We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very decent and reasonably priced hotel with more then sufficient breakfast bar, rooms are on smaller size but with nice, modern decor. Hotel is placed outside of Old City but only by 5 minutes cab drive.There are few restaurant in walking distance( one of them "Colony" open on sabbath). The staff was always willing to help.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahela21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear dahela21,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent stay with us at the Dan Boutique Hotel.
As noted, our hotel is in a great location to enjoy many of Jerusalem's attractions and local restaurants, thank you for sharing.
Special attention is made to individualized service and the unique atmosphere, ensuring all our visitors feel they receive good value for money.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a bittersweet review. I really want to give this hotel 4.5 stars, but i have to be completely honest about my experience. First of all

THE GOOD:
The hotel is very very clean and well kept. I was impressed with the bathroom (spacious) and the bedroom was spacious as well. It has a very trendy modernistic vibe to it.

Free wifi in the lobby and restaurant area: I enjoyed the speed of the wifi. I had an ipad and an iphone and the wifi was almost as fast as my home wifi. I was able to make VOIP calls through my cell phone for free to relatives back home to keep them up to date on my trip.

Very large and comfortable lobby area.There is a bar and pool table in the lobby area as well. Enough room to accomodate many many guests. I enjoyed this aspect.

The outdoor deck on the third floor. Unbelievable panoramic view of the old city. Very scenic, especially in the evening as the sun is setting. The colors are amazing. Although it was a bit chilly during my stay i spent two hours outside at night reading and studying while taking in the view of a quiet Jerusalem night. Stunning views

The breakfast: Very good robust breakfast. They provide you with PLENTY of food to load up on carbs and protein for those tours. Lots of fresh fish, a myriad of different cheeses, breads, pastries and sweets....And tons of fresh fruit. I even took an apple or two with me to snack on durning the day. It was pretty good. I've seen better but i don't think its fair to compare the buffets of Italian hotels to anything else. I'm biased towards Italy. Barring that the buffet was excellent and the waiters were friendly.

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- The front desk staff- Not very accommodating. For the most part they are not exactly friendly: I'm not sure if i caught them on a bad day but i was surprised at how unfriendly the counter staff was. Upon check-in I pretty much received the bare essentials. Your Room # and Key. I'm used to getting a map and an explanation of what is in the surrounding area. When i asked where restaurants were in the area i received a vague answer. I felt like they wanted me to already know the answer. I walked down the street to the Mount Zion hotel to get a better idea and they pointed me to a fabulous mediterranean restaurant nearby (Levan)

- The location is close to east jerusalem so keep that in mind if visiting from America. Just being honest.

- The front desk staff gave short answers. When i asked about different location to see in the city the answers were vague and i felt like i was annoying them. You should be an expert at telling people what your city offers. As a hotel guest i should not have to be apprehensive about asking basic questions about attractions and tours. They really need to work on this. Its like they'd rather not be bothered.

The Hotel Staff is the only reason i rated this hotel lower than what i would like to have given. The facility itself was pleasant and the location, while not the greatest was acceptable. If you are with a large group that has their trip completely planned out, i would recommend this hotel. If this is your first time to Israel, please try another spot closer to the City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Shaun R,

Thank you very much for posting you experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you appreciate the hotel cleanliness and enjoyed our rich Israeli breakfast.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel location, opposite Mount Zion and the Old City Walls; our guests certainly enjoy the spectacular views of magnificent Jerusalem from our Beautiful 3rd floor large terrace.

At the Dan Boutique hotel providing warm and friendly service is our main goal. We are sorry that this did not seem to be the case on this occasion. We are studying your comments for improvement. I have been sure to pass on your comments to the Reception Manager for his thorough attention.

We sincerely hope you might give us another opportunity of showing you we can do so much better and look forward to welcome you back, should you decide to try us again.


Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great hotel. The rooms are nice and not too small. The views are unbelievable. I don't know why they call it boutique. Is it because of the comic book poster in the room? It's also quite far to walk to the old city. Breakfast was not great (compared to other hotels in Jerusalem).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the old city- it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear NB_NY
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We find that the unique personalized, intimate service of the team and the quiet comforting atmosphere make our hotel a boutique.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the stunning old city view from your room. We appreciate your comments regarding Breakfast and I have been sure to pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for his further attention, thank you for highlighting this experience.
Looking forward to welcome you back.

With regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations MGR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here while visiting my daughter who is studying in Israel this year. This is my second visit to Israel, and the first time the hotel we stayed in (I forget which one) was nothing to write home about. We were pleasantly surprised with Dan Boutique. The rooms were spacious for an Israeli hotel, the bathroom was fine. The lack of American TV channels was a minor annoyance. The bar area was nice, never very busy. We were only a short walk to the old city and the bus stop. The breakfast buffet was very nice and always plentiful. The staff was always friendly and willing to help, answer questions, get taxis, etc.... Free WIFI in the lobby was appreciated, and we were able to sometimes get it in our second floor room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lardan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Lardan23,
Your thoughtful review and observations are thoroughly appreciated, thank you.
We're very proud of our personalized service and unique ambiance and so pleased you enjoyed it. Our team go above and beyond to make our guests stay in Jerusalem memorable, thank you for enabling us to give credit where it is indeed due.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon,
with regards,
Shimrit - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arriving in the hotel late evening, we have recieved a tiny room with a window half a meter lower then the parking place, the view was spectacular - the wheels of the parking cars.

My wife has been so upset, she has decided she wants to leave immidiately.

evetually, we have been upgaded to a delux room with a view to the old city. the view was lovely, the room was too red for our taste, and the paining on the wall was bizzare. the bathroom was so cold, it felt like going into a freezer. there was no heater in the bathroom as well.

Room Tip: high floor, room facing the old city, dont dare take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Avner,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experiences here at the Dan Boutique; it is through guest feedback such as this that enables us to further develop our services.
Every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest comfort at all times so we are always very sorry to hear when a guest feels that we have fallen short. We are pleased we managed to improve the room view for you but sorry to hear that you were colder than expected; Jerusalem was experiencing some unexpectedly colder weather than usual. Thank you for highlighting the necessity to check all heating systems.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can ensure of a better experience.
Please do contact me directly so I may be able to assist,
with warm regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
Shimrit.Ohana@danhotels.co.il

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Dan Boutique in Jerusalem, visiting to see the snow. Actually we booked only for one night but since the snow was great and the hotel too we decided to stay another night.
We took the Superior/Delux room with a balcony towards the old city. View was great especially when it was covered with snow...
Room is good size and clean. All in all the service is great except a small issue we had the second day at their dairy restaurant (confused orders and very slow). The restaurant itself is good, try the onion soup!
The breakfast buffet was good too with a large variety to choose from.
Free parking just infront of the hotel.
The Wi-Fi is free in the lobby etc but not in the rooms. I never understand these hotels that in these days do not supply free wi-fi throughout the hotel...
As others have mentioned, the location is a bit out of the way. This didn't matter to us as it was anyway snowing so we took a taxi to the old city for NIS 20 (=$5.00) each way.
We will definately consider stayind here again when visiting Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Zorba139,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your insightful and thoughtful review following your recent stay with us here at the Dan Boutique.
It was certainly a pleasure seeing Jerusalem covered in snow and we're happy our guests enjoyed it; thank you for letting us know of your experiences.
We're pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts and food in general and have highlighted the comments you made with regards to service, thank you once again for highlighting these to us.
We're excited to welcome you back, let us know when it might be.
"warm" regards for now during this cold Israel winter,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager
shimri.ohana@danhotels.co.il

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of 5 spent 5 nights at the Dan Boutique in Jerusalem. Rooms were large and reasonably clean. The beds were nice and firm but the pillows were too fat and lumpy. The bar service was slow, but adequate. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with enough things for our kids to eat. As others have mentioned, the location is a bit out of the way. It is a good 15-20 minute walk to Old Town, Mamilla or the city center. With kids this is a perfect place to stay. There were a lot of families from all over the world. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for the city view as there is a nice patio if you want to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear 5Travelers1263,
Thanks so much for the review, its always good to hear from different kinds of travelers, especially families.
We are so delighted that you and the family had a good time in Jerusalem and were comfortable at the hotel; do come back to us again soon,
with kind regards,
Shimrit - Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,170 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,563 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Boutique Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Boutique Jerusalem

Address: 31 Hebron Road, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $138 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dan Boutique Jerusalem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel located opposite Mt Zion and the Old City of Jerusalem, within easy reach of many tourist attractions. The spacious, contemporary guest rooms and suites offer every modern comfort along with state-of-he-art technology. The exquisite interior design skillfully combines eastern and western motifs to create a warm and soothing atmosphere. The guest rooms boast stunning views of Jerusalem’s cityscape, Old City and Mount Zion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dan Boutique Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Boutique Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Dan Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing