We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location to the old city was great (12 min walk to Jaffa gate). The hotel was fine (clean, friendly staff, good breakfast), but boutique is an overstatement, but not a negative -- it just isn't as trendy or small as a boutique).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgswm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Bgswm1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed the Dan Boutique hotel and all that enchanting Jerusalem have to offer.
We find that the unique personalized, intimate service of the hotel and the quiet comfort atmosphere make our hotel a boutique.
Thank you again and hoping to welcome you back to the Dan Boutique next time you're planning a trip to Jerusalem.
Best regards,
Shimrit Ohana
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dan Boutique with some friends, and we all loved it! From the start, the front desk lady was very helpful and kind. The rooms were updated, clean, comfortable, roomy enough, nice big closet, nice big windows, and smelled good. The bathroom was good size for Israeli standards, clean, well stocked with towels and bath supplies, and had great water pressure. When we arrived, we had a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. We had requested two twin beds, but when we arrived it was a nice big king bed. It was really comfortable, but after a few days we wanted the twin beds, so they were very accommodating and happily took the king mattress out and replaced it with two twins. There was a nice large selection of kosher Israeli food for every breakfast. Our Chag and Shabbat meals were extra good! There is a nice balcony to sit out on with a descent view between the 4th and 5th floors. There is also a bar downstairs where you can order drinks or food, as well as lots of sitting areas and a pool table. We were here during Succot, and there were two Succas that were available to use. We are modern Orthodox, and there were quite a few other religious there as well. I'd say about 25-50%. The Dan hired a wonderful Cantor to lead the prayers and Shabbat services. He and his family were there during the whole Chag. We had a lot of fun at the hotel, and even though the walk to the Old City is a bit long, it is worth it for such nice accommodations. The walk to the Old City and the Kotel is about 20-30 min at a leisurely pace. Make sure to bring water and good walking shoes/boots. Its hilly and the stone streets and sidewalks are uneven and rough, especially once you get into the Old City. We entered through the Jaffa Gate and the Dung Gate, but the Jaffa Gate is easier to find from the Dan Boutique. There is no pool, which was fine with us since we weren't there much, but it might have been nice for children. Overall great experience at the Dan Boutique!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was nice and quiet. If you can, ask for a room with a view of the Ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshnreedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a good tip - we enjoyed the hotel, its location, and value. It's a hike to the Old City which was doable even in the intense heat wave of last week. Buffet satisfactory. Really enjoyed the sundeck on 3rd floor with great view of city. Did not get a chance to try the gym, which was small but unoccupied. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful; cleaning staff responsive to my requests for scent-free room. Loved the artwork in our room!

One complaint: bartender did not feign to recognize us even though he had just 1 other customer. If he had said, "I'll be with you in a minute," that would've gone a long way. So we just walked away, not willing to deal with this degree of rudeness.

Room Tip: we neglected to ask for a room with a view and we got a view of construction, parking lots, backs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Marre5,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay here on Tripadvisor; it is through comments from our guests where we are able to monitor and develop our service delivery.
It goes without saying that we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Dan Boutique Jerusalem, especially our enchanting 3rd floor terrace and its breathtaking views over the old city.
We pride ourselves on the outstanding, personalized service we offer to all our guests so your comments with regards to the bar service are well recieved and appreciated. The team take the utmost care over every guest comment, so I assure you these comments have been taken on board.
I thank you once again and should you decide to be in touch directly, we'd love to hear from you on BJ-GR.shimrit@danhotels.com so we can be sure to add any special requests to your profile on our system.
Looking forward to welcome you back,
with regards,
Shimrit - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed there for two nights. When we did the check in the recepcionist gave us one upgrade to a suite, nice room with a mini kitchinette inside and facing the old city. The room was clean but the bed was super hard so I had difficulties with my sleep. There is free parking, very comfortable and easy to use. The staff was friendly and tried to help us with our requirments, good value for money. The breakfast buffet was included, it was good but in a place without any windows! There is paid wifi at the room but free wifi at the lobby.
walking distance from the old city, Mamila and Emek Refaim. Thisnhitel has nothing to do with a Boutique Hotel, I am surethey just put this name to difference from the other Dan.
I will recomend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Brought a group to Israel during Sukkot (The Feast of Tabernacles), and at the last minute we decided to stay at the Dan Boutique Hotel In Jerusalem. At first I was a little disappointed upon arrival because it "did not appear to be what I had ordered through my agent," however after checking in and getting settled it turned out to be an "okay" property. The location was convenient to the Old City (10-15 minutes walk to Jaffa Gate). Perfect for those staying in the Old City that do not want to fall prey to the cabs. Cabs are not expensive, but make sure you confirm the cost "before you get in." I would consider staying here again. The room was clean, but small. The location of boutique to Old City was excellent. Staff was great...especially the restaurant staff. They made our stay great! Thanks. It is not a full service hotel, so if you are looking for all the extras of a "full service hotel" this would not be a good choice for you. One thing that I was extremely disappointed about was the "location of my room." It was horrible. It overlooked the "dirty roof of an adjacent property." And they claim there was a view...that was the view and it was not a good one. The person checking us in "claim they upgraded us" but when I arrived at the room I discovered that was not true!!! Not at all!!! That really disappointed me further!!! This was my husband's first trip to Israel and to Jerusalem and it surely did not make a good first impression. We are frequent travelers and travel all over the world, and stay in 5 Star Hotels worldwide, this was definitely a step down. I would definitely view the "room FIRST" before accepting it!!! My entire group was on the same floor...side by side...and they did not get a good view either. I paid a premium to stay at this property and paid for a group and was very disappointed with the location of our rooms for the amount of days we were at the hotel. They should have definitely given us a higher room with a better view. The dirty roof view was awful!!! That was a major negative for sure!!! The only positive was the gracious restaurant staff and the location to the Old City!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you "view the room" FIRST before you accept the location and "so called vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanniene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Jeanniene,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Dan Boutique hotel during Sukkot; We were glad to read that you enjoyed Israel, and all that Jerusalem has to offer.
As you noted, The Dan Boutique hotel is located within a close proximity to the Old City of Jerusalem and its ancient, historic sites, making it easy for travelers to visit the old city at any time.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the unique, personalized service throughout the hotel, especially in our restaurant; this is indeed what the hotel has become famed for and we're most proud of.
Being a relatively modern hotel with a unique shape, there are many different room types, some of which are characterized by view and others by size; we certainly try to ensure all our guests are comfortable and happy in the rooms we assign, we are sorry that this did not seem to be the case on this occasion.
Furthermore, thank you for informing us of the maintenance of the roof top, this will certainly be taken care of by matter of urgency.
Looking forward to welcome you back at some point in the future, please do contact me directly on BJ-GR.Shimrit@Danhotels.co.il so that I can ensure all rooms are well allocated and taken care of.
With thanks and kind regards,
Shimrit - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you're not into the large hotel chains, this is a nice smaller sized one.
Good amenities, extremely large breakfast full of variety that will keep you going through lunch.
It's about a 15-20 minute walk to Jaffa gate/the old city. A much more decent walk to Ben Yehudah. Cabs aren't expensive, just confirm the cost before getting in to make it sure it's within what the hotel suggest. "Yaacov", the taxi driver associated with the hotel is very helpful. Ask for a room on a higher level with a view of the old city if you care about views. Free wifi would have been great in the rooms, however it is free in the lobby. There's a great outdoor cafe less than 5 minutes away that has live music every night at 10:30. There were some issues we had during our stay, but the staff did try to help and resolve the problems. Bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping in. The honking of the cars in the streets below could bother you if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had the displeasure of staying at the Dan Boutique as our first stop in Israel. We had booked 2 superior rooms for ourself and another couple ( which was the highest level at this hotel). we checked in and were taken to 2 very small rooms overlooking a parking lot. The pillows were hard and we were only given one each person. We asked Michael, at the front desk to recommend a non touristy restaurant and he reserved for us a very touristy restaurant and gave us a coupon for a discount. After one night we asked for more pillows and asked if they had any feather pillows. He said he had no feather pillows and there were no extra pillows at all. Another hotel guest later told us she got a feather pillow so we asked another desk person later and we did get more pillows but they were not feather pillows. The hair dryer in the room is something like you would see in a bathroom to dry your hands- impossible for a woman to use on hair. There were no wash cloths and the soap was inferior. We were told by Michael, at the desk, that they considered their amenities to be considered boutique quality. He also said that there were larger rooms at this same price but they were only given to families - not couples. When we checked out a bellman told my friend he found glasses in his room and they were at the desk. We asked (Michael) for the glasses and he said there were no glasses at the desk. The bellman went and got them for us. The nice bellman's name was Jay- thank you, Jay. If you want anything at this hotel- do not ask Michael. Michael needs to decide why he is in the hospitality business. He certainly is not interested in being hospitable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mblich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Boutique Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Mblich,
Thank you for taking the time to advise us on your recent experiences here at the Dan Boutique Jerusalem; it is through guests feedback that enables us to develop and monitor our service delivery.
Here at the Dan Boutique, we pride ourselves on the high levels of unique, personalized service we offer all our guests, it is always a concern when guests feel like we have fallen short. I have been sure to pass on your comments to the reception and training management for their thorough and immediate attention; thank you for highlighting this necessity to us.
Whilst it is slightly too late to rectify for this most recent stay, we do hope you may return to us in the future when we can show you we can do so much better. Please do contact me directly on
Bj.gr-shimrit@danhotels.co.il so I can monitor your reservation and ensure you are well looked after.
Should there bne anything else I may be able to assist with in the time being, I would be only to happy to do so,
With Kind regards and many thanks,
Shimrit - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#29 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,753 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#4 of 100 in Jerusalem
469 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Boutique Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Boutique Jerusalem

Address: 31 Hebron Road, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $145 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dan Boutique Jerusalem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel located opposite Mt Zion and the Old City of Jerusalem, within easy reach of many tourist attractions. The spacious, contemporary guest rooms and suites offer every modern comfort along with state-of-he-art technology. The exquisite interior design skillfully combines eastern and western motifs to create a warm and soothing atmosphere. The guest rooms boast stunning views of Jerusalem’s cityscape, Old City and Mount Zion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Dan Boutique Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Boutique Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Dan Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing