We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed 7 nights and were upgraded on arrival as it was 5pm and one of our rooms was not yet available. This made for a comfortable stay as we had a suite and adjoining twin room. The suite had a nice sitting area and balcony with partial views to the old city walls. As the rooms were at the end of the corridor it also meant that they were very quiet with no outside noise. The location is good and it is about a 30 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate.

There were aspects which detracted from our stay however. Housekeeping was patchy with teabags and milk not replenished after the first day and fresh bottled water also unreliable. The toilet in the twin room leaked regularly and service both on the front desk and in the restaurant was unfriendly and unhelpful. The buffet breakfast was also not up to the standard of other top class hotels we stayed at in the Middle East. We had access to the Executive Lounge which had lovely views to the Old City but it had only one internet terminal which unsurprisingly was difficult to access and the snacks which were available were very mediocre. Another inconveniences was the electronic room cards ceasing to function half way through our stay and having to return to the front desk to have them reset. No apology or explanation was offered for this happening. When you're paying almost $1200 a night you expect better.

Overall it was very expensive to obtain rooms of a good size for us to be comfortable for a week long stay and I did not think it was good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inbal, Assistant to General Manager at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
We greatly appreciate your time taken to post your experiences here on tripadvisor, your feedback is not only invaluable to us but additionally helpful to other travelers.
Your comments are most informative, particularly considering the mixture of observations.
I was pleased to hear that the team managed to accommodate you comfortably in an upgraded room and thank you for posting the pictures.

It is regretful that other aspects of your stay seem to have been less pleasing; every effort is made to ensure the highest standards of service and experience throughout the hotel so I was very sorry to hear that we fell short on this occasion. I have been sure to mark your comments in regards to housekeeping and service delivery to the relevant managers for their immediate attention; thank you for highlighting the necessity to me. We are constantly working on upgrading our facilities and your comments have been taken on board for future plans.

Whilst upon leaving the hotel you felt less than overwhelmed, I would hope that we may get a chance to show you we can do so much better. Please do contact me on marketing@inbalhotel.com, when you are next looking to visit Jerusalem, so we may do our best to restore your faith in the Inbal Jerusalem Hotel.

Many Thanks,
Ruth, Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    333
    107
    40
    16
See reviews for
622
486
74
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I would rate this as a 3.5 star US hotel roughly comparable to a mid-range airport Sheraton in the US with worse food. Though in Israel it seems the prices are 2 or 3 steps above the prices for comparable properties in the US.

Rooms are small, but comfortable. "City View" does not mean "Old Jerusalem Walled City" but rather nondescript downtown. For "walled city view" you'll need to pay a lot more and request floors 8 or 9.

The staff here was much better trained than at other hotels in Israel. In my experience they were competent and friendly and able to deal with questions and problems efficiently.

Gym and pool are being renovated. Restaurant is closed over passover.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScholarWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inbal, Assistant to the General Manager at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Dear Scholar Warrior,
Thank you so much for your in depth comments and observations, guest feedback is invaluable in our monitoring and development of service delivery.

It is regretful that you did not seem to enjoy your experiences here as much as we would hope for, however, thank you for your complimentary comments with regards to our service, this is something we strive to be above and beyond.

With regards to your various other comments, I wish to offer the following explanations;
The time of year when you stayed with us is Passover, a peak time of year for Israeli tourism and as you experienced a time when Israeli hotels have a chance to maximise on the high demand for rooms, similar to arilines. It is a regret that this did not meet your expectations this time.

Furthermore, the rooms reservation system, one can either book a 'New City View' or 'Old city View'. The new city view is neither a view of the old city walls, nor the inside of the hotel, but usually either the road aspect or the surrounding area of Talbiye. I'm sorry if this was not made clear to you at time of reservation.

Whilst the pool area was being opened for the summer (a balloon covers it for winter months), I am unaware of any time recently when the gym area was closed. To the same extent, it is only on saturdays, the jewish day of rest, when the restaurant would have been closed. Otherwise we were offering a full range of passover dishes throughout the week for lunch and dinner.

I wish to extend our apologies for any inconveniences or discomforts you may have experienced during your stay with us, these are not the experiences we strive for. We would love to hear from you directly in order to reestablish a happier relationship, please contact me directly on marketing@inbalhotel.com.
For the time being, wishing you a very pleasant beginning to the summer seasons.
Kind Regards,
Ruth, Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

For an American who considers (ritzes, 4 seasons, even hyattts) to be 5 star this would compare with an american 3 star hotel (eg. an embassy suites). the rooms are super small, the bathroom is even smaller but everything is just okay. we stayed on the executive floor but other than the lounge there was no view and there was nothing executive l about it (an executive floor at a fairmont is truly an experience). the towels, bathrobes are worn looking. the toiletries however are dead sea products and they were really nice. the location of the hotel is great and housekeeping was okay, nothing 5 star but no problems. would i stay there again, probably not. the beds are nothing compared to starwood or other big upscale chains and it is very noisy in the room from outside (the halls)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inbal, Assistant to the General Manager at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Dear Ali,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor; guest feedback is always invaluable in our monitoring and developing of service standards.

Whilst the hotels of which you mention are in a league of their own, we like to consider ourselves high on par to other major American hotel chains represented in Israel, both in terms of room size and facilities, and certainly with regards to service delivery.

Moreover, the hotel contains rooms of varying sizes, from 250 sq ft to 1200 sq ft, as the rooms vary, so do the bathrooms; it is regretful that you did not receive the size of room you would have liked during your stay and we promise to endeavor to better accommodate you for your next stay.

While we can only apologize that the nature of the building’s architecture did not please you (a landmark in Jerusalem) we would hope that the service of our team was more than pleasurable and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back where we may be able to offer you a room to better suit your requirements.
Please feel free to contact me directly on Marketing@inbalhotel.com
Many Thanks,
Ruth - Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Wonderful modern hotel in golden Jerusalem stone and style. All facilities were superb, including a professional and friendly staff. Absolutely no problems, just pleasure. Excellent position near the old city too.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Psyche21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

All rooms in this hotel have been renovated with new decor and flat screen TV. The breakfast included in the room rate was bountiful and very good. Hotel staff was very helpful.
For a personal guided tour of Jerusalem and other cities in Israel --I highly recommend using Yechiam Vaddai--who has 40 years of experience as a guide and owns his travel agency--Advantage Travel in Jerusalem--You can e-mail him at --[--] He also arranges tours to Jordan.
My husband and I toured Israel and Jordan for 8 days--

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Our stay at the hotel was fantastic due to the accomidating staff.
We were made to feel at home. The room was perfect for my needs.
The staff was very attentiative to our needs from the front desk, to the
executive lounge to making sure the room was clean.
The breakfast was very good and the dining room staff were very
helpful to all of us.
The gym was great for my exercise regimen due to my having type two diabeties.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantreitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I just returned from Israel and stayed at the Inbal for 4 nights. This is a very nice hotel and worthy of its rating. Its clean, the staff are helpful, and the food is quite good (although dairy only). The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk away from the Jaffa Gate of the old city through the Mamila shopping mall. Don't be afraid to take a taxi at the hotel as they only work with a certain taxi company - we took two taxis (one a short distance and the other to Tel Aviv) through the hotel and they were fine. While the selection of restaurants close to the Inbal is limited, many are within 10 minutes walk. The staff are also quite security concious and aware of everyone's coming and going.

A WORD OF WARNING - DO NOT ARRANGE TOURS OUTSIDE OF YOUR HOTEL. HAVE THE STAFF DIRECT YOU TO A REPUTABLE TOUR OPERATOR BEFORE YOU ARRIVE. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO PRE-BOOK A TOUR OVER THE INTERNET without a referral. We had the very bad experience of booking a morning tour of Bethlehem with Bein Harim Tours in Tel Aviv - you'll find them on the internet if you search for an Israeli tour company. In short, the tour was not good, our guide was pathetic, and they attempted to make us pay for the same tour twice before they would take us back to the Israeli border. We refused and had to jump a taxi back to the security wall to get out. On the other hand, the tours of Jerusalem and the Dead Sea that we arranged through the Inbal were very good and professionally conducted without issues - that tour company was Genesis 2000.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inbal, Hotel Management at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2010
Dear JD94,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor, feedback is invaluable in our monitoring and development of service delivery.

We are so happy you had a good time and found services and facilities of the hotel useful and comfortable.
In regards to our restuarant, whilst we currently only offer a dairy menu, an additional meat serving restaurant is under discussion for the further upgrades to the hotel.
Watch this space!
For the time being, feel free to follow us on Twitter or Fan us on FB for news and promotions.
Thanks, Ruth, Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,006 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,479 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,976 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inbal Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inbal Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 3 Ze'ev Jabotinsky Street | Liberty Bell Park, Jerusalem 9214502, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inbal Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, Finest Hotel in Jerusalem, situated in the heart of the city offers a luxurious experience with modern amenities and facilities. Built from authentic Jerusalem Stone both inside and out, and overlooking the Old City walls and Liberty Bell Park. Superb dining and luxurious facilities include an Exclusive Executive Lounge, a wide variety of family rooms and Suites,the Sofia Italian Restaurant, a year-round swimming pool, fitness room and free wireless internet access. The Hotel also offers free parking for guests (upon availability). Please note that the swimming pool will not be available from 22 October until 5 November 2017 due to renovation works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inbal Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inbal Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel Inbal
Inbal Jerusalem
Jerusalem Inbal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing