kettle or coffee making machines are available. Breakfast is quite rich but food is very basic.
No swimming pool, no gym.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    271
    118
    32
    26
See reviews for
240
221
60
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location close to Jaffe gate, shopping and restaurants. Parking was very limited so don't count on getting a space. They often tell you there is not room in the parkade when sometimes there is. You need to check yourself. Rooms are adequate but seemed dark. Carpet was dirty and the bathroom is quite small. We asked for a room to sleep 3. Got 2 singles beds and the 3rd bed was an old cot with a rather thin mattress. Internet is not free, 17NIS per day. We paid $190US per night (for 3 people) so rates seem to have gone up. We have stayed at the YMCA as well and it is a better hotel for about the same price and has more amenities.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

it has a great bar The rooms are fine, beds comfortable is not crowded in front of it you have a car rental company breakfast has everything you need to start your morning and the service is great if you don't love crowded hotels you should go to here it's the quietest hotel i ben to

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhamiammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

$100/night is a good price for this location, especially across the street from the King David Hotel and a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa Gate. breakfast was very good - with plenty to chose from: eggs, egg casseroles, fresh breads, vegetables, lebneh, cheeses, olives, and smoked fish.

The mattresses are so-so. Internet was free in the lobby when I first arrived, but they "fixed it" half-way through the five-night stay. The daily charge went to 70 NIS.

Service was mediocre. One day, we returned and saw the light on the phone flashing. Since there were no voicemail instructions in the room, we called the front desk to ask how to retrieve a message. The woman at the desk said that we didn't have a message, "the light just blinks sometimes." Shortly after that, a friend called and asked why we hadn't returned his call. The woman at the front desk, when confronted about the voicemail, continued to insist that we never had a message.

The front desk staff is mostly young, not so friendly - even by Israeli standards, and not very well trained.

If you're looking for a nice place to eat with good atmosphere and isn't too expensive, Eldan is also next door to the YMCA. The YMCA is also a really nice hotel housed in an Ottoman-style building. In fact, the YMCA rooms are about $70/night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face King David Street if you want a quieter room. Don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Best location in Jerusalem, 1 minute walk from Mamila and Old City. Excellent atention in front desk. Parking is uppon availavility. Very good breakfast. The room was clean. Ask for a high floor if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I loved the location =short walk to Old City, Ben Yahooda the lively pedestrian mall area beautiful resturants. Also the price seemed reasonable. My room seemed very clean and comfortable and they give a big breakfast.

They booked me on Bein Tour which was a nightmare. They picked me up 1 1/2 hours late and made a 10 minute drop off last 1 hour plus they charged 100$ for a trip that the entrance to dead sea was 2$ Just take a taxi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

we were two couples on one night vacation, we looked for low cost hotel in good location
The hotel was very nice in very good location, we walked to all the sites by feet and there was no need for car.
the old city is near by, YMCA building is right near.
Breakfast was tasty even though it was Saturday morning.
bottom line we got simple and good hotel.
The price in the end was a little bit higher than what we expected.
but all of us agreed that it was good choice.

Room Tip: as for room that turn to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,329 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
547 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Property: Eldan Hotel
Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing