We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with tiny ugly rooms and a hostile and incompetent staff.”
Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #29 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced with tiny ugly rooms and a hostile and incompetent staff.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Not at all worth the money. That this place charges at least $200 per night is embarrassing to those (including me) who have stayed here. If you're going to compare it to an American hotel, it's about on par with a Days Inn, and I mean a low quality Days Inn.

The rooms are tiny, dirty and decorated like that of a low-end chain motel. As alluded to above, if you paid a low-end chain motel price like $50 to $90, that's okay. $200 is way beyond the proper price. Paper thin walls where you can hear the person next door breathe. Once you try to request any service from the hotel staff you will be met with rudeness and indifference at every step. If you request an iron be brought to the room, good luck in getting it by the time you check out. Some very basic things like delivering a message took 6 hours, despite my asking several hours earlier if any messages had arrived for me - they were annoyed by that inquiry and said I would've known by then if I had. When I complained, the same lady who claimed I had no messages earlier changed her story and said I got the message just when they received it. Are you kidding me? Breakfast is just a salad bar and some stale bread. The exorbitant wifi charge (or that they charge at all for wifi) is an insult.

Jerusalem has much better choices with better value than this dog. If you're here on business, your company is spending way too much money. Sure the location is good with about a 15 minute walk to the Old City (although no non-hotel restaurants in the area), but far better places for much less money in the same area include the Prima Palace, the Montefiore and the Notre Dame Center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glencie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    271
    117
    31
    25
See reviews for
237
221
60
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights during Passover week just after Easter 2012. We had no trouble getting rooms beside each other: my wife and I in one, and my sister and 14 yr old daughter in another. The rooms were basic, e.g. no coffee maker, but clean and they have a safe and a little fridge which is very convenient. We falsely accused the staff of stealing my sister's Kindle, and the manager took us very seriously and got the head of security on the phone right away (it was the start of Passover II and he had gone home). He recommended we take a look in the safe and elsewhere: we found it under the bed. I was impressed with their professionalism. The old man mentioned in other reviews is occasionally in the lobby, but I can't imagine anyone being bothered by him. I got a free Jerusalem Post and International Herald Tribune in the lobby in the morning. Oddly, they need bigger sheets for the beds, but the beds were clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful. We bought tickets for the Passover II meal because although not religious we don't eat bread on that holiday and we didn't want to find and deal with a non-kosher restaurant that night. The dinner was very well attended and the food was good and the staff found us another table when we didn't like our assigned seats. The breakfasts are also good. Parking is limited and tight, but we got a space and left the car for our stay. The location, beside the YMCA and across from the King David Hotel is the best: an easy walk to the Old City and downtown and about 25 minute walk to Emek Raphaim St. - i.e. the trendy German colony. We definately will come back.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the east side with a view of King David St. They are quiet and nice even though we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA_Kennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed for five nights at the end of March 2012. The location is the big advantage - 15 minutes walk to the Jaffa Gate and the Old City but also only 10 minutes to the tram stop outside city hall and the Jaffa Road for the modern city. The bus stop for the "round the city" tourist bus is just round the corner and there is a 24 hour small supermarket near by.

Hotel does the basics ok but is expensive (as all central Jerusalem hotels seem to be). The restaurant does breakfast on the usual Israeli self service format but only seemed to be open for meals in the evening on Friday (which is quite an important advantage as most restaurants are closed in Jerusalem on a Friday evening so it could be useful to eat in the hotel on that evening - we walked into the Old City and found a Christian owned restaurant open). The reception seemed busy and our electronic room keys failed several times (but were reprogrammed by reception each time without undue hassle).

If you can't afford the King David hotel (which is very close by) this may be your option if you just want to see the sights and sleep somewhere decent. There is a very high quality restaurant close by - the 1868 restaurant - if you want to splash out for one evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Clean rooms and great location in the heart of Jerusalem near the Jaffa gate. Breakfast buffet was adequate - good selection, but the food in the heating trays had stayed there just a bit too long. The rooms were comfortable though not necessarily roomy. Polite service that were very helpful. All in all, a positive experience and a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We did not book a hotel as we were driving around country and did not know when we will get to Jerusalem. We called a lot of hotels after returning the car before we got to this one (Surprising given this is right opposite Hertz). Spoke with a girl (did not get her name - sorry) at front desk. She offered a choice that was not cheap but worked out really well for us as we also had 2 kids and we need early check in and late checkout.

Hotel is conveniently located near Jaffa Gate (Opposite the pricey for no reason King David hotel).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wir verbrachten drei Nächte im Eldan, Flug nach Tel Aviv, dann Sherut direkt zum Hotel. Der Empfang war herzlich, wir bekamen ein schönes Zimmer (nach hinten) und viele gute Ratschläge - ein Super-Tipp war die Freilichtaufführung am Abend bei der Stadtmauer. Eine grosse Überraschung war das Frühstück - das Buffet war ausgesprochen vielfältig und geschmacklich top, mit frisch zubereiteten Gerichten, die täglich variierten. Ausserdem gab es noch eine supergünstigen Deall mit Rabatt für das Mietauto für unsere Fahr ans Tote Meer inkludierte.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryokoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed at the Eldan with a group from UK . Lobby , restaurant and rooms very dated . Had problem with electricity in our room but on informing reception it got sorted
with minimum fuss ( 2 key cards
In the electricity slot meant for one ) and it worked .
Breakfast at Eldan a bit boring compared to our hotel in Netanya , why do Israeli hotels provide a ghastly orange and lemon squash , not even a juice , let alone a fresh one !
Room clean , skinny bath , no decent toiletries . Bed fine , our room had nice view of fire escape !
Main reason to stay here is it's position , opposite the king David
hotel, 5 mins walk to Mamilla Mall , worth going to if only for the magnificent sculptures on sale .
Walk through the mall and you arrive at Jaffa gate , entrance to Old City .
Staff don't get red rosettes for friendliness but they were pleasant
enough ... Overall Eldan is place to sleep in , not to spend the day in ,
It's Ok , and that's it basically ..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,326 reviews
Hotel Prima Royale
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
835 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Property: Eldan Hotel
Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing