We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
134
152
70
44
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
152
70
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jaffa gate old city perfect location christian quarter quaint hotel no lift bigger room holy sepulchre rooftop terrace boiled eggs noisy at night temple mount we loved our stay rooms are basic family room the staff was friendly and helpful western wall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 423 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019

I stayed here with my family in one large room with a double bed and two single beds upstairs and a double bed downstairs. The best thing about this hotel is the atmosphere and the location. If you like being in the centre of things and like old historic buildings then is for you. If you want mod cons then maybe not. It's old and tired, but has more than enough character to make up for it. The rooms can be loud at night, from the streets outside (we never heard a sound from any neighbours), but you're in the Old City, overlooking the Citadel, and any slight noise is just part of the charm. Reception was very helpful, the buffet breakfast was very good, our only gripe was that there is no lift and a lot of stairs. Well, there is a lift but it doesn't work.
Fix that, or be happy to walk lot of stairs and you have a great hotel in a unique location.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aneil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Superb location right next to Jaffa Gate in the Old City of Jerusalem. A quirky hotel which is so disappointing. The location gives it the potential to be wonderful but it desperately needs some money spent on it. It is dirty, rundown and the outside areas are so neglected. It is such a shame as the owners are really missing a trick with the rooftop terrace it is basically used as a dumping ground and filthy. If they bothered to clean it up it would be a great place to have a drink in the evening with excellent views. We chose this hotel for the location and wasn't disappointed but the hotel is overpriced for what it is. On booking the only room available was the one next to reception, IT DOES state that there may be disturbances granted but we didn't plan to be in the room much due to trips and sightseeing. However, you cannot sleep in this room, due to the noise, I really do not know how they could possibly even rent it out. It feels like you are part of the staff, fine if you were being paid a salary. What it doesn't mention is the entry to the hotel is a buzzer system which is operated by reception next to the room. You can hear every conversation by the night staff, and even hear the films they are watching, even all the dialogue because they don't bother to put there earphones on. We did ask to be moved but was told the hotel was full. It was only on our last night the manager was able to move us and even said she would only advise customers to stay in this room for 1 night! We were staying for 5 nights. Shame she didn't do more after 1 night. Avoid this room at all costs. Our second room was shabby and run down, see attached photos.

Room tip: Avoid room 21. Not suitable for people with limited mobility. No lift. Lots of steps.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jodebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

The location of the hotel in the old city of Jerusalem is, by far, its strongest point.

We had a 10 m2 room with 2 bed (approx 110 sqft). No window at all.
The bathroom was 3.5 x 1 m (11 x 3 ft). Water temp for the shower allowed only 2 choices: burning hot or cold.
No elevator in the hotel.

The whole thing for 210 €/night (230 US$).

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank schneider_didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Giving praise: The location and the access it gives customers is excellent! Ex-cellent! So many landmarks are within walking distance, making a mid-day rest possible between activities. You can enjoy the skyline as the sun sets on the rooftop; the view is amazing. Grab some wine and a light blanket, go up to the roof, and you’ve got yourself a nice night. The interiors of the building are attractive, and there are many pieces of wall art and decor to check out. The staff is really helpful and friendly. There are several restaurants nearby, casual and mid-range. The WiFi connection is strong!! They offer many types of beverages and foods for breakfast that is served between 7-9am. The AC works really well.

Things to know: It is important to note that there are deep drop-offs from the floor of the room to the hallway (see photo). So, anyone not paying attention could fall/trip/hurt their ankle. There isn’t a fridge in our double room; it looks like they are only offered in the larger suites. They do loan out wine bottle openers but don’t loan out US plug adapters anymore. So bring your own if having one is necessary. I was told that they are hard to come by in old city. My sink and shower’s water temperature was hard to balance. It mostly ran extremely hot, but when adjusted got extremely cold. Some fine adjustments are needed to get a comfortable temp. The towels felt stiff, like they do when you hang dry them without applying softener. This was fine by me, but you may have a stronger preference.

Overall, I would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank E'Lese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

The location of this hotel couldn’t be better! You are so close to Jaffa gates and everything in a short walking distance away. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean with high ceilings. Really enjoyed our breakfast- great selection for all tastes. A bit disappointed with the service. When we arrived nobody offered to help us with suitcases considering this place has no lift. Rooftop terrace has great views but can be cleaned up. In fact - it could be a goldmine if a nice bar or restaurant is open up here. Breakfast is served in a lovely room but it is also not open any other part of the day. You don’t have much choice of good restaurants around old town and it would be so convenient to eat here

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 265irinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews