We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location cannot be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location cannot be better”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is an amazing old building built in the 1930s and has a wonderful lobby area and an excellent breakfast buffet. The location is great - just a few minutes walk to the Old City or to the Jaffa Road area, with a lovely park just opposite. The room seemed a bit tired but had everything in them. The single bed really is just about wide enough for one and mine had a fridge but no kettle. I was there just after Xmas and it was not noisy. As other have commented, the breakfast is excellent (especially for vegetarians), and more to the point, they go on serving quite late, so I was able to have my swim in the large basement pool when I woke up, and then have a great breakfast.
I booked several months in advance so got a reasonable rate. The hotel may not be luxurious in the modern sense but has great character.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7dials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    194
    96
    21
    15
See reviews for
119
131
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel exceeded my expectations. Located perfectly, my room was clean and spacious, the breakfast was delicious (lots of choices from eggs and pancakes to traditional Middle Eastern, as well as excellent pastries), and the service was fine. The free parking was an added bonus, although the lot is small and it does fill up. It's not a luxury property, but it does a great job as a 3+ star hotel, and the price is right. I would stay there again with no hesitation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrldtvlr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I certainly wasn't expecting a luxury hotel experience at a YMCA, but I was hoping for more than we got. The building itself, the lobby, and the restaurant are certainly grand, but the rooms themselves are vintage YMCA. They were small, not completely clean, and not very comfortable. One of the beds/mattress in my room tilted to the side, and there were stains on the wall. On the plus side, the breakfast (included) was good, as was the overall service. The location was perfect for exploring the Old City, and the light rail is in walking distance if you want to go to Jaffa Center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Thinking about the YMCA is all about weighing what you really want and need with the things you will give up to get them. Do you want to be in the Old City, steps away from the major historical sites, able to walk almost everywhere? You cannot find a better location than the Y. After all, the King David is right across the street (and about 10x more expensive). Do you care about the attentiveness, helpfulness, and friendliness of the staff? You will not find a more committed staff anywhere. We had several unexpected and serious problems, and the staff went out of their way time and again to help us find solutions to them. Do you want value for your money? You cannot beat the Y. Free breakfast and wifi ( although the connection in the room is pretty quirky and often punks out) for roughly $150/ night during the Xmas-New Year week is a steal. You can spend the money you save on the room you on some spectacular meals around Jerusalem.

But there are problems, too. The hotel is not well maintained. The staff was willing to try to fix any problem, but they should have been on top of them before we asked. For example: the quilt is too small for 2 people to sleep under it. Either one or the other will be half-covered. Jerusalem nights are cold in winter, and this is unacceptable. The drawers in the room were broken and very difficult to open or close. They never shut completely. The toilet was old, and frankly it smelled. The sink faucet must date from the 70s, and it was grungy and unattractive. There was mildew in the shower enclosure that should have been removed with some bleach. If this kind of thing ruins your day, do not stay at the Y. If you can let it roll off your back, or if you are at home in a University club atmosphere, or if you just want to save your money for other things, then the Y is a real find.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Towering above the old city stands the YMCA Three arches hotel. It's entrance bears a message of unity and peace in Arabic, Hebrew and English. It is this sense of grandeur and benevolence that pervades the entire place.

Although you could find more modern, cleaner and more sheeny shiny hotels, the warm welcome, exceptional room views and wonderful restaurant here make it special. The staff are mostly young but so well trained and professional, that it becomes a plus. They genuinely care about your happiness and offer much advice and help should you need it.

The restuarant is smart and unpretentious and the breakfast fresh, extensive and delicious, precluding the need to buy lunch elsewhere we were left so full. I adored it.

Make sure you ask to go to the too of the tower. The view is by far the finest in Jerusalem, certainly it's the most lofty. You can see across the whole sprawling city and beyond, the dusty ancient hills.

Whoever manages and works there should feel very proud. They made our trip. We moved on from here to another, more expensive hotel, which paled in comparison. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samraven1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

When my hosts suggested that I stay at the YMCA in Jerusalem I thought they were joking. However, a little research here on TripAdvisor caused me decide to stay here instead of at a big chain hotel, and this was the best decision I made regarding my four day visit to Jerusalem. Be prepared for an atmosphere that is more like that found in faculty clubs in US universities rather than a major chain hotel. I found the building architecturally very interesting, matching the King David Hotel across the street with its Jerusalem Stone. The room was large, and although the bed was old everything was functional and added to the atmosphere. The restaurant served a great breakfast and the patio outside was a nice place to gather at the end of the day. The view of Jerusalem from the tower was a high point. Located extremely close to the Jaffa Gate into the old city, the hotel was a great place from which to venture out each day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk61-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good price, good food, good staff in a beautiful building. Located new Old Jerusalem in an interesting part of the city. Dining on the terrace at any time of day is a treat. The breakfast buffet is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
677 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#24 of 99 in Jerusalem
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,088 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel

Property: Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Address: Rehov HaMelech David 26, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YMCA Three Arches Hotel, with its 152 ft high central bell tower, is a Jerusalem landmark recognized the world over. Designed by the world famous architect of the Empire State Building, the hotel offers a blend of old world charm, friendly hospitality, art works and architectural wonders, together with modern, comfortable accommodations to ensure a pleasant and memorable stay in this remarkable city. The external facade of the hotel bears intricate sculptures and inscriptions in English, Arabic and Hebrew reflecting the YMCA's historical role as a meeting place and a spiritual haven in this intense and ancient city. The beautiful gardens and lawns, graceful shade trees, and stone pathways around the hotel are open for our guests' strolling pleasure. The hotel's public areas feature high-ceiling halls and walls often lined with colorful modern works of Israeli and Palestinian artists. The elegant Archibald C. Harte Restaurant restaurant serves culinary delights to our guests, with its garden terrace a delightful oasis in the midst of the city on sunny days and mild evenings. That same sense of tranquility pervades the hotel's rooms and suites, where guests may relax and gather their strength for days of sightseeing or meetings in bustling Jerusalem. The ancient Jaffa Gate, main entrance to the fascinating walled Old City, is just a few minutes' walk away, as are shops, vibrant cafes and restaurants as well as the cultural attractions and night life of the modern metropolis. Three Arches Hotel awaits your arrival, at the very heart of Jerusalem, where peace and quiet reigns, with a pervasive sense of welcome and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerusalem International Ymca, 3 Arches Hotel
Ymca Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing