We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3-star at best”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The problem with Dan Boutique Jerusalem is that is overrated. It is a 3-star hotel at best though it is sold as a 4-star.
We arrived late at night. There was no staff to help us with the luggage (unfortunately we had a lot). We found at that both room service and restaurant close at 11pm so no place to eat within the hotel.
It is not perfectly clean. Dark colours in the room hide but if you look closer you will realize.
It reads renovated in the website and we reserved a superior room to guarantee that but we got an old room.
The only good thing that we can say is that location is good.
So, go there if you believe that USD200/room is a good price for a 3-star in Jerusalem. i would have paid USD350/room and stayed at the Mamilla, a true 5-star.

Room Tip: Enrol yourself at Dan Club for a better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    448
    159
    40
    26
See reviews for
364
509
70
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our room for 4 people was very large, with 2 large, comfortable beds, a separate sitting area, and a desk. Everything was modern and very clean. The breakfast buffet is huge and very good. There are two great machines that make all kinds of espresso drinks. The hotel is very close to a train station that was converted to an upscale dining/shopping area, and we went to 2 very good restaurants there. We definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexington44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, in a great location, with comfortable rooms -- free parking, too! Good value. I strongly recommend it. There is a comfortable lounge with free pool table. The breakfast was the typical, enormous, amazing Israeli breakfast. The room was not huge -- but very nicely decorated and very comfortable. Good linens, too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is situated in the southern part of Jerusalem, about 20 mins walk from Jaffa Gate - the main entrance to the Old City - and 25 mins walk from the Holy Sepulchre. However it takes about 40 mins to walk to the modern city center, and you'll probably prefer to take a taxi or a bus.

Rooms are rather spacious, with air conditioning, free safe, fridge, teapot etc., but without hair-drier :(

Breakfast is basic but good: eggs, different sorts of cheese, some fish (most days herring and tuna), yoghurts, fruits, pastry and so on. But no meat at all - it would not be kosher to offer it in the restaurant where milk is present.

On Friday, after the sunset, when sabbath begins, they serve only cold food in the bar. Nevertheless for 180 shekels per person warm food is available in the dining room. And there are several restaurants and cafes opened during sabbath in the building of the old railway station - 200 meters from the hotel (Adom with french cuisine is highly recommended). Saturday breakfast is also rather modest due to sabbath.

The service is good, people on the reception are always ready to help. The hotel in general is a good value for its price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side have view on the Old City, Mount Zion and Gehenna ;) You can walk to M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Belomor,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and taking the time to post it.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel location; close to Jerusalem’s favorite leisure and entertainment spots and so pleased to read that you enjoyed our Israeli breakfast and all that our hotel has to offer.
For our guest convenience hair dryer is available for use with no extra charge. I am sorry to read that you were not aware about the possibility of receiving a hair dryer to your room.
Thank you for your comments with regards to our happy team attitude at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your warm words to our team as a whole. We will be really happy to welcome you back again soon on your next opportunity to visit to Jerusalem.
Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Dan Boutique is mediocre -- there, I said it. This is not a criticism so much as an objective take on the place. The staff is polite. The food is pretty good for hotel grub. Breakfast was a very good Israeli hotel style smorgasbord of great breads, cheeses and veggies.
However, the rooms are small and poorly lit. The artwork in the rooms was so hideous I had to remove it from my walls for my 5 night stay. The tv was mounted high on the wall which required me to lay down on the bed to watch anything.
None of these are severe criticisms, just evidence for the mediocre verdict. The location is not great, requiring a long walk or, more reasonably, a taxi, to get to the city center or to the Old City.Luckily the Dan Boutique is very close to the Train Station, a new and funky development that's just around the corner.
The Dan Boutique is fine for what it is. It's just not all that much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebhayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, just to sleep and eat breakfast. The breakfast is very good with excellent breads and a wide variety of fruits and veggies.
The guest rooms are clean and modern and are well designed. My only complaint on the guest rooms is the flimsy shower curtain which didn't do a very good job of keeping water inside the tub. Housekeeping did a good job keeping order in our room.

This is a good location near the old railway station and a reasonable walk to the old city. This location worked for us, but if you are not inclined to walk, taxis are always available. There is a 24 hour convenience store one block away which was very helpful for snacks.

We were traveling with a large group and received group rates, so I have no idea of relative value against other properties. This is a service and facility review only.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location in Jerusalem. We don't like driving around Jerusalem, and the Dan is close to many sites, within walking distance of some and an easy taxi ride to others.
The hotel is well appointed and the rooms are definitely top scale. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyPerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear MindyPerl,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that you will be back to our Boutique hotel on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Providing warm and friendly service is our main goal along with a "best value" guarantee, thus we were happy to read and appreciate your kind words.
As noted, the Dan Boutique hotel is in close proximity to many good restaurants and a quick walk to the old city of Jerusalem, the location is indeed one of the things the hotel has become famed for.
We hope to welcome you back soon, returning guests are the biggest compliment a hotel can get.
Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,129 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,680 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Boutique Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Boutique Jerusalem

Property: Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Address: 31 Hebron Road, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dan Boutique Jerusalem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel located opposite Mt Zion and the Old City of Jerusalem, within easy reach of many tourist attractions. The spacious, contemporary guest rooms and suites offer every modern comfort along with state-of-he-art technology. The exquisite interior design skillfully combines eastern and western motifs to create a warm and soothing atmosphere. The guest rooms boast stunning views of Jerusalem’s cityscape, Old City and Mount Zion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dan Boutique Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Boutique Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Dan Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing